We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$357
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$436/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$303
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$352/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$611
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$832/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
138
281
187
73
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
281
187
73
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelevening mealstar hotelpool barthree starthe main streetroof terracecakespasta starterfresh fruitapartment blockexcellent locationhalf boardreasonable sizechanged dailythree coursessmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Great basic hotel in a good location. It was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and evening meals were varied and well presented but the drinks were expensive in comparison with the cost in and around town.
Would suggest a room higher up and not at the back of the building which faced an apartment block.

Room Tip: Higher up and at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tobybigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Spenca,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Our breakfast and our meal are prepared daily by our chef with fresh and genuine products.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you enjoyed the privileged location of our Hotel and learn that your stay at the Hotel was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Hotel great location in Sorrento within walking distance of centre,room was very clean and with balcony with views of cliffs and sea.
Quick check in when we got there literally a few minutes and we were in our room all the staff were brilliant from the hotel.
Three course dinner every night which was amazing good selection at breakfast
Pool area/pool bar was spotless and service was really good with the bar meals really filling salads were excellent we have really enjoyed our stay there.
The staff were excellent and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them would definitely stay ther again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Spenca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Spenca,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Our staff is always professional and kind and we try to make you feel at home.
Thank you for appreciating our privileged position in fact we are at the beginning of the main course.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you enjoyed the privileged location of our Hotel and learn that your stay at the Hotel was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Although the room was small it was good enough for the stay. It had a small balcony with two chairs and a table and a view of a block of nearby flats. The roof terrace and the pool deck are both places where you can do some sunbathing. It's only a 10 minute walk from the main train station/ airport bus-stop. The hotel information book would benefit from being corrected by a native English speaker and better explanations on services and how to operate room features would be useful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Our staff is always professional and kind and we try to make you feel at home.
Thank you for appreciating our privileged position in fact we are at the beginning of the main course, less than 5 minutes walk from the main square and the beaches.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you enjoyed the privileged location of our Hotel and learn that your stay at the Hotel was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed for 1 week at this hotel and on a whole I can not really fault it. The location could not have been better, located at the end of the ‘main’ street in Sorrento, not far from the Harbour, and a ten minute walk to the train station. Breakfast was fine, with a good choice each morning, and the evening meal was a three course with around four choices for each course. We always enjoyed our evening meal, and I liked the pasta starter each day, especially the lasagne! The roomwas clean but basic however the walls are pretty thin, so we could hear our neighbour snoring all night, every night. The restaurant/bar staffs are an absolute credit to the hotel, each individual has a unique character and always made us feel welcome. The only issue with the evening meal I had was all drinks had to be paid for, were not included in half board (which I thought were not reasonable prices) even the water was around 3/3.50 euros for a bottle. I think free jugs of water on a night would be a fantasticidea. Also the hot tub was not in service for our week spent at the hotel, which was disappointing; apparently the outdoor pool was heated to 25 degrees, which I would actually argue as the pool was not particularly warm. But as the pool was ‘heated’ due to out of season then the hot tub was turned off, as the receptionist informed us was to do with bills.

Free water on a night and the hot tub in service at all times (Of course I would have understood if the hot tub was broken, but apparently it was not). Then I would have had no complaints.

However a quick note Thompson/TUI have this hotel listed as a 3 start official rating, when in Italy you pay city tax based on star rating of the hotel. We were actually informed by the hotel that they are a 4 star, and theygained the extra star last year. Which has not been updated on TUI website, therefore the city tax was double to what we had thought. Also the city tax can only be paid in cash. Not the hotels fault, but an issue with TUI. Who we have informed they are displaying incorrect information on their website.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Beth,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Thank you for appreciating our cuisine made of fresh and daily products by our chef Gerardo.
Our staff is always professional and kind and we try to make you feel at home.
The breakfast is prepared every day with fresh and genuine products and we are glad you enjoyed it.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you enjoyed the privileged location of our Hotel and learn that your stay at the Hotel was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Just returned from a week at the Villa Maria. The hotel itself is situated at the end of the main street and it's a lovely walk into town with it's little streets, shops and restaurants. All of the staff are just lovely, the reception staff always had a smile and were really helpful, restaurant and bar staff were brilliant too and couldn't do enough for you-Valentina also helped us learn a few useful Italian words! Hotel is kept really clean, room cleaned daily to a high standard.
Our room was sufficient for our needs, with a fridge and free safe but it would be nice to have had a kettle and cups etc to be able to make the odd cup of coffee in our room. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. Some people have mentioned the showers are small but we didn't have a problem at all. Breakfasts were nice enough, always hot food, bacon, mushrooms tomatoes and either scrambled or fried egg. Also cereals fruit and cakes/pastries. Coffee was lovely too,
We were half board and did find the evening meals could have been a little better-there was always a few choices and starters are quite large but main meals we struggled with on some days. The food from the bar by the pool was delicious though and we had a pizza one day and a really gorgeous tomato pasta another day. If the food had been the same in the evenings it would have been lovely.
The hotel doesn't take money for drinks or bar food as it's added to your bill to be paid when you check out-along with the tourist tax as well, just be warned that the tourist tax has to be paid in cash and cant be added to a credit or debit card. We hadn't been told this and it was pure luck that we had enough cash left at the end of the week to cover it. It might be nice to have this info put into the rooms just to make you aware.
Pool area was lovely and clean but doesn't get the sun all day-it disappears about 4.30 ish. Sun beds are really nice with little canopies to shield you from sun. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view-rooms at back of hotel would look out towards cliff though
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AClark64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Michelle ,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Our staff is always professional and kind and we try to make you feel at home.
The breakfast is prepared every day with fresh and genuine products and we are glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you for appreciating our cuisine made of fresh and daily products and our Pool area.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you enjoyed the privileged location of our Hotel and learn that your stay at the Hotel was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews