We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
1,433
113
40
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,433
113
40
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star restaurant bosquet restaurant concierge desk bay of naples private elevator poolside restaurant the main square pool staff overlooking the bay amazing hotel our honeymoon large terrace the cliff beautiful room orange and lemon trees breakfast buffet is breathtaking views
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We have just returned from a three night break at this hotel and we had an amazing time. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which had a large balcony overlooking the bay. A buffet breakfast was included which provided a wide selection of choices from hot to cold dishes. The hotel has a Michellin Star restaurant as well as a pool bar which serves exceptional food. The spa and the pool area were immaculate. The staff were genuinely attentive and took care of every little detail. The hotel grounds are well tended with beautiful gardens and orchards. This place is a must visit as the photos don't do it justice.

A couple of minor issues - the beds were a little bit too firm for our liking, the air conditioning didn't really work and our suite had no tea or coffee making facilities but we had water and a fully stocked mini bar. To be honest none of these things really mattered as the whole place more than made up for these minor issues.

Overall, it was expensive but worth every penny. I would definitely go again and stay for longer.

Location:
The hotel is about an hour by taxi from Naples airport which costs around €100 each way. You can get to Sorrento by train, bus or by boat which is cheaper but might be more hassle. They speak very little English so brush up on your Italian. Driving is not recommended as the mountain roads are very narrow and full of sharp bends so best to take alternative options.

The hotel is located in the centre of Sorrento and there is a lift which takes you down to the Marina where you can catch boats to Capri and to Naples. A trip to Capri takes about 25mins and costs around €35 per person for a return trip. It takes approximately 35mins to get to Naples by boat from Sorrento. Pompeii and Mount Vasuvias are also easily accessible from Sorrento.

Room Tip: Pick a suite overlooking the bay - worth every penny.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Hannah,
thank you for your beautiful and detailed review!
We are proud that you consider the Excelsior Vittoria to be a ‘gem’, and it’s a satisfaction reading such positive feedback.
We will take into consideration your little advice: better the service, is our goal.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

A large group of us visited this hotel recently for drinks and lunch.
The hotel is very grand and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had lunch is the main restaurant and we had a lovely sea view.
The food was very good, but the service was a bit slow.

Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Tamara,
thank you for preferring our restaurant and for posting your comment.
We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed your time here and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a near future
Kind regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

had one weeks holiday here last year with my husband and daughter husband and I had sea view room with balcony which was just perfect,spotlessly clean and exceedenly comfy bed gorgeous bathroom and views that were to die for.Daughter had a garden view room which was again beautiful very large and bright with lovely views over the orchards,can't recommend this hotel highly enough just booked again for summer this year.Breakfast was fabulous,great choice served in the elagent frescod breakfast room with breathtaking views and the piano player subtlety playing just wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms looked wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear Karen,
thank you for posting your beautiful review
we are proud that you liked the Excelsior Vittoria so much and that you spent fantastic holidays with your relatives.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back this summer and we hope that you’ll have an unforgettable experience this time too.
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Stayed here October 2015 in a Junior Suite and it was wow start to finish. Such a beautiful, grand, glamourous hotel with incredibly views over the Bay of Naples and an impossible to beat location in town.

The staff are exactly what you'd expect from such an establishment. Unassuming, informed, helpful and friendly. Nothing is a bother and they know everything and anything.

Do eat in the restaurant; we had both a la carte and the tasting menu and would highly recommend both. But make sure you're hungry for the tasting menu as in between all of the set courses, you're given plenty of other dishes to try!

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BikerBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear Guests,
thank you for your beautiful review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you appreciated our hotel location and our staff friendliness.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Set in a stunning location, with stunning views, great food, great patio for aperitifs, with live piano and a view of the beautiful sunsets.
Historic hotel, with great service and facilities. Amazing spot to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido F, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear Lee,
thank you for your kind review
We are pleased that you enjoyed so much your stay at the Excelsior Vittoria and appreciated our location.
We hope to welcome you back soon in thenear future
Warm regards
Guido Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews