We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”

Decanter - Enoteca con cucina
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Decanter - Enoteca con cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 318 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: US$11 - US$57
Description: The Decanter, a comfortable and quiet place, is located 400 meters from Piazza Tasso, the center of Sorrento. It is a wine bar and restaurant where you can taste Italian cuisine made of carefully selected raw materials or you can choose to simply drink a glass or a bottle of wine from over two hundred proposals in a comfortable place with outdoor space
Restaurant details
Description: The Decanter, a comfortable and quiet place, is located 400 meters from Piazza Tasso, the center of Sorrento. It is a wine bar and restaurant where you can taste Italian cuisine made of carefully selected raw materials or you can choose to simply drink a glass or a bottle of wine from over two hundred proposals in a comfortable place with outdoor space
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this place as it was close to our hotel. Fantastic welcome by the staff. We were given complimentary processco on arrival and a selection of snacks. The owner came and helped as pick some wines and then spent time explaining them to us.

We are only disappointed that we didn’t get a chance to eat here but would definitely do so if we come back to Sorrento.

Thank Bex159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelaF1177, Proprietario at Decanter - Enoteca con cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much for leaving us some nice words even if you had just a drink. We are sure that you would have found the same quality even in the dishes and in the atmosphere of the place.

we really hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had a wonderful dinner at Decanter. It's clear from the moment you walk in that the place wants to show you they truly value your patronage. This is an especially strong choice for wine lovers. The wine list is diverse, interesting, and affordable. And, man, the price point is on point! We spent 80E for a nice four person light dinner with wine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LDGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelaF1177, Proprietario at Decanter - Enoteca con cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much!!!
It's one of the ours most important goals to take care about ours customer.
We work very hard to do the best for your happyness!!!

We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We were two couples staying at the B&B attached to this restaurant and after reading the reviews, we knew we had to experience this restaurant. We are SO glad we did on our second and final night in Sorrento - it will be an evening to remember....
The setting is very relaxing, the wine selection unbelievable, the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The prices were an incredible value for the quality and quantity of the food and wine.

We enjoyed the Prosecco sample and the bruschetta upon arrival and we ordered the mixed Charcuterie plate - we couldn't believe it when it was delivered to our table - huge portion and wonderful variety of meats, cheeses, veggies and sauces. We also ordered the eggplant parmesan appetizer for dipping the wonderful bread in!
We asked Peppe for help choosing a bottle of local wine - no regrets with our choice! He asked us some questions about the type of wine we preferred and explained a couple of choices to us - he does know wine!
Then came the main course...... Two of us shared the gnocchi and had a hard time finishing the large portion, but it was too good to not finish. The two men each ordered the pork and couldn't believe the large portion size when it was delivered to the table - they thought their meal was delicious.

This is definately a "do not miss experience" while in Sorrento!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NDminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelaF1177, Proprietario at Decanter - Enoteca con cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you so much! having our guests was a very nice experience for us. We are happy to have left you a good memory and we hope that one day you can come back to see us !!!!

We are waiting for you !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

After reading all of the glowing reviews, we decided to try this restaurant. I believe that an entree named after the restaurant should reflect the character of the place, surely a taste test of all that is good....this was not the case. A tasteless plate of fried food appeared before us. Seriously, not one flavour. My main course tuna was adequate but the exotic salad was simply a couple of slices of mango. My husband left half his meal which he has done only 2-3 times in 12 years. We were very disappointed! I don’t know if a different chef works on Sunday nights but there must be explanation for our experience in comparison to that of others.

1  Thank Nicole_JamieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelaF1177, Proprietario at Decanter - Enoteca con cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018


Dear Nicole and Jamie, I regret not being able to please you when you choosing your seat, but, as I told you, the table you wanted was booked. You arrived without a reservation and I offer you another table and this made your evening a the Decanter start badly. You ordered a bottle of "il Bruciato" and I congratulated you for the choice and about the taste of the fried and the tuna that you have taken, it is a very personal consideration, and we accept all the criticism. If at the time you had told us we would try to fix it, but the dinner was already compromised from the beginning. We thank you for coming and we are really sorry to have made you so nervous because of the table that you write a review so severe.
I hope your other evenings in Sorrento have gone better and we wish you and your husband the best.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I walked here from the Antica Mura Hotel, based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. Our expectations were exceeded by the lovely courtyard garden ambiance. The complimentary Proscecco and appetizers were delicious.. We enjoyed the octopus first course and pork ribs second course. Tiramisu was a great dessert. The red wine from My. Vesuvius paired perfectly thanks to the Sommelier. Bill after 20% was extremely reasonable and a great bang for buck.

Thank MTWOODSON76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelaF1177, Proprietario at Decanter - Enoteca con cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you so much for the nice words about your visit at the Decanter! The value for money it's one of ours goal and we try to do the best for the service and the customers satisfaction!

We hope to see you again!!!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Decanter - Enoteca con cucina also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Decanter - Enoteca con cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing