We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
66
52
25
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
52
25
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato channels auberge insulated wifi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The room is simple but nice. It is quiet even though it is on the a major street and over a bar. The Albergo is family run and owned by the family that owns the bar and restaurant down stairs. They are very nice people- The Albergo is simple, but is clean, has nice tile and decoration and it is right in the middle of everything. I recommend it. Only suggestion is stronger wifi.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ctrgeneva2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generchef, Responsabile reception at Albergo del Centro Storico, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This guest house is convenient when you are travelling among Amalfi coast and you just need to sleep 1 night. Property is more Restaurant with some rooms. But the location and staff were excellent. Location is right in the middle of historic Salerno and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Good value for the price we paid.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vilteija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Quite an uncomfortable situation at your arrival because the hotel has no Reception at all and you’re guided to your booked room by a waitress of the bar, who’s very nice but doesn’t tell you the few tricks you should know, especially if you have to go through three old doors with three old locks to get in or out your room, which is very quiet and has a small half-balcony on a lovely kind of piazzetta.
This remarkable old building is located a few minutes away from the hotel’s bar and restaurant. On the webpage and on the phone, I didn’t get the feeling that the hotel is composed in such a way, with rooms also in a separated building and the Restaurant next to the bar and in a corner of one half of this bar is where the breakfast “buffet” is prepared. I would have liked to know it in advance.
I reckon that rooms for 50€ are above the restaurant and bars, directly on the busy main street.
The room I chose cost 60 €, is pretty essential, a.c. works, the big TV screen connects you to a crazily succession of publicity channels and I haven’t found any (Italian) news channel until I reached channel 224. It has no safe, no telephone, or bedside light – so forget reading in bed - but the bathroom is new with beautiful tiles and is separated from the shower room, also brand new but with only one hook. So you have nowhere to put your stuff for your daily hygiene other then on the floor. In the bathroom there isn’t even that hook nor one single shelf where to place your objects. This is pretty uncomfortable.
The breakfast buffet isn’t rich, but if you’re hungry it can satisfy your stomach. It’s all very “different” in the way things are being arranged and one must be pretty flexible to accept all this with a smile. I tried twice the Restaurant and I was satisfied, although I think it is expensive. But the location of the hotel is perfect: in the centre and in the same time very close to a long and beautiful esplanade.
The only very important recommendation I’d suggest to the management is to put a very visible “emergency” telephone in the living room (in front of the rooms in the “palace”) in case somebody’s stuck inside the building with no way to contact anybody for assistance, or feels sick, but also for someone outside the building who wants to get in touch with you if any emergency occurs.
(there is actually one old telephone but I tried it in two occasions and it did not work).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iguanetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

It was late in the afternoon and most everything was closed, but this wasn't, fortunately. We had only just checked into our accommodation, got our bearings and decided on an early dinner. Our waitress spoke good English, chose an excellent wine for us and our order arrived very quickly. The pizza was tasty and perfectly cooked and the gelati after the meal was absolutely delicious.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SteveandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

First, the location and staff were excellent. Location is right in the middle of historic Salerno and the staff was extremely friendly.

A few drawbacks - because of the location (there's a 24 hour restaurant/bar right below the hotel), it was quite noisy. The air conditioning in our room didn't work, which seems to be the case in a lot of reviews. The weather was great to leave the terrace doors open at night, but it was too noisy for that. Our room was right above bar with windows opening to street, so the noise level may be different in other rooms. The wifi didn't work in our room. We couldn't even get a signal. We had to sit down in the restaurant/bar area to use it.

These issues aren't deal breakers and you don't come to Italy to sit in your room on the internet, but cool air and access are nice to have after a long day of exploring.

It's still a good hotel based on location and staff!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kya718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews