We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
137
102
38
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
102
38
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop balcony min drive amalfi coast sea view rental car comfortable bed the hotel staff would stay here again stayed here for nights renato shuttle roads town fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Amalfi was my dream...and it was realised this august...staying at Hotel Doria - was comfortable ..clean.. the washrooms were spotless- except the shower cubicle is a smallest ever seen. The little balcony overlooked the winding road and the mountains and the blue mediteranean in the distance. The breakfast was a decent spread and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.. The shuttle to the city was a very convenient option and we enjoyed the flexibilty.... . excellent stay

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Dharsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaa1976, Direttore at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dearest Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to receive you back again.

Kindest regards
Eva Anastasio Torre MGR
Booking Department
Hotel Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent from beginning to end! Beautiful views, very clean, breakfast is good and everyone is helpful and friendly. The hotel has parking and they conveniently park the car for you, since it’s on a busy road. The shuttle bus to and from hotel to center of amalfi is very convenient and runs frequently. I definitely recommend it!! Thank you to all for making my stay wonderful.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Compass12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaa1976, Direttore at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dearest Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to receive you again at our hotel Doria.
Kindest regards

Eva Anastasio Torre MGR
Hotel Doria and the whole staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast has variety of locally grown produce, cheeses and pastries. Staff is very helpful and polite. Free shuttle from the hotel to the marina / center and back and free parking by hotel were extremely convenient. Especial thanks to Renato who made our stay very pleasant with his smile and fast service.

Room Tip: higher floor with balcony has the best view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1969ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaa1976, Direttore at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dearest Guest,
Thank you very much for your pleasant comment.
We hope you would like to stay again to our Hotel Doria.
kindest regards
Mrs Eva Anastasio Torre MGR
Hotel Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The view from our room was lovely. Gorgeous views of the water and ships etc but that was probably the best part of the hotel. The bed was very hard for starters.
We had a rental car which we parked in the "carpark" and decided to take the free shuttle into town as parking is quiet limited down there. The shuttle had to be booked in advance and was only available early morning and from the evening..not over lunchtime which was weird. We booked to go down for dinner and to come back around 10.30pm but decided we were tired and wanted to come back at 9.30pm. I tried to call the hotel twice to re book but no body answered so we tried to wait at the pick up point in case it was going to be there but it didn't come. Also every time we left the hotel we were asked to hand our key in to reception which was weird. I have never experienced this before. When we came back to the hotel at around 10.30pm the key was left on the counter unattended by any staff member..
Breakfast was average. We went down at around 8.30am and most of the food was gone.
There is a rooftop terrace which has a nice view but is dirty and tired looking.
Overall I wouldn't recommend. I'm sure there are much better hotels in the Amalfi area.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious472137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaa1976, Direttore at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dearest Guest,
Thank you for your comment, however I have to explain to things.
First of all: breakfast has a lot of variety, autoctons products ,sweets, fruits and so on. Impossible you came at 8.30 and didn't find anything, maybe you arrived around ten to ten.... We have a great choice of aliments, so it is quite unbelieveble you didn't find food.
About the roof terrace: this is cleaned by our maids every day, but I hope you know that on the top, there is a point of strong wind and it'simple that it becomes dirty in very quick time.
Anyway, I leave you my best wishes for the future and
Kindest regards
Mrs Eva Anastasio Torre MGR
Hotel Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

The good – Convenient free shuttles from the hotel to the center and back throughout the day, clean rooms, free parking, which is crucial for this arriving by car and good WiFi, which is hard to find in the mountain, and a very kind staff.

The bad – Although there are shuttles, it is a bit restricting to depend on them, and you really don’t have any choice because the hotel is far from the center. There also aren't many dinner options next to the hotel, besides one restaurant that supplies transport from and to the hotel, but this is not a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 763nirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evaa1976, Direttore at Hotel Doria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dearest Sir and Madam,
Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately despite the distance, we do have to put fixed schedule to regulate the service, just because the shuttle disposes of 8 places. Afterall, it could not be a taxi go down or back at every hour.In that case has to be not free anymore.
Kindest regards
Eva Anastasio Mgr
Booking Department
and the whole staff of the Hotel Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews