We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
96
21
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
21
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fabulous stay stunning views wonderful hosts beautiful place one night great value on arrival peppino puglia mountains coast road castelmezzano cappuccino
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

My husband and I have stayed in BNBs all over Europe for the last seven years. Some places are great, some places are forgettable. La Foresteria however, embodies everything that we love: it is really a home away from home! Overall, it is excellent (wonderful clean and spacious rooms, big fluffy air-dried towels, shower with jacuzzi jets, view over the garden to mountains, breakfast with home-cooked pastries, welcoming drink on arrival) but the thing that makes this one excell is the attention in every corner to detail and comfort! Both husband and wife (Pepino and Maria Giovanna) were both present and accommodating for every moment of our stay, both interested and interesting to converse with, both integrous, generous of themselves and both passionate about their project. Their facility has history; converted Abbey of the 13th century and their land is quintessential Basilicata; rolling hills supporting bell-adorned cows, leading to precipitous mountains. We wanted to stay more than the one night but they were unfortunately booked solid for the "ponte"(mid week into weekend holidays). I would come back in a heartbeat, not just for the land and what it offers the traveller wanting rest and exciting visual interest but for their consummate hospitaliy!

Room Tip: Every room is great! The owners have made sure each one has a view.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This is a pleasant enough place, offering a large 2 bedroom unit as their twin. The grounds are OK, with a pool and lounging area. There is a sense of the place not quite as "sharp" as perhaps it once was, but the owners are pleasant and the dinner fine, if not particularly great value. Overall, it is what it is - a pleasant but not special place to stay overnight en route to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay to visit the Basilicata region of Italy. Amazing views of the area. Quiet and charming place. Peppino and Maria Giovanna were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delicious. We had a very relaxing stay. The place is very well kept. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. I plan on coming back for another stay in a few weeks! Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and loved it. The owners - and their lovely daughter - were so welcoming and couldn't have made us feel more comfortable. It is off the beaten track - but that's part of its charm. Fabulous walking in the area - around Castelmezzano.

Facilities at the agriturismo are excellent. The pool area is gorgeous and our bedroom was large and spotlessly clean. Good breakfast each morning. Staying here was just incredibly relaxing.

Highly recommended if you're holidaying in southern Italy and want to break your journey back to Naples - at the same time, experiencing a very different part of Italy

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Family-owned, smaller agriturismo, in lovely mountain setting. We were on our way back to Naples from a week drive through southern Italy and wanted a nice place to stay the night and relax. Surpassed our expectations. We really enjoyed the personal interactions with the proprietors, Pino and Maria Giovanna, and were touched by their hospitality. After the long drive, we were welcomed with a drink and sweet treat. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool, and then were treated to a excellent dinner. We would recommend La Foresteria di San Leo to anyone looking for a place to stay the night or use as a base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews