We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
605
154
14
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
154
14
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews century church old church small boutique hotel three levels trap door deluxe room beautiful hotel sleeping area heavy bags small room stunning room worth the effort magical city split level lower level cobbled streets rock church
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

1st time trip to Matera and this hotel - combination of 1) Excellent location - hotel is right in centre of pedestrian only unique and amazingly interesting historical town, 2) Incredible view of Sassi (many buildings incorporate caves that people and families and farm animals once lived in!) day and night from fabulous deluxe room (view also great while having a coffee in comfortable seated area in front of hotel), 3) Genuinely friendly staff - Roberto and Martha (no need to pay for guide with great advice from Martha) and 4) General ambience and high quality interiors/decor courtesy of Lucia - all rooms are unique in what was originally a 13th century church and the breakfast/reception area is particularly tastefully decorated and lit. All of this made for the most enjoyable short stay we have had anywhere and we have been to many places ! We will definitely return.

Room tip: The deluxe room we had (separate entrance on street above hotel but room was part of hotel) has the best views
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Paparob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The hotel is in a converted 12th century church with high arches and cave features which make this a truly unique hotel to stay in. We had a suite which comprised of a ground floor bedroom with bathroom....a narrow stone staircase took us up to a gallery with a sofa and flat screen television a tiny passage off of this took us to a secret terrace where we could view the cave dwellings of the sassi area of Matera.
Staff were lovely....breakfast excellent...this is a unique place to stay to visit this historic area....be warned though...take comfortable shoes as the cobbled paths of the sassi are not for the faint-hearted. We loved it

Room tip: Book a suite with private terrace
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Matera is a unique world of stone, caves, and ancient culture. Within the maze of vicoli and shadows is the extraordinary refuge extracted from the 14th C. San Giovanni basilica, complete with columns, apse and nave that now serves as the reception and breakfast room. Our cave dwelling included a jacuzzi for 4 and a lower level respite. Roberto, the proprietor, is an innovative kind host who helped me with my research on the modern era of Matera. We had difficulty locating the right passageway when we arrived--they sent Tommaso to meet us where we were and help us to the front door. (you are advised to bring minimal carry-on luggage) As a boutique hotel, the place is quiet with few rooms that vary significantly. request assistance in choosing the cave dwelling that suites your needs.

Room tip: ask for assistance when booking
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

First of all: The staff is great. Just one example: I arrived in the afternoon and asked at the reception for a restaurant to eat something small. The very kind lady heated up some focacci and offered it for free.
The ambiente of the hotel is fantastic and the rooms have been renovated in a perfect way. The reception hall is part of the former church -- unbelievable.
Hope to see this place soon again.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank borobuduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

L' Hotel in Pietra definitely ranks up there as one of the most memorable hotels I have ever stayed at. Service was outstanding and the rooms were impeccable. My favorite part was feeling like I was transported back in time. In the center of the Sassi, the hotel is perfectly located and a great starting point for walking around the Sassi.
We started off our days with a delightful breakfast spread and the hotel staff were so helpful in providing recommendations and tips.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews