We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
205
163
15
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
163
15
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking modern hotel walking distance sassi area car shower
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

While this hotel is not in the heart of the Sassi area, it is within a ten minute walking distance. The staff and service are remarkably helpful and professional. The hotel is modern and perfectly maintained. Also, we found the restaurant to be excellent— a very good (included) breakfast, plus we had dinner there as well— also wonderful ( try the lasagna).The wait staff was attentive and even let the hotel manager know that we were concerned about road conditions to a hill town we planned to visit. The following morning, the front desk called the town to find out about the roads.
Add to all of this, we needed to check in a day early because weather conditions forced us to cancel plans to another city. The reception desk could not have been nicer. They accommodated us on short notice.
Kudos to hotel director, Vincenzo Tito! You and your staff made our stay in your lovely perfect.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank virginac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Recently we visited the enchanting city of Matera and stayed at The Hotel Nazionale. After researching options, we decided upon The Hotel Nazionale because of its location and economical cost. We were not disappointed.

After driving for several hours to reach Matera, we were delighted to quickly find the hotel. We arrived late morning and were able to immediately check in which was helpful. There is a garage underneath the hotel so parking was easy.

The walk to the Sassi was pleasant and took about 15 minutes. It was an easy stroll and enabled us to view much of the more modern city.

In addition to its convenient location, we found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and contemporary with enough plugs to charge phones, cameras, and other electronics.

The front desk staff were personable and pleasant. They provided maps and tourist information upon our arrival. Sylvia was especially helpful. She capably answered numerous questions and provided a restaurant recommendation that turned out to be a highlight of our trip. And, she made sure our dietary needs were met so we could enjoy breakfast the next morning.

I agree with other reviews that the shower is small. However, the water pressure and temperature were excellent.

Overall, our stay at Hotel Nazionale was pleasant and Matera itself is phenomenal.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This hotel is suitable if you are part of a large tourist group or arrive by car, as it is not in walking distance from the old town. The underground parking costs extra. The rooms are modern and clean. The included breakfast offers the typical Italian choice: many sweet breads, croissants plain or with filling.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dino W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Hotel Nazionale is a recently refurbished hotel in Matera. It is located at walking distance (10 minutes) from the city centre and the Sassi area. Rooms are confortable are personnel is very dedicated to their work.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magic_Lone_Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Pros: clean and cheap (for Matera) room, free parking in the basement; reasonable breakfast.
Cons: soulless ugly room; the tiniest shower ever; very basic toiletries
Location: in the middle of nowhere, far from the 'sassi', so don't consider this hotel unless you have a car.
A good choice if, like us, you discover that most other hotels in Matera are solidly booked.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews