We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
1,324
114
31
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,324
114
31
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating unique experience private dinner wooden door classical music playing cave church once in a lifetime burrata unique hotel national park our honeymoon stone floors breakfast was amazing rustic furniture film set an upgrade mod cons
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Having decided to put Matera on our road trip plans it was then an easy decision to make to decide to stay at this outstanding hotel. From the time of making the reservation some months back, the communication was excellent & welcoming. This was then taken to the next level upon arrival & dealing with many different staff members who were all equally attentive & committed to giving exceptional service. The ‘cave’ rooms are quite amazing - we were completely immersed in the ‘Sassi’ experience but at the highest level. The breakfast is outstanding & we enjoyed an afternoon wine in the sunshine (we had two rainy days - not that that stopped us from having a wonderful time). A staff member even returned to our parked car to retrieve an item for us....service was simply outstanding - don’t miss the experience of staying here when you come to Matera.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

What an amazing 'hotel!'

We stayed here for three nights in June 2018 not really knowing what to expect but what a brilliant stay we had.

Quite different from any hotel we have ever stayed in before, it is a series of cave dwellings which have been skilfully converted to include every luxury of a modern day hotel room whilst concealing it within the cave.

As you enter the cave it is candle lit, which it remains for the whole of your stay, and gives an amazing ambience. The truth is, however, that there is electricity and air-conditioning cleverly built into the cave walls and floor.

We also booked the XVth Century cave church dining room of the hotel for a private dinner which was pricey for the two of us but outstanding and NOT TO BE MISSED!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

As Southern Italy becomes more popular as a tourist destination, we are witnessing a lot of luxury hotel and restaurant rising up. Sadly most of it bulldozing over our resources and cultural heritage to comply to general (often grotesque) luxurious guidelines.

Sextantio is exactly the opposite. The care and attention in both the restoration process and the decoration is palpable, the service impeccable all by being extremely welcoming and respectful to the community. The hotel is in fact invisible to the eye and true to Matera's the ambience and architectural

I wish to see more of such tourist infostructures in our region as it allows to both protect our resources and culture heritage, wile sharing it with the rest of the world.

Highly recommended

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzarotti080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We were upgraded to a "suite" (Cave 21) on the third level...a bit of a climb from the road. Friendly welcome and a brief tour of the facilities with some historical information. Our cave was large (double bed and two single beds) with another bath area and, deeper into the cave, a bathroom with shower. Electric lighting is low but there are long lasting candles strategically placed throughout the cave. There were steps up to the high double bed adding to the authenticity as evidently animals belonging to the cave dwellers slept underneath but thankfully no more! There are a few nods toward modern facilities...underfloor heating, air cooling and WiFi but otherwise it's a Flintstones experience! Little storage space but I doubt many guests stay more than one or two nights. Breakfast, served in a decommissioned church on the first level was superb. Huge buffet choice and the option of eggs cooked to order. Car parking is not onsite but a staff member takes and brings back your car from a secure garage (€25 per day). We were very happy to have had an unusual hotel experience staying in a cave but one night was enough for us! Notwithstanding, this is as good as it can possibly get for an authentic cave experience and certainly added to our visit to Matera which is a must-see if visiting this area. There are more traditional options available but you won't be talking about them as much as you undoubtedly will if you visit Sextantio.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PRR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The most unique hotel we have ever stayed! Our Villa 15 was simply Amazing!!! A huge cave, full of candles creating a sensational atmosphere! Staff were friendly & welcoming, they went Out of their way to make this a special experience! Loved the Sassi de Matera - a definite bucket list destination!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicheleCentonze, Direttore vendite at Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Janis,

Thank you so much for your kind review and nice words.

Warm regards from the whole staff and can't wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Ciao ciao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews