We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxing holiday by the sea...”

Review of Roshanara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
East Wittering, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dillyday7...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for a relaxing holiday by the sea...”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Bank holiday was spent in this stunning house by the sea...a fantastic area, perfect for families/groups wanting a relaxing holiday. The five of us felt this really was a home from home. One minute walk from a very child friendly beach (I preferred this local beach to the mobbed and expensive parking one at West Witterings). With great restaurants, cafe's amenities all within a pebble stone throw away. As soon as we walked through the door we instantly relaxed. This property just had that impact on you, open plan, light, airy with gorgeous pieces of "beachy" furniture that complimented the house.

As a family of five it was lovely to have space, a secure garden with ample parking outside. The children LOVED sleeping in bunk beds and my first call was relaxing in the roll top bath in the en suite...pure bliss!

The beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in (and I'm airline crew so I travel a lot) and at night we would open the windows and listen to the sounds of the sea. The best nights sleep I've had in a long time.

Would definitely recommend this property you wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review of 'Roshanara', hopefully we will see you again when you return. Baileys, managing agent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoose
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dirty, lack of basic amenities and nowhere near worth the money”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Eight of us including 2 children stayed here for a week in August 2015. We usually have one family holiday on the south coast every summer in a holiday cottage and have stayed in lots of similar properties so know what type of standard to expect for our budget. This cost £1600 (and some - booking fees, credit card fees, extortionate linen hire...) but was no way worth it. The size of the property is good for 8, spacious living area and 3 good sized bedrooms (bunk bed room is tiny but not a problem). Lovely sized gardens and good location near the beach and the amenities of East Wittering, good selection of shops, pub and takeaways. The beds were comfy!

So onto the negatives...

Extremely dirty - cream carpets never good in a rental property but these were very stained and worn. Skirting boards coming off so the ants and woodlice could come in and spread themselves around (they gave us a very warm welcome, all over the place when we arrived). White roller blinds on all the windows - all dirty and one kept falling off. They didn't keep the light out. No curtains at all.

No basic amenities such as soap in the toilet, spare toilet roll, cleaning stuff etc. There was a book shelf, with some v old books and a couple of old rubbish dvds on and one jigsaw. No games, no magazines (I left one of mine out of pity). No teapot, no scissors. No clothes airer to hang washing indoors. Even many of the 'tourist information' leaflets stuffed in the drawer were 2 years out of date.

The electrics kept tripping so several mornings we had to go in the fuse box. There were very old biscuits and crumbs in the biscuit barrel, and crumbs in the bread bin and toaster. The trays on the inside of the fridge door were disgusting, all gunged up.

In the lounge there were wood lice, dust and crisps behind the sofa and when the sofa cushions were removed there was an unacceptable amount of crumbs, raisins and other debris underneath. We attempted to clean this with the hoover, but there was no suction as the hoover bag was full. We resorted to dustpan and brush. We do not expect to home on holiday to tidy up after the owners. Not a relaxing start to the holiday after a 6 hour drive from Yorkshire. Suffice to say would not recommend this, nor the letting agent which is responsible for letting a large number of holiday properties in the Witterings area. We liked the area and plenty to do nearby so it was a real shame that the property was so substandard. Avoid!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The standard of the property in relation to the price
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and we are pleased the location and overall accommodation provided a great holiday but we are sorry that the cleanliness did not meet your expectations and the issues raised have been addressed with the cleaning company responsible for the property and the holiday home owners.

We received a call from you shortly after you had collected the keys from our office and upon your arrival at the property when you raised some initial concerns regarding the cleanliness of the property. We immediately sent a company representative to deal with those issues who arrived within about 10 minutes of your call.

Our booking fees and linen hire are competitive. Linen hire is £12.50p per person, provided directly by our cleaning companies and includes, bed linen, hand towel and bath sheet. Credit card charges do apply when booking and this would be communicated at the time of taking payment, together with alternatives, including cheque payments which do not attract any charge.

It is disappointing that on this occasion the property failed to meet all your expectations. We welcome all feedback as we have a very hands on and immediate response to any issues that might occur at any of the properties we manage and this feedback is useful in raising standards for future visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Wittering hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing