We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Tomatina - do not book with Spaintastic”

Spain Tastic! Tours
Ranked #123 of 156 Tours in Valencia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A new brand of Tourism in Spain. Revolutionary and innovative. Experience Spain personally. You will be the star of your trip
Reviewed 16 February 2015

LA TOMATINA - DO NOT BOOK WITH SPAINTASTIC !!

http://www.spaintastic.es/e/t/3/la-tomatina

These people are just plain cruel.

I was very excited to attend in 2014, paid for a full day tour..…then sadly my father passed away.

Of course, I had to cancel my entire holiday in Spain.

Other Tour Operators & Airlines were so kind - every one of them fully refunded my booking.

However – the ONLY people not to do this was SPAINTASTIC TOURS

http://www.spaintastic.es/e/t/3/la-tomatina

I wrote to them multiple times, sent the Death Certificate, Doctors’ letters etc

- But they would not show any care or understanding.

Instead they choose to repeatedly stand by the small print in the booking, being no refunds within 7 days of the Event.

I advised them 4 days before the Event

- I couldn’t control the date of my Father’s death.

It is just so sad that someone can be only focused on keeping 65 Euros

- V’s showing some human understanding.

However, I am pleased to say that all 9 other Spanish Tour Operators & Airlines were kind & understanding

- & fully refunded me.

Don’t book with them – they are just a business focussed on themselves

- Not for their clients, nor on humanity.

Travel safe 

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank RoadsMoreTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2015

Getting on the bus in Valencia was a breeze. From there to the festival, good luck.... I got off the bus and had no idea where to go to get my wrist band to get into the event. The first Spaintastic agent I spoke with was drinking beer. She sent me on a wild goose chase to get my wrist band to be admitted to the event. After walking for a good mile plus, I ended up back where I started - no wrist band. I was poorly organized. Storing your stuff is a nightmare. Throngs and throngs of people lined up for lockers. Just be prepared to be patient.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Well, we had both positive and " not so positive" experience with Spaintastic. Lets start with the positive ones:

Postives:
1)We bought the tickets online and had provided our id proof as our UK driving license which is surprisingly not accepted by Tomatina organisation. Spaintastic people helped me to change the id proof details and out in our passport details in the last moment. They were very co-operative to get this changed very quickly for us.

2) We boarded the coach at Valencia to go to Bunol to attend La Tomatina. The coach was on time and took us to Bunol in a timely fashion.

"Not so positives":
1) Once we reached Bunol, a lady guided us to the "Spaintastic location" by holding a board of our type of tickets -Class B. Once we reached the counter we couldnt really find her again and we were left on our own to find out things. The counter she dropped us to,denied to exchange the print outs and give the tickets to us. We had to ask people to go to the right counter to collect our tomatina tickets,shower vouchers and lockers. The people with other ticket type "C" etc were guided in a much better way. After the tomatina, we were not guided to our buses also. We did find our bus but its disapointing that we paid the money for all these services but we were not guided in a proper way.

The shower was fun and the lockers were safe!!

Cheers,
Paromita

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Paromita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaintastic, Customer Service at Spain Tastic! Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear Paromita,

First off all thank you for your feedback and sorry for all the inconveniences.
We can explain you that there were some differences between packages B and C. The package B included the price of the ticket and transport, but didn't include a tour guide and the Exchange of the print at home for the bracelet. The City Council of Buñol was in charge of this exchange in its settled points, that's why you couldn't exchange your print at home in the spaintastic meeting point.

Anyway, sorry again for all the inconveniences. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, is accepted.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

First off, if you're thinking about La Tomatina, stop thinking and make sure you add it to your bucket list. What a great festival, in one of the greatest areas on Earth! Now when we looked at going this year, we researched the best overall way to make this work, and it worked out very well with a couple of things that we wanted to share to make your trip better -
First off, we reserved through Spaintastic Tours. I'd recommend this company, but I will share some caveats:
a) You need to bring a copy of your physical receipt with you. When the busses pick you up (they have busses that will get your from Valencia, Barcelona and other areas, round trip), you have to show your pass, and you also need it on the return.
b) Don't bother with their VIP packages. There is no VIP, you just get additional "things." In our case, we got food and sangria and a shirt. I thought we'd get first service for showers, lockers, food, etc, and that was NEVER the case. More about that later.
c) Get to the bus area on time. If you're in Valencia, where we were, you can't miss the busses as there are a ton of company's lined up. It was very easy to find our bus.
d) If possible, see if you can reserve a bus to return you as soon as possible after the festival - We had to sit around for FIVE hours waiting for a return bus. There's not a lot to do in Bunol once this finishes, and the Spaintastic party isn't well shaded, and most people are worn out and just waiting to leave. The wait was painful.
e) On the bus, they'll sell you goggles - DON'T buy them on the bus! There are a ton of vendors selling them for 3 Euros the second the bus stops, and on the bus they were 6 Euros. I do recommend goggles for the event, although if you can get the large single goggle from home, it's better that the "multi-eye" goggles they sell in Bunol.

The overall experience was awesome, I just think they could do things a little more efficiently especially for those that pay for VIP. There is no food or drink on either bus ride, so bring your own. They have lockers at the Spaintastic location, but there is a long line to drop off and to pick your stuff up. Bring stuff you can trash after the event. I brought an old pair of shoes and a "throw away" shirt. Swim shorts worked perfectly. I saw people in flip flops but wouldn't recommend them. Once the event is done, they have water trucks that spray you down with a fire hose. Again, there's a long line for this, but it's pretty efficient. Get food on your walk back to the Spaintastic location, because the free food line that you pre paid for can take up to an hour to wait in. No, I'm not exaggerating.

I gave Spaintastic 3 stars mainly because of the long waits, the fact that it was a little pricey for what they gave you, and the long wait for the bus ride home. What I don't want lost in this review was that our tour guide was great, the experience was fantastic, and we'd do it again!

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank danjan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaintastic, Customer Service at Spain Tastic! Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Good morning,

First of all, we want to apologize for what happened wrong, it's not easy to manage so many people in a small village like Buñol and so few hours available.

This amount of people, obviously caused queues at some moments. The queue for the shower was long only when we had to change the hose from one truck to another, otherwise it was 5-10 minutes long, and with over 2.000 people in the queue it's not much time.


The departure from Buñol was a bit chaotic due to some traffic problem between local police and buses, which got delayed. Unfortunately one of our guides couldn't diffuse the tension, making the situation even worse. And the hot weather didn't help.

The difference between Vip packages and non-vip packages ara mainly two:
- your guide exchanged your print at home for the official bracelet of la Tomatina in the bus, so you didn’t need to go to the exchange points in Buñol settled by the City Council of Buñol and queue there. The non-VIP customers needed to do that in Buñol.
- Your guide gave you the bracelets for the shower and the ticket for paella and sangría in the bus. The cost and the commodity to have the bracelet direct in the bus were not included in other non-VIP packages. They needed queue in the tickets point in Buñol and buy the tickets there if they wanted to get a shower. Again sorry for the long queue due to the need of changing the water truck.


Anyway, sorry again for all the inconveniences. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, is accepted.

Spaintastic regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This company provided the worst experience of any that I have ever had, and that is putting it lightly. Lets begin, we left Barcelona for La Tomatina 2014 about 30mins late (not a big deal). Then, the bus got lost, and we ended up almost being late to the fight, in which our tour leader laughingly said, "You guys don't mind running...right" (Seriously?!?!) Then, once we parked, the tour guide had no idea where we were going, in town, to get to the fight, and lead us in circles. We finally decided to break away from our group so we wouldn't miss the fight, and found our own way there by following other people. Once the fight was over, we had been told we would be provided showers to clean up......not so much....we got to stand in line and get hosed off by water tankers. Then, we had to go out into a field to be able to change into dry clothes. Luckily, we ran into people from our bus which helped us hold up towels, so that we could change in a remnant of privacy. Next problem, the location we had been told to meet at for the bus ride home, changed, without notice. We only found out by word of mouth we happened to over hear from other travelers. Then, the buses ended up not being allowed into the town, for almost 90 mins, by the police (we were supposed to leave at 2:00pm and instead boarded at 3:20pm) We were forced to stand out in the blazing sun without shade or water, waiting for them. Once we finally boarded and left, everyone was requesting they stop somewhere soon for water, did they, NO, it was about 2 1/2 hours before they decided to stop, and along the way, the bus driver must have fallen asleep while driving, because he almost rear-ended a car and only came to a screeching stop because a women in the front started screaming Senor, Senor!!!! I can't believe this company was the "Official" Tour company for La Tomatina 2014....it was completely disorganized and they should be ashamed of themselves. Stay Away from this Tour company for your own Protection!!!!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank JenyReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spaintastic, Customer service at Spain Tastic! Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Good morning,

First of all, we want to apologize for what happened wrong, it's not easy to manage so many people (Spain Tastic! sold around 8.000 tickets) in a small village like Buñol and so few hours available.

We had some problems with the buses from Barcelona and Madrid, problems that we gave our best to solve. We had a lot of people to deal with and to coordinate.

The queue for the shower was long only when we had to change the hose from one truck to another, otherwise it was 5-10 minutes long, and with over 2.000 people in the queue it's not much time. Moreover, we had available changing rooms next to the showers so people could get changed in privacy.


The departure from Buñol was a bit chaotic due to some traffic problem between local police and buses, which got delayed. Unfortunately one of our guides couldn't diffuse the tension, making the situation even worse.
The hot weather didn't help, people get easily stressed due to be tired so they started shouting and pushing each other to get on the first bus they can, making a mess barely manageable by everyone.

After the first half hour, situation became under control and everyone could get on a bus and come back with a short delay, understandable in a such busy tour with around 4.000 people who had, in 3 hours, to come back on a bus and don't want to wait.

Anyway, sorry again for all the inconveniences. We try to improve ourselves every day, so feedback, positive and negative, is accepted.

Spain Tastic! greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spain Tastic! Tours also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Spain Tastic! Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing