We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
44
74
104
54
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
74
104
54
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel dove park superb location clean towels every day tapas small hotel paella fussy eater coach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We returned yesterday from having a lovely weeks stay half board in the Esmeralda Hotel Benidorm.
We had a sea view room yes it did need decorated and updated but it wasn't that bad remembering its a 2 star Hotel, the staff were all welcoming and friendly, food was good different each day, clean towels every day, beds were comfortable and superb location to shops, pubs and across the road to the sea. The transfer drop off stop is very nearby
We have stayed in some bad dirty hotels during our travels but this hotel deserves more positive reviews.
We will definitely return to the Esmeralda Hotel.
The Chalmers family UK

Room Tip: Sea view room a must
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We got to the hotel at 2.30am by 8.30am we had checked out and booked ourselves into another hotel, the hotel is disgusting
The air conditioning unit had been leaking there was yellow water underneath running down the wall.

Fruit left in the room looked like it had been there a year what’s the point in leaving fruit that isn’t edible?

The bath was rusty and there must have been a leak through the bathroom ceiling that had been bodged and painted yellow.

All we could hear all night was next doors being sick, it’s a noisy hotel. There is nothing positive I can say about the place.

Just couldnt stop there so there was no way we were going to use the all inclusive facilities we had paid for. Can’t imagine what the food was like but that was a risk we weren’t willing to take best disision we made was to book in another hotel this would have ruined our holiday stopping here.

AVOID - this place is filthy

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emmaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I went online to search about this hotel and yes there was some bad reviews but ive seen this happen before where there has been bad reviews but the hotel had some nice photo's on so we decided to try the hotel thinking ok maybe not everyone had a nice room or time but OMG it wasn't lying. We arrived early Saturday 7th July and was given our room and as soon as we went into the room I could have cried, the bathroom is as soon as you walk in the room and the smell from it smelt like sewerage and so basic you would have thought we had booked into hotel grotbag, so we went straight to reception to complain to be told if we paid 100 euro for our 5 night stay we could have a sea view room taking us from economy room to superior so although it took a chunk of our spending money there was no way we could have stayed in the 1st room, The room we got even though it was supposed to be superior was a sea view like we was told but the wardrobe door fell off and the whole room needed to be updated, maintenance came straight away to fix it and as much as I wanted to just leave the hotel I hadn't took my credit card to do this so had to make do, There is some plus as we had clean towels every day, But that was it, we wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gillibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Returned from the Esmerelda on friday after a four night stay. I have stayed in many third world countries! In shacks, huts on stilts and wooden sheds but none as dire as the Esmerelda. Should be a minus star, food inedible, restaurant depressing, staff surly and rooms dirty, shabby and bare. Only good things were air con, shower and location. Hallways and rooms decorated!!! In torn, dirty wood chip. Doors and all framework dirty and peeling. Cannot believe they have the gall to offer this hotel to tourists. Should be shut down and completely refurbished. If you have already booked take enough spending money to eat out. We were on full board and tried a breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were awful. Many cheap bars for food on the doorstep so ate out all the time which was an expense we wasn’t anticipating. If you haven’t booked yet please please please don’t reconsider and book elsewhere. I have added some photos which doesn’t do justice to the awfulness of this establishment. Hope this review helps.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lindagee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Well apart from the good location were to begin with this shower of!!! 5 lads on a long weekend away You can say you pay for what u get and to be fair that's true originally we was supposed to stay somewhere else but due to a balls up with the bookings and the thousands of England fans over for the weekend we had no choice to stay at this hotel. this a horrendous shocking place! Its like a local playschool was let loose with paint and hammers in a crack den! The woman behind the desk was rude and ignorant I asked a question to confirm transfers she dialled the number and threw the phone at me why she continued texting. The hotel stank of what can only be described as sewage or human waste soon as you walked in the reception and the rooms and it never stopped smelling and you don't get used to it. The rooms was cramp the showers was impossible and was falling of the wall the lift had a mind of its own, some warning signs for health and safety was carved into the walls with what could only be guessed as a pen knife you could hardly see them. there was a vending machine in reception what seemed to gather a clientele of flies round it, the wardrobes in the rooms was pointless as the beds are that cramped together you can't use them. There was no fridge so the complimentary fruit ruined so quick that even if you decided to take your life in your hands and eat it would have been spoiled and the complimentary bottle of water could have made hot coffee with, When we walked in one room it still had builders in installing some prison esq kind of wooden blinds what didn't even work they got stuck half way down blocking any sunlight plus the door to the piss poor balcony wouldn't even lock proper and you couldn't really open it cause the beds was in the way which made it impossible to get fresh air in and The fact you have to pay for air conditioning was horrific in this heat it was horrendous to sleep at night But even then I wouldn't recommend it, you would end up with legionnaires disease or something cause the unit looked old rickety and unclean. The food looked unpalatable. Only high point was the safe it was quite secure just as well because the room doors could have been kicked open by a toddler and some one climbed over the balconies and robbed money and passport from next door to one of our rooms. The rooms also back onto other hotels or peoples homes were we noticed a revolving shift of police officers going to some of the addresses, we had an hourly rendition of very bad Spanish rap songs into the early hours, a dog constantly braking And horny couple howling every 30mins. And to top that off some bright spark decided to throw his TV of the balcony at 4am. Every morning there was building work outside knocking grinding and banging at 8am. there was fresh towels every day but they never remove the old ones. And on the last night I saw a huge cockroach In the reception I told the guy and he shrugged. All in all even the copious amount of alcohol couldn't not block it out It was absolute kak. It was basically up and out and stay out and long as possible luckily we had Ron's bar and Vincents bar round the corner to camp out in for aslong as we could! On our last afternoon We went back to get some more money out and a Scottish guy was arguing that he booked a sea view room but the women behind reception wasn't having it told him he had to upgrade. He wasn't best pleased as his paperwork said sea view with balcony. Seems like they throw you into the shanty town style hostel rooms so that you will think sod that and upgrade. A joke of a place!! Never again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank bigwesty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews