We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice wine in an almost clubbing setting”
Review of Arriba

Arriba
Ranked #2,128 of 12,975 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Salamanca
Description: Chef Ramon Freixa offers this pret a porter eatery, offering more affordable home cooking and gourmet tapa dishes suitable for all budgets. The restaurant boasts spectacular views of the venue of which it forms part, once home to a cinema and the Carlos III Theater.
Reviewed 26 April 2017

It is not only a nice dinner at the balcony of the ex-theater, with the live DJ and fun lighting at the stage, it is like having a great dinner in a fancy club.

The food is sophisticated with layers of flavours and slow cooking touch. With good wine by suggestion, we had a fun and delicious dinner. Especially when we just had two of us but want to have a party.

If want to try a Spanish dinner with cosmopolitan style, this is exactly the place.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fukuronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

Was there with a group of colleagues for dinner. We had reserved and a pre-choosen dinner. The food was very good, the settings is wonderful placed in a kind of old cinema on the ranks! I would recommend this place very much as it expressed traditional Spanish hospitality in a modern ambiente.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glencheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Went here for a work dinner here. The service was attentive and the venue was amazing- it's a converted theatre and the vibe certainly had a market feel with the hustle and bustle of other dinners and the food bars.
We had a selection of typical Spanish fare- jamon, breads, salad and fish- all very tasty.
One thing let it down was the dessert- those needing to avoid milk will get a rather uninspiring fruit salad. It was nicely presented but not quite the fitting finish to a lovely meal.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank Chun_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

After touring the amazing Platea we moved upstairs for lunch at Arriba. Even though we had booked, we were shown to an awkward table that was at the foot of a short flight of stairs used by the staff for service and other patrons. When we asked for a different table, the woman who was front of house was sullen and very ungraciously seated us at another table not far away, crashing chairs around as she did so. Unfortunately, her poor attitude set the tone for our meal and even though the other staff members were pleasant and professional and the food was good, overall, it was a disappointing experience thanks to our first impression of the restaurant. Wouldn't rush back.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OutAndAbout1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

It's an old theatre that now has be turn into a gourmet experience.

Arriba is the restaurant located in the first floor where you can eat food from the chef Ramon Freixa (which has 2 Michelin stars in other restaurant).

Food is really good and you have a huge menu to choose what you want to eat. I recommend the duck bao and the rice with duck and carabiners.

The staff was really nice too.

I'll be back for sure!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Juanilloao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arriba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Juanilloao,

We highly appreciate your positive comments following your recent visit to Arriba restaurant.

It is good to know you enjoyed of the enviroment at the magestic theater we are located in.

It is a pride to know that we have make your expectations and that our staff were very attentive, in addition to the food.

Thank you for you valuable opinion, we are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arriba also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Arriba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing