We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveller rating
728
345
123
91
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
345
123
91
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking barcelona stainless steel pool tibidabo amusement park mountain view free shuttle sagrat cor mount tibidabo infinity pool beautiful hotel terrace room entire city minute taxi ride public transport huge bathroom junior suite first morning luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Great hotel very welcoming front of house staff who really look after you and always welcome you with a lovely smile.
Comfy spacious rooms and fabulous surroundings and views.

Disappointed with the price of drinks and food, €19 for a gin €15 for aperol spritz €6 for bottle of water main bar type meals €15 for Cesar salad and pasta dish.
Disappointed with quality of meal we had ordered pasta dish it arrived cold, sent it back same meal came back re heated ( not great when it’s seafood ) still not very warm so sent back again , no offer of complementary meal or drink , other two meals not great.

It’s a real shame as they push guests out of the hotel with the cost of drinks and snacks would have stayed around the hotel for a day but it was way too expensive.

€3 for the bus right outside the hotel , it is the fair bus however you can still pay and ride .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KerryVirginVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KerryVirginVie,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and letting us have your comments on your recent stay at Gran Hotel la Florida.

We strive very hard to try and meet our guests’ expectations and receiving feedback from our clients is really helpful and appreciated.

We are pleased to inform since one month ago, we are honoured to have a new Executive Chef in our cuisine that already changed the gastronomic proposals creating a great quality menu using local products. I hope you can try it in your next stay at our property.

We are thankful for your time and I would be delighted to welcome you again at Gran Hotel la Florida should you return to Barcelona in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina Roures
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Leading Hotels of the World? Well if this is leading then we are all doomed....

Check in and front of house was pleasant and welcoming, tour of hotel and facilities was encouraging and we thought wow we have found a real gem, our superior room with terrace with stunning views over Barcelona city, what more could a couple want???

Well unfortunately this was as good as it got for the ‘leading hotel of the world’

SERVICE
Beyond poor at times, ordered room service nothing turned up on several occasions, plenty or staff but lacked any attention to what you would expect as service, I’ve had better at budget hotels whilst on a business trip!
No topping up of wine or water at the dinner table, ignored for most of the meal (I’ll get on to the food quality later!) and then when you offer your feedback there is no real interest or concern and just smile and walk off!

FOOD
Poor is being kind, meals sent back, steak that an amateurish chief could cook better, pasta dish that was an abomination of a meal, food served teppid warm, bread that was harder than a rock!!! And that was an evening meal. During the day the food on offer was bland and tasteless and all in all big during the day and evening very limited bland food on offer backed up by poor delivery of said food and poor service.... BUT STILL VERY EXPENSIVE

The Hotel
Our room was gorgeous, not cheap but was worth it so no complaints about that and credit where credit is due (seen other posts about lesser rooms that look poor though)
The rest of the hotel, in the main looks good until you dig a bit deeper, the external lounging area, the cushions are covered in old food and dirty. Spa toilets flushers done work in some of the toilets (some people must have found out after leaving a deposit) and some doors don’t lock.
Jacuzzi was not very warm, we did ask them to increase the temp but, you can guess the outcome of that!
Around the front of house reception etc hotel was very nice and well presented but on the whole the hotel needs some money spent to back up the ‘5star’ cost!!!!

Summary
- Amazing views
- Superior room was very nice (part from two single beds pushed together)
- Food very poor and limited options
- Service very average at its best
- Very expensive but nothing to support this in terms of quality on offer
- Should look into employing an actual chef ? (Just my view)
- Hotel Needs investment
- Would not return
- stayed 5 nights, wanted to leave after 2, lucky Barcelona is an amazing city with lots of options!
- Been to many LHW branded hotels and this is not leading on any level with the exception of the view!

Ventured out to hotel 1898, Mirabe restaurant and many others and could not speak highly enough of the level of service or food quality and options, this hotel should go experience them and then try what they offer!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Darren B

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your last stay at our hotel. We are sorry to learn that it was not to your liking. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies

We inform you that we discussed your comments with the responsible managers and that we will arrange the necessary steps to be taken. For granted it was not the intention to cause discontent and make you feel bad or disappointed. We regret that we couldn´t meet your expectations since it is our aim to make every guest's stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to having you stay with us again at the Gran Hotel La Florida some day in the future.

Sincerely,

Cristina Roures
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Theme park directly next to the hotel which is very very noisy and disturbing!Terrible service, food menu very basic and of very poor quality especially for a hotel that claims to be part of LHW. The views are what make this place but nothing more unfortunately. The room we had was lovely, clean and what we expected. Spa toilets were very dirty, smelly and some of the doors don’t shut or even lock, and the jacuzzi was luke warm not hot. The outside furniture needs a good wash! F&B staff speak minimal English and just wander around and are not attentive at all. Very very expensive food and drink considering it’s of bad quality, not value for money at all. Location for us was good as it’s out of the way, although there is one shuttle to the centre at 11am and one back at 6ish so you are limited without a car or using a taxi. Taxi is €40-50 round trip so gets expensive although we didn’t mind to get some good grub! Pool is nice, little cold however no atmosphere, no music or anything about it that makes it that enjoyable. Full of children which for a boutique hotel in the middle of no where is ridiculous. It is not kitted up for children at all and so they are running around screaming and splashing as there is nothing else to do for them here. The food quality is the biggest downfall here, I had to send a meal away it was that bad. The mini bar is extremely expensive, charging €4 plus euros for a handful of nuts they give you free with your drinks at the pool. We made the best of our stay, but would not return due to all of the above. I have in another LHW hotel and this one could not compare! I think LHW should think twice about having this hotel as part of their high class chain!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 956sophie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Sophie O,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Gran Hotel La Florida. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated. With that said, we were most disappointed to learn that we have not been able to offer you a good experience.

Your feedback has been well noted and been shared with the relevant departments in order to improve our service

On behalf of everyone here at Gran Hotel La Florida we would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again to regain your trust in us.

Sincerely

Cristina Roures
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed here for a 4 night break last week and will most probably return in the future. From the personal check-in with a glass of cava, to the beautiful room everything was seamless. We booked a terrace suite, which had stunning views of the city and a huge luxury bathroom. The metal pool lovely and always quite quiet. The hotel is about 30 minutes by car or taxi from the city, which isn't a problem as long as you're prepared to travel in, there is also a courtesy shuttle bus that runs twice daily. The only small downside is the restaurant is quite expensive compared to many places in the city.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Rob M,

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

Please rest assured that I have shared your lovely comments with the entire team here at the Gran Hotel La Florida.

We look forward to welcoming you at the Gran Hotel La Florida in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Cristina Roures
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We booked this 5* hotel for a luxury break in August with my friend. The location is very remote and the hotel has incredible views but I would say that the hotel itself is quite dated, and the rooms are not 5*. If you are prepared to spend a fortune dining in the hotel then it is an ideal luxury getaway, however we found the food to be average and not worth the extortionate prices - eg 28 euros for a continental breakfast and 7 euros for one coffee!

We found the hotel staff to be incredibly rude - our check in experience was awful. We had informed the hotel we would be arriving at 1pm and we arrived at 1:15. The receptionist told us the maid was cleaning our room currently so we would have to wait 30 minutes. After an hour we returned and asked if our room was ready and he informed us she had only just starting cleaning our room so we had to wait (so he had lied). We got into our room an hour and a half later after the staff member rudely dropped the keys into my lap and walked off. Not a 5* experience! We then found our room to have a dodgy lock and the air conditioning was not working. When we called a staff member he found that the air conditioning was switched off at the fusebox and said that we should have known to turn it on there instead of calling a member of staff- what a joke!

Furthermore, it cost us 45 euros from the airport and around 35-40 euros every time we took a taxi into the city. The hotel shuttle is not very helpful as it only runs twice - at 11 am and 6pm. The local bus was better but it is a long-winded process.

In summary; if you have lots of money to spend and are not bothered about seeing much of the city, then this is a great hotel. If not I would say you can achieve the same level of luxury for much less at the Melia Sky Hotel which is definitely a more 5* experience where I will be returning in future.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews