We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barcelona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dmd
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our family just returned from a two and a half week vacation in Spain and Portugal. We spent approximately two glorious weeks in Barcelona at Casa Capella. Our daughter is studying abroad in Barcelona.
I booked Casa Capella at least 6 months in advance after reviewing hundreds of apartments in Barcelona. I have booked several apartments in the past, in Europe and Hawaii, and can honestly say this is the best apartment we have ever booked.
Initially I was concerned that there were so few reviews. As a rule, I look for apartments with many reviews so I can get an idea of the location, noise, comforts etc. Casa Capella had fewer reviews, but they were all accurate.
Casa Capella is located on Carrer de Arago, a rather busy street. Initially I was concerned about the noise despite the reviews of the sound proof glass. I have stayed in hotels with sound proof glass and have still been able to hear the noise. This wasn't the case at Casa Capella. It was completely sound proof. It was truly amazing.
The location of the apartment is just fabulous. You are 10 minutes from everything. You can walk to Born, to the park, to two of Gaudi's buildings. You are a block and a half from Passeig de Gracia, which is similar to 5th Ave in New York. You are a block and a half from an amazing outdoor (actually indoor) market with wonderful fruit and cheese etc. The train is on the same block. You don't have any bars or restaurants on the block--so no late night drinking etc. The neighborhood is safe at any hour. You enter the building through a locked door. Then the apartment door is made of steel, with at least 5 bolts. I can't imagine you need this kind of security, as the neighborhood is so safe, but I assume the owners provided it so that those renting in a big city would feel safe.
The apartment is situated on the 2nd floor--equivalent to our 4th floor. It runs the entire length of the building. It has a wonderful balcony over a beautiful courtyard.
All the bedrooms are great. The decor is just lovely--very modern, yet comfortable, blond wood floors, stone bathrooms. They have every appliance you could possibly want--from washer and dryer (in a separate room--not in the kitchen or bathroom), dishwasher, safe, office with computer,wifi,even bathroom scales!
All the bathrooms are large with American showers.
There's nothing more you could possibly want from an apartment. The pictures and video on line do not do it justice.
Josefina and John were perfect hosts. They responded to every question we had the same day. John was there early in the morning to help us with our luggage.
Even after we left Barcelona they were able to help us navigate a problem our daughter had in the city.
I truly can't imagine staying anywhere else in Barcelona. If you have any concerns or questions, please don't hesitate to email me. I've written many reviews on tripadvisor, on many luxury hotels, but have never stayed in a hotel or an apartment that we have all liked as much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geri s
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“barcelona has beccome our second home”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

we like to think of ourselves as seasoned travelers. for the past fifteen years we have chosen to rent homes when we travel and when we discovered this apartment-all others paled. full amenities included a/c which is hard to find-beyond clean and modern and a location central to everything. on site managers who are also owners take pride in service we rarely see. barcelona is beautiful and thanks to this casa-there is truly no place like home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaBuni...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent accomodation with attention given to all possible details.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for three days in this perfectly located apartment and marveled at the thoroughness of any needs that may arise. Our hosts were helpful & cheerful. Definitely a place to remember fondly and to re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfan
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“THE rental property in Barcelona!!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I, along with our two "kids" aged 22 and 18 spent a week in Casa Capella in July, 2013. We came from having spent 4 nights in Madrid and 3 nights on the Costa Brava where the "kids" shared a room-and by the end of that week, and upon our arrival at Casa Capella-they needed space.

Casa Capella gave us the luxury of space. There are 3 large bedrooms. Two have en suite bath, one uses the central one in the hallway but we dedicated it solely to the use of our daughter who drew the room w/o its own bath so everyone got their own full bath. Peace reigned.

We have rented properties all over the world and have had the good fortune to rent some great properties with some not so great property managers and vice versa. Casa Capella is truly the best of both worlds.

The apartment is brilliant. John and Josefina are the best hosts we have ever encountered. They greeted us at the door. John brought up our luggage. Josefina gave us a tour of the apartment. The two of them gave us a map of the local recommended restaurants and groceries (their taste is impeccable). They answered all of our questions and warmly wished us well and told us that they were available, for anything, whenever we needed them (more on this point later). John and Josefina are the kindest, most diligent, most accommodating hosts anyone can hope for.

As to the apartment, I have read the preceding reviews and heartily endorse them. Each of the 3 bedrooms has space and in our case, all were made into American king sized beds. The wi-fi is fast, continuous, and not compromised by more than 3 devices being used concurrently. Wi-fi is very important to us and our kids. They have a local landline for local needs which proved useful w/dinner reservations. The location of the apartment is absolutely perfect. Steps from the metro (though as a family of 4 we opted to take taxis which was cost effective in the few instances where we required transport beyond our feet). You are so centrally located you truly do not need to do much but walk-and the walks to all parts of the city are very manageable.

The website description on tripadvisor (and I think I may have found it also on VRBO) are fair and honest and if anything, do not do justice to the property.
The apartment is fantastically soundproofed so despite being on a busy street, you would never know it. There are a zillion great restaurants and bars nearby.
The living room comfortably accommodates 6-8 people and having a TV for downtime is nice. Egypt is again on fire and having BBC World was a blessing to keep appraised of what was going on. The DVD player was better and we chose to spend a few evenings watching DVDs that John and Josefina have allowed their guests to share from their "library".
The kitchen has all you need and there is a gorgeous fresh food market which sits atop a supermarket about 2 1/2 blocks from the apartment. We availed ourselves of it on 2 evenings to stay in and eat here because we so enjoyed the comforts of Casa Capella.

On our 2nd to last "real" night in Barcelona (we departed at 0500 so the very last night does not count) my wife missed a curb, and turned and collapsed on her ankle. We were very concerned that her ankle was fractured or so badly sprained that she would require a wheelchair for our final few days here and no matter which, we potentially needed emergency medical attention. I called John and Josefina who provided immediate smart and local knowledge that saved the day (and the rest of our holiday).

In summary: I trust and respect John and Josefina. They are honorable and gracious hosts. They have a fantastic 3 bedroom apartment w/all of the amenities (down to electric converters and sharp kitchen knives) in a fantastic location. If you happen to be in need of THE apartment in Barcelona, this is it.
I am happy to further praise this wonderful property should you still have questions or concerns. My email is: jonfriedman12345@gmail.com.
thanks again John and Josefina!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, as a whole, made for a perfect vacation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenteac...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You couldn't find a better place to stay in Barcelona!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We discovered Casa Capella 2 through a very thorough YouTube video...it allows you to see exactly what you will find when you arrive: a beautiful apartment in an excellent location in Barcelona! We were just a block away from the Passeig de Gracia, very near two Gaudi apartments, great cafes and restaurants and great shopping!
The video does not, however, introduce you to the owners of the property, John and Josefina, who greeted us with such warm hospitality! When we arrived, Josefina, along with her charming son, showed us around the apartment, pointing out all the wonderful amenities that have been placed in the apartment: many tour Barcelona guides, art books, DVD's, fine linens, soap and shampoo, a fully stocked kitchen...even a computer for the personal use of the guests!
The apartment itself is beautifully furnished and decorated, with lovely touches everywhere you look. The layout of the three bedrooms offered total privacy for three adult couples...we could not have been more comfortable.
In addition to the warm welcome John and Josefina provide, they also made restaurant and transportations reservations for us and helped us with our bags both upon arrival and departure...a lovely touch that we did not expect. When we left, we felt as though we were saying goodbye to old friends...we will certainly return to Barcelona and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing