We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time but ruined by the inexplicable high bill.”
Review of El Mama

El Mama
Reserve with
El Mama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,359 of 10,848 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$51 - US$148
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: The food, the family, the taste for a casual style and light are mixed in EL MAMA to offer the customer the best snack in a pleasant and unique experience in Barcelona. Be prepared for unexpected surprises between courses: only the people who is in EL MAMA knows what happens in there.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

On a weekend visit a local took us here for dinner, drinks and the show. When ordering, the waiter was trying to push expensive wines on us but our friend who lives locally was adamant we didn't want that and we ordered the cheaper option at about 20 euro. We had a great time watching and participating in the show and the food was much better than expected. We had a great time dancing to classic disco tunes after the show too. Sadly, everything turned sour when the bill turned up. Our initial bottles of wine were as we ordered but then the rest were all billed at 50 euro. When challenged, the waiter said that the other wine had run out. Unfortunately, all the bottles had been cleared away so we couldn't even check what we had been served. I can't help but think this is not the first time this has happened there. Such a shame as otherwise I would tell everyone I know who visits Barcelona, to go there. Now, I'll be warning them not to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 348sophiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Although I would never choose dinner with the show, I have to be honest we had a very good time at El Mama.
Service is very good as well as the food.
Show was good, nice variation and performances very occasional giving enough time to socialise.

Thank Nela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Trying to imitate a "Cabaret style place" where it misses all the angles. No ambience, show is below average and worse of all is the Food that you need to settle for a fast food place hereafter.

Cannot but say, total failure.

Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Mama B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear customer,
may we respect your opinión, although we disagree with it. El Mama has not the intention of imitate anything or anyone. We regret not having accomplished your expectations. We will keep working as hard as possible to improve.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

The show was mediocre at most and the food was good but ridiculously small portions. I left hungry. It was disappointing knowing that it is a rather overpriced restaurant for Spanish standards.

Thank Zac778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Mama B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Zac,
Thanks for letting us know how your experience was. We’re sorry for having disappointing you.We will keep working as hard as possible to improve.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The food was average but we didn't mind overpaying as we had been told it was a great place for atmosphere / entertainment. One main dish turned up wrong and they changed it no questions, then we found a hair in another dish and they offered to replace it. It seemed there was a lady whose sole purpose was to keep topping up your drink so you couldn't help feel like you were being rushed along. The entertainment was excellent until we were told 20 minutes before the end of our booking that the management had closed off our bill and we had to pay and move off the table. We were very disappointed with the way this was handled and it put a real dampener on the night. The lady basically stood over us until we paid then told us to vacate. Another table was offered somewhere the other side of the bar or upstairs but when you've paid to enjoy an evening out you don't expect to be put in a corner away from all of the entertainment. Overall we were really unhappy about the service and wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless they arranged to have a table for longer than we were able to have the table. 1 hour 40 minutes for 2 bottles of rose cava and two courses for three people, spending 170 Euros! Luckily we didn't order cocktails as well otherwise we'd have been drinking them in the street at that rate!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Mama B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Jane,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. The truth is that El Mama operates with double shift at dinners and the first one ends between 10 pm and 10:30 pm. In theory, customers should have knowledge of this when making a reservation or accessing the restaurant. We apologize if the attitude of our staff in these circumstances was not adequate. We will keep working so situations like this do not happen again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mama also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing