We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
162
116
18
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
116
18
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza mayor one night nice hotel blinds university cervantes cathedral lift desk square furniture amenities parking garage city english
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on our way from the UK to Portugal. Beautiful building close to restaurants. You can pay a little extra 15€ to park in their underground car park. Excellent room. No restaurant but a good bar. Friendly staff

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Benana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on the way into France. Hotel was quirky, stylish and very comfortable. Had an attic room but it was cleverly done so bright and discovered the low level windows with electronic blinds so we could see the square. Definitely the best location in town. Would have stayed for longer if we could. Car parking was easy to find as we emailed ahead and got directions (yes you do have to go up a pedestrianised street but cars are allowed for access.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ceri-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

The hotel is located on a peaceful plaza at the side of the Cathedral. You have to let the desk know when you drive up at there is no parking in front and you end up driving around to the rear of the hotel and then driving into an elevator which lowers your car to the parking area in the basement. Very handicap friendly. Hotel was remodeled from an older building and many of the original beams were left in the wall to add to the décor. Ideally located it is a short walk to the plaza mayor and another to the major museum. The staff was extremely helpful. The name is from a short story written by Cervantes when he was living in Valladolid, called A Dialogue between 2 Dogs" which was in turn a continuation of another story by Cervanted.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the plaza.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped the night here on the way to Bilbao for the ferry - Valladolid is 3 hours from Bilbao, so it is convenient for the afternoon crossings.

The hotel is modern and clean, well appointed with friendly and helpful staff. It has a basement garage accessed by a lift. The instructions were quite clear and we found it first time. The lift and garage accommodated our large family car perfectly well, but if you have a big classic or vintage car you might want to check measurements etc. with the management first.

The hotel is centrally located right next to the Cathedral and a very few minutes walk from shops and restaurants . There is a cafe attached to the hotel which was fine, but not a proper restaurant, but there is a wide variety in the town centre to choose from.

At €95 for the night including garaging (€10) we thought it represented very good value.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, Director General at Hotel El Coloquio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We are pleased with would find comfortable with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A local recommended it as the best hotel in Valladolid, and I think he is right. It is well located next to the Cathedral and the University, overlooks a famous square and you can get to the main sights easily. The hotel itself has been recently refurbished with high design features and has many amenities such as a cafe on the square which is frequented by locals. Although the furniture might have an Ikea feeling, it is well placed and beds are comfortable. The TV could be larger, but then, who wants to stay watching TV when the city is very nice? My room overlooked the square so it was more inviting to relax and drink some coffee while watching the world go by. Bathroom is well decorated and water has a good pressure.
Staff is extremely helpful and always willing to give you recommendations. Rooms are kept very clean. Breakfast was more of the "traditional Iberian" style but with different choices.

Room tip: Best rooms face the square
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carlosochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, Director General at Hotel El Coloquio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews