We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
360
234
78
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
234
78
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old style la gomera the cliff steep walk small bar public areas internal courtyard beautiful hotel san sebastian walking holiday first floor mount teide the ground floor superb views buffet breakfast dining room is main town
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Stunning hotel set high over the town of San Sebastian de la Gomera. Built about 45 years ago in the Spanish colonial style, it features adobe-look walls with wide, airy corridors with large, restful lounges and an internal courtyard with palm trees and a fountain in the middle. Throughout it is furnished with antique furniture, engravings and ancient religious oil paintings presumably rescued from churches.
The dining room staff are without exception wonderful - attentive, speedy and unfailingly helpful. Food is of a very high standard: we believe the dinner menu changes every Friday, so if you arrive that day you'll have the same offerings (with a minor change or two) for the next week, so it can get a bit monotonous. Pay extra for the specials. The bar leads on to a snug internal courtyard open to the sky for the smokers.
Our only gripe was that we had booked two twin-bed rooms, but on arriving at 8.30pm reception gave us two rooms each with a queensize bed. When we pointed out that we had booked two twins for the adult family, we were given only one, with the receptionist saying they were very busy - which had nothing to do with our booking! We expected that they would grant us the double room at some point but they never did, which was a pity.
One warning: It is a very long, steep climb from the town to the hotel. Unsuitable unless you're pretty fit. Otherwise you'll need a taxi. Rooms and bathrooms very clean and spacious. Beautiful cactus and palm tree garden out the back with lots of chairs and benches to sit back and admire the views down to the town and Tenerife in the distance.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BigDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador_Gomera, Manager at Parador de la Gomera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make your review.
Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team, in special with restaurant department.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels and restaurants.
We will be delighted to see you again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Old building with long corridors, wooden floor, bright staircases and old-fashion furniture create a very special historical atmosphere. Fantastic ocean view from the salon on the top. Although some details in the bathroom were dated, it did not spoil the overall very positive impression. Friendly and helpful reception staff which tolerated our broken Spanish.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashevc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador_Gomera, Manager at Parador de la Gomera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,
Tkank you for your great review. We translate to our team and specially to reception.
Fantastic that you could practice your spanish !. We hope to see you again and continue to practice and enjoy our facilities and services.!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

...is the Armas-Ferry in the night from saturday to sunday! The engine runs the hole night like a helicopter and keeps you from sleeping! Unlike others said WLan works at the very end of the building, but slowly.
We booked bed and breakfast and went for dinner "downtown" which is the appointment of me. I would stay for months if i had the money- to stop that f...ing ferry!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank npetring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

UNACCEPTABLE TREATMENT OF GUESTS. We were turned away very aggressively in the small hours of the night with no place to stay. We looked at booking.com and they had several rooms available. Inhuman treatment from a very rude and aggressive worker. Will never go there again and suggest everyone to find another place to stay. There are plenty of other alternatives in town for much more accessible prices. JUST READ OTHER BAD REVIEWS OF THIS PLACE.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank moctoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This hotel is very special one, you must like be in this atmosphere of old time, very spanisch, castilian style. Each piece of furniture and the harmony in all, make me feel in privat house, not in a Hotel.
I had a beautiful room no. 321, with breathtaking view from balcony.
The staff was giving us all support to get as confortable as we need, all time of our stay. I will realy enjoy to come again.
Thank you

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisa_rusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parador_Gomera, Manager at Parador de la Gomera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have especially enjoyed our architecture, decoration and style. A colonial style with many details of La Gomera.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews