We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,952)
Filter reviews
2,952 results
Traveller rating
1,483
997
322
81
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,483
997
322
81
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river small pool guggenheim museum old town lovely park premium room tram stop separate shower beautiful hotel walk in shower minute walk breakfast buffet is rooms are spacious top floor excellent location great city per day
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 2,952 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The hotel location is excellent, being next to the park, near the river, 5 minutes to bus stop for airport bus, over the road from the tram line, and 10 minutes walk to city centre and Guggenheim Museum.
We stayed on 3rd floor overlooking the river/tram way, and our room was big and spacious, with little or no noise from the neighbours. Nice big bed, which was very comfortable. The bathroom was big, too, with both a shower cubicle and a bath. Although the decor/furnishing in the room is beginning to show a little wear & tear, everywhere was kept very clean. Most impressive of all was the staff: without exception everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful, with useful tips about the local area.
Overall we would recommend the hotel, but would hesitate to call it 5*.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This was the 6th hotel of our trip across Portugal and Spain, sadly it was the most disappointing.
We booked a superior room on the 10th floor. The shower was so dirty that we did not really want to use it, as it had black mold on walls and floor. It does not appear that housekeeping had made any effort to clean it. I have written directly to the hotel and attached photos, I have requested an acknowledgement but they have not responded.
Our toiletries were not replaced each day. Milk was not replenished and no spoons left either.
On one evening, we were sitting outside having a late drink on the terrace with another guest when the restaurant doors were locked without any warning to us, we had to walk around the hotel to the main entrance to get back in.
For the price we paid for the hotel, we would have expected it to be clean and to have provided better service, no part of our experience was 5*
On a more positive note, the staff on reception were polite and helpful.
Bilbao was a very nice city to visit and we enjoyed the Guggenheim.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abradley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The Hotel Meliá in Bilbao is a good comfortable hotel. The hotel has interesting architecture based on squares often arranged in groups of 9. The room I had had a good view of the park. There is a tramstop nearby.

Room Tip: get room overlooking park
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We spent 3 days at the Melia to celebrate my 50th birthday - we had a large room, even larger bathroom (or so it seemed!) and a balcony. It was all spotless and the bed was HUGE, at least four pillows width.
A short walk in either direction is the Guggenheim or the new town. We crossed the park each evening, past the fountains, to our favourite bar - Guria :).
Hotel staff are very pleasant and also accommodating with info, booking taxi's etc. They do charge extra for breakfast (of course, if you are on room only) for 16 Euro but there are several coffee shops up the road.
We will be back!

Room Tip: higher the floor the better of course for the views - but I suspect none would be disappointing
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SmirkingPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very nice modern hotel, spacious, conveniently located, clean, friendly staff. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. Amazing quality of food for dinner. Underground garage. This hotel has unique architecture. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay there again should I be back in Bilbao

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor for a better view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rbmdnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews