We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice effort”
Review of Acuario de Gijon

Acuario de Gijon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.38*
and up
Gijon Aquarium Admission Ticket
Ranked #12 of 53 things to do in Gijon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the magic world of the aquarium of Gijon with this admission ticket. The aquarium recreates sixty different fresh water and natural marine habitats. A journey through the diverse ecosystems takes the visitor through the greatest diversity of marine fauna and flora displayed in a medium-seized aquarium in the world.
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We spent two hours on a rainy day here. Very nice effort, and a good value for 13 EUROS. (Compare with 28 USD at the Boston aquarium). Good exhibits, well kept and clean. Signs in English and Spanish.

Be advised that there is no easy parking close by. We parked in an uncovered, unpaved lot and walked about 6 blocks.

Comment: There is much educational material about pollution in the ocean, especially regarding discarded plastics. It is ironic, therefore that the gift shop has almost exclusively small crappy plastic toys and tourist mementos that will be broken immediately and discarded. Where? Please be more considerate when considering what to sell on your own premises.

Comment: Although we didn’t eat at the restaurant on the top floor, we went up and looked around. Nice balcony seating. Food smelled good, and for once it wasn’t the usual hot dogs and hamburgers. There was hot Spanish paella, for goodness sake, and the diners looked happy. Consider yourselves lucky, aquarium goers.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank medeir0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACUARIOD2, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acuario de Gijon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear medeir0s,

Thank you so much for your words. Actually we are just trying to avoid the single- use plastic in our shop and we have some ítems made of bamboo. Hope you find more If you come back to visit the Aquarium again and maybe you can try our tasty food!


Thanks again for your kind comments, we really appreciate it.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"rainy day"
in 6 reviews
"excellent aquarium"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"species"
in 5 reviews
"euros"
in 3 reviews
"tanks"
in 2 reviews
"toys"
in 2 reviews
"sharks"
in 2 reviews
"premises"
in 2 reviews
"tickets"
in 2 reviews
"spain"
in 3 reviews
"exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"ocean"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile


A marvelous and rich aquarium, with many varieties of fish. It's a pleasure to go around the maritime world .. to have or to see again absolutely, I had the impression to swim with the fish.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Raniazad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

One may say, it's just full of fish tanks. However this one is more of a tour around the our blue planet. It takes the visitors on a tour around local rivers, local seas, nearest ocean covering them all in a very easy and logical manner. It has an otter enclosure as well as penguin enclosure with areas where you are allowed to touch. Ideal for little ones and grown ups too. Lovely cafeteria at the top level with nice views over the bay and into the otter enclosure. Must visit if in town particularly on a rainy day!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank charo514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Really great collection of creatures: an otter, octopus, loads of sea horses, sharks, jellyfish, piranha fish, puffer fish, eels, and even a full grown loggerhead turtle. All creatures looked well cared for. Well worth €15 and English spoken.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Artlover123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Good place where to spend 1 hour on a rainy day in Gijon. The kids liked the place where you can touch some species.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Arnaud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acuario de Gijon also viewed

 

Been to Acuario de Gijon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing