We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highly Recommend this Tour

We really enjoyed this tour! Learnt a lot, very informative and the view, olive oil, wine and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ovaici
via mobile
Fun & Informative Tour

Really enjoyed the tour located in a small, historic village. Our guide was very knowledgeable of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mint427
,
Seattle
Read all 353 reviews
  
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
303
38
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
38
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting tasting room tasting session additional wine comfortable van tapas learned how sierra nevada mountain range jamon beautiful scenery spoke excellent english informative guide small group meeting point southern spain violetta oils
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

I booked this spur of the moment, while we were on the train from Madrid to Granada and was delighted that we could jump into a tour that afternoon. There was one other couple booked for the tour and the guide first brought the four of us to the olive fields, and then up to the old olive mill in Niguelas. She explained the water system (and the water in Niguelas tasted great!), and how the mill worked back in the day. After the tour we went for the olive oil and wine tasting, with lovely bread, meats and cheese. This was really fun and I wish I didn't have to worry about suitcase weight limits because I would have purchased plenty of oil and wine. Try the orange infused oil on bread with sugar! I think the whole tour, from pick up to drop off lasted about 3.5 hours. Our guide was very pleasant and informative, and there was absolutely no attempt to get us to buy stuff.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This tour is an example of a rare opportunity to see very old industrial equipment still in place and in workable condition--a village's olive oil production center (including a stone grinding room and two large wooden presses) that is intact after several centuries of use. Tour guide Violetta explained the workings of the machinery very clearly, as well as the production cycle of olive trees, the interactions of small farmers, and the processing of the olives. The tasting session was an added benefit. My late teens nephew really enjoyed the experience as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MSS-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Booked this tour a day before as we discovered we had some extra time in Granada. We received a prompt email response when we inquired about availability. We were picked up very close to our hotel and then picked up another family in our van. We were joined by a third family once we reached the orchard. Violeta was the guide and she was very pleasant and personable. We enjoyed the interactions with the other families as it was a very international group—Hong Kong and Oman. When we went to the tasting room it was set up very attractively and we sampled five olive oils with bread and learned a lot about them. We opted for the wine tasting as well and enjoyed tasting several wines with some tapas. We returned to our hotel by van. We purchased some of the olive oils to take home as souvenirs. Very enjoyable!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank MlpSgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Great way to spend a morning near Granada. Nice balance of education and tastings. Beautiful scenery and delicious tastings; bought most of my souvenir gifts here.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 977meganb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

I absolutely recommend for anyone visiting the south of Spain! Best tour I did in Granada by far. The guide was very informative, you see real tools and methods used in the 14th century to make the oil and tasting olive oils like the "professionals" was fun! You also have the option to buy great natural and organic olive oil products at the end of the tour. Again, FANTASTIC! :)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Maryse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews