We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
379
29
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
29
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel roof terrace old town small hotel recommend hotel welcome drink beautiful hotel molton brown toiletries home away from home romantic getaway memorable stay fresh fruit quiet street we loved our stay orange squash breakfast is served restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were recommended to go to Hotel Claude in Old Town Marbella and we were simply " Blown away" . It had the most relaxed , chilled , de-stress atmosphere of any Hotel we have ever visited - you simply wanted to sit down and put your feet up and enjoy the complimentary glass of bubbles .

You sometimes hear something described as a hidden gem , well I'm telling you that is a perfect expression for this idyllic retreat . If you are looking for something , quiet , quaint ,charming , filled with character and a totally non corporate feel with each room individually themed yet within walking distance of the fabulous restaurants of Orange Square aswell are Marbella central and seafront then this family run hotel offers all the personal touches you could ask for .

My wife and I have every expectation to make a return journey having been made to feel so welcome .

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Owner at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Paul D

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are thrilled to read that our "little Oasis"we had such positive impact on you and your wife. And that your "word of mouth" recommendation was "spot on".
Having traveled ( and still do) ourselves we wanted to create a special and warm place and share it with our friends.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your wife back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Franz Josef Willmes
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful.

We visited Marbella for the weekend and so stayed just two nights in Hotel Claude. The second evening of our stay my wife became ill (probably food poisoning from a restaurant by the beach) and consequently she was up all night. The night staff brought whatever we needed throughout the night and in the morning they arranged for a doctor when we decided we needed to call one. We were due to check-out and leave the room the next day but they let my wife use it until the early evening even though they were going to have to prepare it for someone else that evening - and when we finally left they were even good enough to supply a re-hydrating drink!

Well beyond the call of duty! Lovely people.

PS the hotel is very nice.

Room tip: Only saw our room which was not overly large but big enough and very pretty indeed with dual aspect shuttered windows.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank srsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Owner at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear srsparrow

Thank you very much for your nice review. We all hope you have fully recovered.

It is very rewarding to read your comments, especially the ones about the "fantastic people". Our staff , who make this place what it is. A home from home.
And all within the "call of duty".

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards
Franz Josef Willmes
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Only 7 rooms but so quaint the rooms all have names We stayed in Flamant which was actually quite modern but beautiful my daughter stayed in Oriental near the roof terrace.
Stellion was there to greet us very helpful nothing was any trouble for any of the 3 staff we dealt with during our 2 night stay.
The property is charming so much to see. Couldn't stop taking photos!
The breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and felt so private. The choice at breakfast is good and it's all presented so well. We had breakfast the second morning in the dining room and that was lovely too.
The bathroom had Molton Brown products and thick and soft towels.
Our rooms were a very good size and the bedding lovely.
The property is so central couldn't have wished for a better location amazing location.
My daughter did have a problem getting wifi in her room perhaps as its so near to roof terrace however we didn't have that problem.
I also did give feedback when we asked for coffee it came so promptly to our room but it was instant which was disappointing for me. We had welcome drinks in our room and it was all beautifully served on s silver platter with some nuts as well so well presented and lovely touches.
All in all though have to say it's a beautiful property very caring staff and attentive and we had a lovely stay there. Would certainly recommend it and go back and didn't find that it was so expensive after all we were in Marbella.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 936sophiap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Manager at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Sophia P

Thank you for taking the time and publishing such a nice review.

It is very rewarding to read such fabulous comments and we were thrilled to read that you and your daughter had an enjoyable stay with us. I shall share your comments with our staff as they are the key to our success.

I also have taken note of the comments regarding the instant coffee, which should not have happened. As to the WIFI, there are problem in some of the rooms, as we only receive about 6GB to the whole house. But hopefully this should be resolved soon, as the Old Town is getting fibre optic cables installed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Franz Josef Willmes
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We booked Hotel Claude through Tablet as I am a member and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hotel is in a great spot in the Old Town of Marbella and is surrounded by great little bars and super places to eat - mix between simple tapas and a Michelin Star restaurant just around the corner! The room was small but well appointed; nice bathroom and even had a small shared terrace that we worked on most mornings. Breakfast was simple with a small variety of choices but it ticked all the boxes. We loved the feel of the hotel - modern with some Spanish touches. The staff were all really friendly and the manager could not have been more helpful - he was always on hand to help out with taxi and restaurant bookings and even helped us to get the sought after beds at the popular beach clubs! Overall we were sad to leave Claude however we look forward to returning later this year.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drjasemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Owner at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear drjasemon

Thank you for taking your time to write this fabulous review.

I am delighted to hear that our little gem met, if not exceeded your expectations.
It is very rewarding to read that you had a relaxing time in our little "revamped townhouse" and enjoyed our as well as the neighboring gastronomy.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Franz Josef Willmes
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We have been going to Marbella for probably about 30 years and seen it change from a chic place to a bit of a tourist trap. Over the years we have moved from the big swanky hotels and thankfully found this lovely small boutique hotel which still has all the character and charm of old Marbella. It has a great location and excellent old style service.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Plantbasket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Claude M, Owner at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Plantbasket1

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I could not agree more as to the transition of Marbella over the years, but I believe we are at the beginning of a "small renaissance" of the Old Town.
We at The Claude believe in "chic" and especially in "old style service". "No" does not exist!

All we wished for, when we took on the project and converting my stepdads derelict old townhouse, was to recreate the grandeur and charm of the "old Marbella".

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards

Franz Josef Willmes
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews