We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
124
59
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
59
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pro shop malaga airport balcony overlooking lovely terrace town centre rooms are large standard room would stay again fantastic hotel long weekend old town fairways clubhouse taxi teeing spain
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

A very good golf course with perfect greens.
Hotel on the golf course, nice food and good rooms.
Close to Malaga Airport, we should used the pick up service from the Hotel, instead we rented a car - next time Pick Up service!
The food in the restaurant was very nice, service good - happy people.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Lars Christian L,

It is a pleasure to read your five star review regarding your recent stay with us here at Río Real.
We are delighted that you found our greens in top conditions, as well as the rooms and the food to your liking.
The hotel can provide transfer services to and from the hotel, and also to golf courses during your stay. We work with a very reliable transfer company that have been operating with Río Real for many years now.
Please feel free to contact us for future ocassions.

Sincere regards from the Team at Río Real Golf Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Despite aspirations to be a 5 star resort. This is essentially a golf course with adjacent accommodation. The course is nice but teeing areas were in poor condition. Rooms were fine, and quite spacious with good showers and a separate bath.

You need a car as quite isolated. The shuttle to the beach is good but does not run late enough. The hotel lacks a fitness centre, concierge and business centre as well as bar. Meals and room service come from golf club. We booked for dinner to find they had a function and were put out on the veranda despite dressing for dinner. Service was slow and off hand

Overall, nice and I would stay again but it needs work to be even 4 star
n

Room Tip: get golf course views and your own car
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tsingleton_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioReal, Manager at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear tsingleton_99

I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving us your comments regarding your last stay with us at Rio Real Golf Hotel.

The golf course was designed and opened in 1965 by legendary course designer Javier Arana and is not only an iconic golf course of Costa del Sol but also Spain. In 2001 Rio Real Hotel was built and inaugurated as a combined 30 rooms and suites Five Star Boutique Hotel designed by Spain’s prominent interior designer Pascua Ortega and joined the Leading Small Hotel’s of the World.

Although our management decided to temporarily lower the category of the hotel to 4 stars. Currently, and responding to popular demand from our clients management plans to return to 5 stars in the near future.

The hotel itself is surrounded on all sides by the golf course and is located a mere 15-20 minutes to Marbella town centre. You can count on the fact that upon returning to the hotel you are immersed in a tranquil and serene environment ideal to relax and unwind.

Maintenance works on a golf course are a norm, and we excuse ourselves if you may have felt encumbered. However, we do point out that during your stay we received congratulations from over 2,000 enthused golfers that finished their round in our spectacular Mountain & Ocean Golf Course.

We are proud to say that consistently Trip Advisor has awarded us with a Certificate of Excellence, which reflects on our commitment to fulfill our clients’ wishes and consistently achieve those wishes.

We look forward to receiving you soon again in Rio Real.

The Manager at Río Real Golf & Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This will be our 5th visit to the hotel and once again we enjoyed every minute of this. The staff are friendly and the housekeeping maintain the rooms to a very high standard (including cleaning floors every day and ensuring the room is fresh).

It was lovely to meet Drew the new hotel manager who provided us with many recommendations for places to go at night. There have been a few improvements since our last visit, such as a shaded seating area by the pool which is lovely.

We will return again, however, we might decide to rent a car the next time as the hotel is a €15 taxi journey each way to Marbella centre and this adds up if you wish to go into the town centre for lunch and dinner (€30-€60 a day round trips).

If you like to be in amongst the buzz of everything, this is not the hotel for you. However, if you enjoy peace and quiet away from the stereotype British tourist, this is the place to be!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioReal, Front Office Manager at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear StephanieER,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your most recent visit to Río Real Golf Hotel and have noticed our improvements.
With a relatively new team on board we are slowly making changes for the benefit of our guests and more importantly our repeat guests. Any tips or suggestions are always welcome.
We shall of course see you on your next visit to Marbella.

Sincere and warm regards from the Team at Río Real Golf Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Booked this for 4 nights as a golfing break. The standard rooms are large with a balcony overlooking the 11th fairway with good views towards the mountains. We very much enjoyed our stay although we had a couple of issues with the air conditioning but it did seem to work but just not that effectively. One rather strange thing was, in the large bathroom the toilet seat was an old pine one which did't fit the toilet, slightly odd.

The bar and restaurant had a lovely terrace where we spent a fair amount of time drinking wine in the sunshine.

The golf course was lovely, busy but not slow. There were some very interesting holes and the staff at the course were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioReal, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Jane57_12,

Thank you for reviewing your recent trip to Río Real Golf Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to do so.
We are pleased to read that overall you had a good stay although you had some 'minor issues'. We thank you for mentioning these as we can at least look into them.
The pine toilet seats is something we are aware of and we are currently looking into sourcing these and we are due a check of our AC units. We hope to have this cleared up.

Otherwise, you managed to relax and unwind on our terraces while enjoying the views over the golf course and mountains as well as get in a good game or two of golf on our golf course.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Team at Río Real Golf Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We had a long weekend here over the bank holiday. It is a beautiful hotel with stunning views of the golf course. The rooms are huge with everything you need except for complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. The staff are very friendly and eager to please. Breakfast was very good and lunch around the pool was excellent. The only criticism was that service was a little slow sometimes, it seemed as if they had a skeleton staff on; perhaps because the hotel was no where near full. The golf course was challenging which was good and very well maintained. They offer a free shuttle to the beach for anytime you need it. The hotel is luxurious and peaceful and away from the centre of Marbella which is great but taxis are expensive so I would recommend a hiring a car.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioReal, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Leigh M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us regarding your latest expeience with us at Río Real.

I am glad to read that all in all, your overall experience was 4 star satisfactory with only a few constructive comments, which I do appreciate, here and there.
The free shuttle is available only during the summer months, just to clarify this for hte rest of our future guests.
The golf course is indeed a challenging one but not at all that difficult. It is rather levelled so not many hills.

We are quite a ways from the town centre and yes a car or taxi is required to make your way into town. But you can guarantee a peaceful surrounding upon your return.

Again, thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future with us.

Regards from the Team at Río Real Golf Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews