We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,101)
Filter reviews
2,101 results
Traveller rating
1,137
778
137
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
778
137
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop pooldeluxe roomold townperfect locationlovely hotelsmall poolpicasso museumtapasan upgradechurrosmalaga cathedralbars and restaurantsreception staffcity breakcity hotellovely cityairport bus
Filter
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 2,101 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

This was a short extra holiday before main summer holiday in a few weeks time, as treat without the kids. Our deluxe room at front of hotel was large & airy & we can't fault the hotel for the big JCB hammering below on sewer replacement each day. Lovely modest pool & sun terrace upstairs but only 11 loungers available. Make sure to queue on 7th floor about 9.50 to secure yours when doors open at 10am. Only 5 couples were standing in line on Thursday morning...shame they removed all the old wooden loungers several years ago from the the other two terraces on 7th floor and below, to kit out a bar area that is out of bounds throughout the day, a poor commercial decision!
Never had breakfast in hotel but McD's is just around the corner for cheap & cheerful, or the French run Parisienne bakery at the far end of the park towards the marina is excellent. Would definitely return to this hotel & Malaga as it's an excellent relaxing location.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DJMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director Comercial at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

We are grateful for all your comments. We are glad to know that you liked the Deluxe Room and that could enjoy our pool and that you had a relaxing stay in our hotel in Malaga. We take well note about the issue that there is not enough space for taking the sun and we will try to add some loungers in the 7th floor terrace. We are very happy to know you liked the location of the hotel, from where you can really enjoy all the local attractions at walking distance. Next time you have to try our buffet breakfast too. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

My colleague and I visited Malaga earlier this week for customer meetings at the Technology Park just outside the city, and decided to stay 2 nights at the Molina Lario hotel, so that we could spend some time in the city itself.

The hotel is located in the centre of the old city close to the beautiful cathedral, with many good bars, restaurants and shops in close proximity. I had booked a superior room and stayed on the sixth floor. The room was a corner room, effectively in the eaves of one wing of the building with large sloping 'Velux' style skylight windows rather than more usual 'vertical' windows found in the rooms on the lower floors. My room was spotlessly clean, with a modern minimalist style, new flat screen TV, radio/CD unit and king-sized bed, with a large bathroom (with full bath with shower over) and separate annex with toilet and bidet. The room was really spacious and comfortable.

Staff at the hotel were polite and efficient, but to be honest, apart from partaking of the inclusive continental breakfast (lots of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal etc.), and having a couple of drinks at the roof top bar, I didn't use any other hotel services during my stay.

The hotel features a roof top bar and swimming pool area that is a nice spot to spend an hour or two of a sunny evening. However, the space available is quite limited, and is spread over a terrace on the 7th floor level, with the pool and bar area on the 8th floor level. The pool though is quite tiny, and there is limited space around the edge. They've done a good job with the available space and the views are great, however, if you end up having more than a few drinks, and it's busy up there, be careful you don't end up tripping and falling into the pool! ;-)

All in all, a nice place to stay with a great location. The only downside is that currently there is some major renovation and construction going on close to the hotel which means that there may be noise from around 9am until around 6pm on weekdays.

Oh, also thanks to the rather energetic couple in the room above mine for their rather noisy 'gymnastics' during the early evening my first night at the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkingEyeBandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director Comercial at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback as complet about your recent stay in Malaga. We sincerely apologize for the noise in the street outside the hotel, the town hall is doing some renovations and we really can’t do anything to avoid it. The same about the neighbors of the next room ;). We are glad to hear that anyway you enjoyed your stay and our buffet breakfast. We are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Delicious thick and icy Pina colada made in a blender on the roof terrace. Great views of the mountains and the cathedral. It was busy on the upper terrace with a do but very quiet on the lower deck- very nice. 8€ cocktail and 3€ wine was reasonable. Friendly staff too.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Hpidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director Comercial at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

We are grateful for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooftop terrace and that you had a relaxing stay in our hotel in Malaga. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Hotel is in a fantastic location in the centre of Malaga few steps away from the cathedral
We stayed in a superior room which I believe are bigger rooms. Our room was very nice with two single beds pushed together
There were one size fits all robes And slippers together with a small bottle of water for the first night.
The bathroom had a reasonable shower and included the normal shower and shampoos in addition to a shaving kit and toothbrushes. A decent hair dryer was also provided.
The room overlooked the building site called the street and the construction commences at 8.00am and looks like it will not be completed for some time to come. beware if you fancy a sleep in!
The air con worked well and was exceptionally quiet. Free wifi was provided and the TV was a good sized Samsung model.
Breakfast was good, however the breakfast room is quite small and is difficult to negotiate when busy.
All in all, very good and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Construction is going on outside hotel. Go for a higher room
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director Comercial at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback. We are glad to hear you liked our superior room. We try to provide our guests some little extras in the rooms and bathrooms. We are very sorry about the construction noise that there was in the street, we really can’t do anything to stop it and we sincerely apologize because early in the morning it can be very annoying. Thank you for all your nice comments and for recommending us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

RR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We stayed at the Molina Lario for three nights in May. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Apart from hard beds, the room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The pool at the hotel was lovely with brilliant views over Malaga. The hotel was very central and we were able to walk to all the main sites. bars and restaurants. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank No1gumshoegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director Comercial at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time in our hotel, we try to do everything that we can to make our guests feel relaxed and at home. We are sorry to hear the bed weren’t comfortable enough for you, but thanks to comments like yours, we are happy to inform you that we are gradually changing all the matrasses of the hotel. We hope you have the opportunity to stay again and try the new ones.

RR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews