We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice and varied golf course.

A nice course that I have played a few times over the years. Is always a nice experience and the... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
Göran F
,
Stockholm County, Sweden
Friendly service

Very friendly service from arrival to lunch and afterwards. Old course unfortunately had just had... read more

Reviewed 29 June 2018
GerardVentom
,
Central London
Read all 142 reviews
  
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
32
59
22
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
59
22
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairways and greens wide fairways golfers tee hole condition rounds occasions
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The old course is very pleasant, well maintained with all the amenities. I describe it as ‘gentle’ - wide fairways, bunkers yes, but hardly any other hazards. The course is easy to walk and offered a lovely day of golf without any excitement/fun.

Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dale B,

We are really happy to read your comment. Many thanks for sharing with us your experience in our Old Course and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is a nice course to play and a friendly starter, but the person in the reception is both unfriendly and not very service minded. This is why I give this golf course a “one star”! Needs for improvement.

1  Thank Per_Ivar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Old Course. Played Well (handicap 5 & 8) but found that the course needed some TLC. The tees, fairways were in poor conditions!
The pace of play was sooo slow! We were 3 to 4 groups to each holes! It is not acceptable and makes it difficult to keep your motivation to play. There was a Marshall but he didn’t seems to be at the front were he would have needed to keep the front moving!
We would not recommend it as there are much better courses in the area to play which are in great conditions!
We couldn’t wait to get away! We will not return!!!

1  Thank Fanny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Fanny,

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our course.

It is not a secret that Bermuda grass, a warm weather type of grass, does not grow during the cold months and tends to become brown during winter, which might give a bad impression. However, it is a total playable surface, only for the eye sight it might not be pleasant.

Also due to the fact that we are an environmental green thinking golf course, using only “recycled” irrigation water for the courses, the high amount of sodium (we did get almost no rain water these last 12 months) did not produce a good quality of reseeded winter grass. This also applies to all courses at the Costa del Sol that are using recycled water.

Atalaya Golf has contracted since 4 months a new maintenance consultancy company, they are working very hard on improving the courses, however sometimes it takes a while to see the improvements, the weather is unpredictable and influences a lot the quality of the courses.

in regards to the slow play, this was due to a tournament in front of your flight that lost a lot of time.

Atalaya Golf is happy to offer you two green fees as compensation, so that you can come to visit us anytime you would like.

Again, we apologise for your bad experience and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We played at the new course at Atalaya. From check in to check out we did not have much of a good experience here. We also got pick-pocketed at the course when we were playing.

1  Thank Vastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Mr. Vastis,

We apologise for your experience in our golf course, we are working to get pick-pocketers out of the course with the collaboration with the local police however it´s a difficult situation all over Europe.

Therefore we have in our caddy-masters the possibility to take a free-safe box for all the valuables of the players.

We will work on this to even improve more not only our fantastic Atalaya Golf courses but also our service.

Hope to see you soon back in order to have a talk with you and apologise for the nuisance.

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Came with member for visiting round on old course. Generous playing field, low risk of lost balls. Nice green areas. Intermediate finish. Nice facilities including great restaurant with views.

Thank Tobias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Tobias N,

We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day in our Old Course. Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews