We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing driving range and customer service.”

Atalaya Golf & Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against the stunning backdrop of the Sierra Blanca mountains, its two magnificent 18-hole courses - the Atalaya Old Course and the Atalaya New Course - are lined with mature eucalyptus trees, cactus and palms and pink and white azaleas that fill the air with an unforgettable and intoxicating scent.
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The courses have received plenty of reviews but I'm going to review the driving range. It has such potential and could be a thriving addition to the golf club but unfortunately it falls well below standard.

Positives are: Nice aspect. Feeling of space. Good distance. Covered and uncovered driving. Artificial and grass. Small coffee shop (when open). Toilets ( basic but clean) pitching and putting areas are fair.

Negatives: Fundamentally it's so badly managed. Balls are 1€ for around 12 mixed quality balls. Some are just dreadful. Pitted in places and desparetly need replacing.

The grass areas for driving are very rough and it's difficult to get good foot and ball placement. Even by rotating the area available to allow for grass recovery it still falls well below standard.

Customer service is a huge letdown. The manager of the driving range is not customer focused. I have been on the range 4 times in the last week due to its close proximity to my home but feel it's time to move elsewhere ( and there is plenty of choice). The manager is rude to visitors. He appears aggressive in tone. He gives lessons but appears quite disinterested at times and constantly texts during the lessons. I had one booked but cancelled and now use a private golf pro.

There is vast room for improvement! Spend a little money improving the turf, buy some new balls and send the staff on a customer awareness course. You could have a cracking setup with achievable improvement.

Top tip: Get a manager who is interested in the project.

1  Thank redparaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear redparaman,

We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your experience in our club.

The company which manage the driving range facilities is called Enjoy Golf Academy. Currently, they are painting all their facilities as the entrance wall, ball hut and fitting. Next week they will start with the varnishing of the "Chiringuito". That's the reason why you could have found messy the facilities.

About the practice balls, they have been completely renewed and the old balls removed from their use.

The "Chiringuito" is open from Monday to Friday from 9:30am to 5:30pm and at weekends from 9:30am to 2:00pm.

Thanks for your opinion and hope to see you back again,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 5 reviews
"wide fairways"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 15 reviews
"tee"
in 8 reviews
"hole"
in 8 reviews
"condition"
in 17 reviews
"rounds"
in 4 reviews
"occasions"
in 2 reviews
"marbella"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The old course is very pleasant, well maintained with all the amenities. I describe it as ‘gentle’ - wide fairways, bunkers yes, but hardly any other hazards. The course is easy to walk and offered a lovely day of golf without any excitement/fun.

Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dale B,

We are really happy to read your comment. Many thanks for sharing with us your experience in our Old Course and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is a nice course to play and a friendly starter, but the person in the reception is both unfriendly and not very service minded. This is why I give this golf course a “one star”! Needs for improvement.

1  Thank Per_Ivar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Old Course. Played Well (handicap 5 & 8) but found that the course needed some TLC. The tees, fairways were in poor conditions!
The pace of play was sooo slow! We were 3 to 4 groups to each holes! It is not acceptable and makes it difficult to keep your motivation to play. There was a Marshall but he didn’t seems to be at the front were he would have needed to keep the front moving!
We would not recommend it as there are much better courses in the area to play which are in great conditions!
We couldn’t wait to get away! We will not return!!!

1  Thank Fanny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Fanny,

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our course.

It is not a secret that Bermuda grass, a warm weather type of grass, does not grow during the cold months and tends to become brown during winter, which might give a bad impression. However, it is a total playable surface, only for the eye sight it might not be pleasant.

Also due to the fact that we are an environmental green thinking golf course, using only “recycled” irrigation water for the courses, the high amount of sodium (we did get almost no rain water these last 12 months) did not produce a good quality of reseeded winter grass. This also applies to all courses at the Costa del Sol that are using recycled water.

Atalaya Golf has contracted since 4 months a new maintenance consultancy company, they are working very hard on improving the courses, however sometimes it takes a while to see the improvements, the weather is unpredictable and influences a lot the quality of the courses.

in regards to the slow play, this was due to a tournament in front of your flight that lost a lot of time.

Atalaya Golf is happy to offer you two green fees as compensation, so that you can come to visit us anytime you would like.

Again, we apologise for your bad experience and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We played at the new course at Atalaya. From check in to check out we did not have much of a good experience here. We also got pick-pocketed at the course when we were playing.

1  Thank Vastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Mr. Vastis,

We apologise for your experience in our golf course, we are working to get pick-pocketers out of the course with the collaboration with the local police however it´s a difficult situation all over Europe.

Therefore we have in our caddy-masters the possibility to take a free-safe box for all the valuables of the players.

We will work on this to even improve more not only our fantastic Atalaya Golf courses but also our service.

Hope to see you soon back in order to have a talk with you and apologise for the nuisance.

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atalaya Golf & Country Club also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Atalaya Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing