We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor conditions and ever so slow!”

Atalaya Golf & Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set against the stunning backdrop of the Sierra Blanca mountains, its two magnificent 18-hole courses - the Atalaya Old Course and the Atalaya New Course - are lined with mature eucalyptus trees, cactus and palms and pink and white azaleas that fill the air with an unforgettable and intoxicating scent.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Old Course. Played Well (handicap 5 & 8) but found that the course needed some TLC. The tees, fairways were in poor conditions!
The pace of play was sooo slow! We were 3 to 4 groups to each holes! It is not acceptable and makes it difficult to keep your motivation to play. There was a Marshall but he didn’t seems to be at the front were he would have needed to keep the front moving!
We would not recommend it as there are much better courses in the area to play which are in great conditions!
We couldn’t wait to get away! We will not return!!!

1  Thank Fanny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Fanny,

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our course.

It is not a secret that Bermuda grass, a warm weather type of grass, does not grow during the cold months and tends to become brown during winter, which might give a bad impression. However, it is a total playable surface, only for the eye sight it might not be pleasant.

Also due to the fact that we are an environmental green thinking golf course, using only “recycled” irrigation water for the courses, the high amount of sodium (we did get almost no rain water these last 12 months) did not produce a good quality of reseeded winter grass. This also applies to all courses at the Costa del Sol that are using recycled water.

Atalaya Golf has contracted since 4 months a new maintenance consultancy company, they are working very hard on improving the courses, however sometimes it takes a while to see the improvements, the weather is unpredictable and influences a lot the quality of the courses.

in regards to the slow play, this was due to a tournament in front of your flight that lost a lot of time.

Atalaya Golf is happy to offer you two green fees as compensation, so that you can come to visit us anytime you would like.

Again, we apologise for your bad experience and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 5 reviews
"wide fairways"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 15 reviews
"tee"
in 8 reviews
"hole"
in 8 reviews
"condition"
in 17 reviews
"rounds"
in 4 reviews
"occasions"
in 2 reviews
"marbella"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2017

We played at the new course at Atalaya. From check in to check out we did not have much of a good experience here. We also got pick-pocketed at the course when we were playing.

1  Thank Vastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Mr. Vastis,

We apologise for your experience in our golf course, we are working to get pick-pocketers out of the course with the collaboration with the local police however it´s a difficult situation all over Europe.

Therefore we have in our caddy-masters the possibility to take a free-safe box for all the valuables of the players.

We will work on this to even improve more not only our fantastic Atalaya Golf courses but also our service.

Hope to see you soon back in order to have a talk with you and apologise for the nuisance.

Andrés Sánchez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Came with member for visiting round on old course. Generous playing field, low risk of lost balls. Nice green areas. Intermediate finish. Nice facilities including great restaurant with views.

Thank Tobias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Tobias N,

We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day in our Old Course. Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Very well maintained & professionally organised. Holes are quite close to each other so you hear 'fore' quite frequently. Greens in top shape, fairways very nice, No back tees, and front tees are very front so course plays very short. Nice experience!

Thank verheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear verheli,

We’re so very pleased you had a nice experience in our New Course. Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We preferred the old course. Hotel was exactly what we were after. Food in restaurant was spot on. Staff were all very helpful.

1  Thank AbiR503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear AbiR503,

Thank you for choosing us and for your fantastic review about our courses, staff and facilities.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atalaya Golf & Country Club also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Atalaya Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing