We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great decor, wonderful service and lovely setting”
other travellers have booked this property
WONDERFUL CHANTRY HOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
WONDERFUL CHANTRY HOUSE
Private villa with poolside bar ( stocked for your arrival ), Poolside BBQ, Poolside TV Sports
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
WONDERFUL CHANTRY HOUSE
Private villa with poolside bar ( stocked for your arrival ), Poolside BBQ, Poolside TV Sports
Pool side BBQ area
Both the pool and Jacuzzi area can be gated off.
Extensive gardens ...
Beautiful living room with double heigh ceilings  - ideal for entertaining.
Upstairs living room
A master bedroom in the main house
A twin bedroom
Upstairs lounge and dining terrace, with fantastic far reaching views
Second living room
Living room to the separate apartment, with kind size bed, sofa bed and kitchen area.
An impressive entrance
Jacuzzi side terrace with dining and TV.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Estepona, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natali D
Estepona, Andalucia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great decor, wonderful service and lovely setting”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I have stayed at Chantry House on a number of occasions and have also attended a party in the grounds. I work in Event Planning on the Costa del Sol and have recommended the house to a number of clients who have also loved it. The location is great as it is close to the beaches and Estepona Port but nicely nestled in the countryside. The decoration is REALLY gorgeous, it's what appeals to me every time, and the service faultless.
It's great for kids as all safety precautions are considered...but ideally I would recommend it for groups of friends wanting lazy days in the jacuzzi, fun days out in the surrounding area and peaceful nights in the sumptious rooms!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor, service and setting
Liked least: The road to the property has pot holes and not walking distance to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet evenings in the jacuzzi with a glass or three !!!!
Liked least: Going back to rainy UK.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed such a wonderful stay.
Hope to see you again here at Chantry House !!
Very best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cocorocks...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chantry house: run down and overgrown property.”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Positives; Large outdoor space, loads of fridge space; provided extra camp bed free and owner quick to respond to emails. On the negative everything was old and tired. Outside was very overgrown, the pond is unrecognisable and the BBQ area was a sight for sore eyes, even after it had been cleaned! Pool gates didn't close, but were fixed. Wires in pool lights hanging out. Hole/unsteady rock border in garden which is a disaster waiting to happen. Gardener left an axe for the children to play with in the garden along with kamagra jelly in the unlocked gardener cupboard! Wifi bit unpredictable with limited number of users. If u don't like insects, don't go. There were families of slaters in the bathrooms and other rooms, the worst was the small family room that was dark and dingy, often finding 6 every day in the one room! Main table in dining room unsafe although it was fixed during our stay. The granny flat had no storage facilities for clothes ( 2 moveable shoe cabinets, 6 inches wide by one metre high) Downstairs toilet seat and cysterin broken, although you need to be an acrobat to get in! Cobwebs everywhere and bed linen old and ripped although holes had been repaired. We organised extra cleaning, don't bother, as very unproductive and standard well below average. On the changeover day, cleaners didn't change towels as they hadn't brought enough! All in all a bit of a disaster and would be horrified for anyone planning a wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company we were with!
Liked least: The whole experience
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Your husband wrote a review last month detailing the points you have raised this month for the same stay! Please may I ask you to read / re read my response. I trust this will address all ...for a second time.
The cleaning staff cater for all my properties, and the approximate 70 guests I welcome each week. They are professionals. My client’s comments are important to me, and I shall pass yours to the staff. Excellence for my guests is my/our priority.
The pond at Chantry House has been allowed to dry out for security reasons,the palms allowed to grow. The house is not advertised with a pond.
The weddings held here at Chantry have all been very successful. My clients hold dear memories of their special day and stay. Your mention of weddings, I sadly find ungracious & disrespectful to my past guests.
I wish you the best in your future holiday homes. I am sorry Chantry House was not the right holiday choice for you. Hopefully you are now able to find closure.
The team and I look forward to our future holiday makers in all my properties.... here in the sun on the Costa del Sol.
Very best,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
falkirk
1 review
“very dissapointing ,photos disguise a very old and tired property”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

20 of us arrived in july from the uk , after travelling along a dirt track road we found the property, impressive entrance gates but thats where it ends general lack of maintenance and cleanliness two of the bedrooms were accessed through other bedrooms which is not explained so not suitable for different families ,broken slabs in patio area making it unsafe for kids,wall collapsing in garden,pool lights hanging out exposing wiring ,overgrown bushes in garden and pool area causing insect infestation,broken dining table and worst of all was the bbq area stayed in many villas in the costas over the years and this was definately the worst would not recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: the state of the outside pool and garden area
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2012
I am so sorry you feel the wrong selection was made from the choice of 5 villas you mentioned you had for your summer holiday.
It is a pleasure to address your points.
The gardens at Chantry House are mature, the herbs allowed to grow .The gardens were visited daily at 7 am by the garden staff to insure they were watered and tidied for your stay. Sun loungers unfortunately had to be retrieved from the bottom of the pool and toys/personal items collected to stop clogging of the filters.Pool and Jacuzzi water levels tested and chlorinated.
Your past correspondence did not mention a pool light and I was not alerted to a faulty pool light by the staff.I would have been delighted to have addressed this point at fist mention.
I was aware insects were found during your stay.I apologise.This is the nature of a Villa in the campo in Spain.Suggested was insect spray, widely available in all supermarkets.
I am so sorry that you found the BBQ not to your satisfaction.This issue as you are aware , was addressed immediately.
I am saddened that you feel the layout was not suitable for you.Chantry House is a villa of the Colonial style,offering 2 family suits... all clearly mentioned on the web adds.We were in communication 4 months before your stay,and I am sorry you felt unaware of the house configuration.
Accounts from the staff stated there were members of your party that mentioned liking the house greatly. Chantry House is a villa worth in excess of £1.5 million, and I can only apologise that you feel it was not good enough for you.
It is unfortunate that some members of your party stripped the bottom bark off the 100 year tree here in the garden, the Jacuzzi paint picked off and left in piles for my cleaning staff, the coffee table broken, and a Roman plinth in the garden broken,...however,thank you for your review on Chanrty House.
My clients views are all valued in order to strive for excellence in all my properties,and to insure memorable holidays for all my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing