We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Wonderful Dining Experience”
Review of Mr. Lian

Mr. Lian
Ranked #26 of 296 Restaurants in Kaiserslautern
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 October 2018

My family has been to Mr. Lian 5-6 times and each time has been an incredible experience. Not a cheap, fast food chain-style restaurant, but unique and magnificently delicious food that is fresh, well-prepared, and beautifully presented. The food choices are familiar enough for all fans of Asian foods, but also slightly different/upgraded to add a sense of adventure to something that seems so familiar.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank tobyd636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

The food is made to order and the presentation is great. Water was served ice cold and the food warm. They get busy so make a reservation! Outdoor seating is available, too.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This place gets a lot of rave reviews from local Germans and Americans. I visited the restaurant with some friends one evening.

If you accustomed to "real" sushi, as in how it's actually prepared and served in Japan, you will find this places EXTREMELY disappointing. Mr. Lians is no different than any other sushi joint back in the US. So if you believe sushi is all about the Boston Roll, Dragon roll, meatlovers roll, then this is your spot. If you're looking for sushi done the authentic Japanese way, look elsewhere.

To satisfy my own humor, I ordered some sushi rolls with fried tofu, and some regular assorted sushi. The sushi was not made right. The rice was too hard (likely undercooked), the clump of rice was not fluffed (too dense), the fish was dry and had most likely sat out for a while.

If you wan't some good sushi, drive up Dusseldorf.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Really great place with an amazing atmosphere. The food was great and served very fast with enough time in between appetizer and entrees. Really like the karma sutra platter!!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ethen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Not only is the sushi amazing, but they have great lemonade drinks (with or without alcohol) and pho. If I’m with someone else, I always get the Kama Sutra which is a huge platter of all different kinds of sushi. If I am with my female friends it’s enough for both of us. Usually with my husband well have to get a side dish. They have deep fried sushi which is hard to find. Get reservations for Friday or Saturday night. They are always busy. Cash only too. There is an ATM around the corner.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Lian also viewed

Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Mr. Lian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing