We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is real Yucatan”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
El Cuyo, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
vk123456
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is real Yucatan”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We always like to see typical local live and culture rather than spending our vacation in resorts and big cities. And this is exactly the place where you got it all.

An excellent location right on the beach, in a small village not yet discovered by mass tourism.

We loved our morning walks on the beach with very few people; enjoyed great local restaurants with excellent local meals; watched fishermen coming back to a small port, selling fresh catches and plenty of pelicans around them trying to steal some. So laid back place! We really loved it.

The accommodation itself has few small glitches, but if you talk to owner, he always help you to fix anything. It's a lovely, cozy place. Nothing super luxurious, but with a great charm. Local caretakers are nice, but don't speak nor understand English which led to some small misunderstandings - I should learn Spanish better!
We also had a problem with Wifi which didn't work, but nobody could sort it out as the Wifi is over cell signal and there were no cell data in the entire area. Guessing it was just a temp issue.
If you want to cook there, bring your own spices and detergent as there is nothing like that there. These are just small cons which didn't really affect our time at this place.

If you want to enjoy the real Yuatan, sun, beach and Mayan culture, this is the place! If I'm back to Yucatan, will rent this lodge again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Hola Vit,
thanks for your comments.
It still is the Real Yucatan,..you are right,...nothing for a spoilt 5 Star All -Inclusive Customer.
Thats why we elt in love with El cuyo as well,..its still authentic.
thanks for sharing your experiences, AND...if cel phone or internet doesnt work 24/7 or at high speed,..dont worry , be happy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern USA
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2014
Hola Tom and Jean,

Thanks for having taken the ime to write such a detailed Review of your Experience.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your 3 week Winter Getaway in our Casa Maya Lodge in January, and hope that you will return one day,..ust when you are in need of "just being".

Sunny regards from Paradise
Mattias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alanna I
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly One-of-a-Kind”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a truly one of a kind place to stay in the Yucatan Peninsula, this is it. We arrived late, late, late into the night after a white-knuckled drive through rain, wind and pot hole-laden roads. Notwithstanding our 3:30am arrival, caretakers Magally and Christian were graciously awaiting us with open arms--and a beautiful palapa-style apartment complete with warm lights on, and extra blankets at the ready.

The view from the balcony is fantastic, the doorstep beach hard to beat, and the town of El Cuyo itself a delight for those who enjoy going off the beaten trail. As luck would have it, we happened to roll into town just as two cold and windy storm fronts were making their way through the area, so we did find the "open air" design of the palapa (and shower!) to be chilly--though surely under any other time/weather condition that same design would be one of its most enjoyable qualities.

Thanks to the storm, the entire town lost power+hot water+cell reception for 2 nights, but again, the caretakers were quick to check in with us, and we could not have been happier to take Christian up on his offer to provide catering by candle light. Don't miss his shrimp ceviche--the best we had anywhere on our trip!

All in all, a great place to escape from it all. We left feeling that Matthias and co. truly care about making it a great holiday experience for their guests...and look forward to returning under better weather conditions!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great atmosphere, incredible views from private terrace
Liked least: Bad timing with the weather made for a breezy stay, including inside the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii, US
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;