We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveller rating
1,041
238
62
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
238
62
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanse stube leading hotels of the world piano bar train station the free mini bar beautiful hotel turn down service cologne cathedral five star hotel junior suite wonderful stay an upgrade rooms are spacious the location is perfect breakfast buffet is in december christmas market
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. It is like walking from the desert into an oasis. We went for lunch after touring he Cathedral across the street.

The lunch was awesome. Fresh. And relaxing.

While we were there the German hockey team was visiting. Quite the crowd.

We ate in the piano bar. Highly recommend

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NickellFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear NickellFamilyTravel,

thank you very much for visiting the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and for sharing your feedback with us.

It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Cologne that much. How lovely to hear that we managed to amaze you right away. This is a great motivation to all of us. We appreciate your comment and will be happy to share it with the whole team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Perfect stay, from the moment we entered the lobby until we left the hotel! Service at it's best: the whole staff is very, very friendly and 100% dedicated to every detail (and even beyond). We had a Grand Superior room: top of the line and equipped with all the pleasant goodies generating a memorable temporary residence. A home away from home. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night and didn't visit the bar or the gym. Food at the "Hanse Stube" was excellent combined with outstanding service. Our conclusion: we will stay here again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marc et Myriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Marc & Myriam W,

thank you very much for staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

Your review is a great motivation to us! We always strive to create a special experience for each guest and are delighted that we managed to do so during your visit. It has been our pleasure to have you with us and we are more than happy that you enjoyed your short visit to Cologne.

We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I have visited Cologne several times and this is by far my favorite hotel! The rooms are stunning, the location cannot be beat, and the staff are very friendly. Had dinner at the hotel's restaurant which was also fantastic, and the breakfast buffet is one of the best in Germany. Views from the rooms can't be beat. Probably the most luxurious hotel in the city, can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear merosg,

We thank you so much for choosing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst again during your stay in Cologne.

It has been our pleasure to have you with us and we are more than happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Every one of us strives to exceed our guest's expectations every day and I am very pleased to read that we have managed to do so during your recent stay.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Pros: Perfect location, upscale for sure, price was reasonable, great German food joint right next door - I mean really good food too, great staffing, modern but classy bathroom and slept perfect that night. Oh - and you get to keep what is left from the mini bar and it was full of good stuff. Cons: can't think of one and I would stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with a view of the Cathedral, we got one and it was Whooooaaa.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear csgregory,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.

We always strive to create individual moments for our guests and are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest standards of service. Rest assured that we have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team.

On behalf of the entire team we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The location is the best in Cologne. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the Cologne main station. Also, The hotel is located in front of Cologne Cathedral. The hotel is located around the best shopping area in Cologne.
The service was the best. The bell man pick us up in the platform of the main train station. It was very nice service.
The breakfast was good. However, bed linens and mattress was not really good as other services the hotel provided. Bed linens were very rough and mattresses was very cheap feeling. They should definitely change bed linens and mattresses.
The hotel is very quiet.
The piano bar's food was not really good compared with other services the hotel provided.
There is no pool. But, the hotel has very quiet gym and sauna with full of amenities. Also the mini bar is free of charge everyday including local Cologne beer. It is very good.. The excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsiorhotelernst, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear SGN C,

thank you very much for staying at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments here on TripAdvisor. It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cologne that much. This is a great motivation to all of us. We certainly have shared your comment with the whole team right away. We would also like to thank you for your honest and constructive critics. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback very seriously and as a chance to improve our hotel steadily.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel very soon and to convince you completely of our service and quality.

Kind regards,

Henning Matthiesen
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews