We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
112
213
129
41
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
213
129
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building city centre tassimo coffee maker residential block hotel location is good big buffet pleasant stroll pool and sauna the river minute stroll walk in shower sized room stayed longer small gym parking place quiet area an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We went here on our honeymoon and during the Csd (Pride) festivities. We stayed in the privilege room.

The people were friendly. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

The room: so big! Or rather bigger than what I’m used to. The large windows were nice and large and could open wide to let in the fresh air. The room was clean (which is an absolute must for me) and everything seemed new.

The facilities: this place has a gym and pool but unfortunately we didn’t have time to use any of them! Next time…
We did eat at the hotel restaurant for a candlelit dinner which was a nice touch and had a friendly waiter. We didn’t stay long as we wanted to head to the city centre for the pride festivities.

The location :located a few minutes walk north of the Hbf train station,and about 2 minutes walk to the Rhine River. It was a bit further north from pride festivity grounds at Heumarkt , but it made for a pleasant 20 minute stroll in the sunshine along the Rhine River.

Cons:
-they wouldn’t give us extra coffee pods. We drank them the day before as we had a long day of travel. Coffee pods seems like such an odd place to cheap out on
- the location/distance could be an issue but really it’s not that long of a walk (check on Google maps). I prefer to be a bit away from the busy noise anyways.

Overall:
Recommended! Great quality to price ratio, especially if you are part of their “Le club Accorhotels “loyalty program, which I am. The room we were in was rather large, staff friendly. The location is a walk away from centre but it’s a pleasant stroll along the river (I think there’s also an U-Bahn stop but we didn’t use it).
My only wish is that they gave us coffee again and that we stayed a little longer!

Maybe again for next year!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DJVD-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Jr. E-Commerce Managerin at Mercure Hotel Koln Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It was great fun to read!
Also congratulations and all the best for your wedding.

We are looking forward of welcoming you back next year!

Kindest regards
Your Mercure Hotel Köln Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine S, Jr. E-Commerce Managerin at Mercure Hotel Koln Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed at the hotel for a 2 night city break. The hotel was around 15-20 minutes' walk from the central station. Like other reviews, as the hotel is across 2 sites across the road from each other (with the main building seemingly attached to a residential block with its own entrance), the main reception wasn't the easiest to find.

Checking in was pretty simple. The room itself was very spacious with a Tassimo (coffee/tea pod) machine, minibar but no safe. WiFi was free and pretty fast for general web browsing. The TV had a few English (mainly news) channels but BBC World News did not work. The bathroom had no bath but a walk-in shower. The air conditioning was fairly weak on what was a very hot bank holiday weekend.

If you needed to, reception sold essential toiletries and snacks/drinks. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (it was an additional 21 Euro per person per day!) or use the indoor pool, but the pool did look inviting.

In terms of the location, the hotel is in a more residential area. There are some cafes/shops/restaurants as you take the side roads towards the station, but the more busy area of town is on the other side of the train station, behind the cathedral.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Jr. E-Commerce Managerin at Mercure Hotel Koln Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Ronnie,

Thank you for taking your time for this kind feedback.
It was great fun to read!

We are looking forward of welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards from cologne
Your Mercure Hotel Köln Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

This is a slightly tricky review to write as while there was nothing wrong with my stay at the Mercure per se, there are bits of this hotel I'm not keen on.

Starting with the cons:

- It would be useful if the hotel made it clearer when booking that (as a few other reviewers have noted) the complex is in two buildings, either side of a street. People were peering into the lobby of the satellite building wondering how to get in, and the signage needs to be much clearer. The satellite block itself looks like a 1960s block of flats, and is pretty unattractive.
- The health club - which is in the main building - is small and quite dated, with the sauna now chargeable according to the notices posted on the walls. Lockers (essential if you're staying in the satellite building) require a stonking €10 deposit, and the pool - while fine - is nothing to write home about, a 15-metre dimly-lit affair, although it was clean.

The pros:

- The room was of a four-star standard: modern decor, spotlessly clean, decent bathroom, free water and Tassimo hot drink pods. TV was fine, but a good number of channels (including BBC World News) had no signal. The pillows were also far too soft for my liking, but everyone's taste is different.
- The location: 15-minute walk to the Cathedral and central train station.
- The price. I booked my room the night before I arrived on the Accor website, and it was one of the cheapest available in Cologne that night at about £40. By comparison, the other hotels in this price bracket looked a lot worse.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomhourigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Jr. E-Commerce Managerin at Mercure Hotel Koln Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Tom,

Thank you for bringing your personal experiences in our hotel to our attention.
We already shared your impressions with our team.

We would be pleased if you choose to enjoy our hospitality and our friendly atmosphere during your next stay.

Kindest regards
Your Mercure Hotel Köln Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Nice clean hotel in a quiet residential location. Good breakfast as usual with plenty of choice. Reasonable distance from main city centre.

Bathroom and room clean and tidy.Reception very helpful.Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Jr. E-Commerce Managerin at Mercure Hotel Koln Belfortstrasse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
It was great fun to read!

We are looking forward of welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards
Your Mercure Hotel Köln Belfortstrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews