We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
39
61
29
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
61
29
13
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is well located. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs and it seems to be very popular since it was always crowded. My room was very large and spacious. Generally a great place to stay. Right behind the hotel is a street with plenty of bars, shops etc.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We spent only one night in the hotel. It is very nice and modern. It is an "art" hotel so decoration was cozy. It was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The only problem was that the room was super-hot during the night (summer period), and there was no AC. We had to open the window - facing the crowded Bermuda street where all the bars and pubs are - and it was Friday night, so it was very noisy and took us some time to sleep. Apart from this issue, great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ignacio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014

For some reason Bochum hotels are all on the expensive side. Odd really as the town's charm is not immediately perceptible. Tucholsky tries to mark itself out as cool, contemporary and designer but quite frankly I found it rather spartan and not very comfortable. And expensive. I should probably should have been wowed by the two contemporary paintings on the walls but would have happily forgone the art gallery experience for a bed that wasn't quite so hard, a more comfortable chair at the desk rather than a simple school one (or was that also designer?) and internet access that worked. Wardrobe space was great for storing socks and hanging jackets and coats but not much else. The bathroom excelled in design and failed on practicality - a shower curtain that was too short (great for mopping enthusiasts) and nowhere to put shower gel though I should add that the shower itself was very good. Around the basin there was also nowhere just to put your stuff and just a couple of hooks for towel rails.
Breakfast is extra and costs 10 Euros. Unusually for German hotels they don't have a buffet but ask you to order what you want from a menu and it is prepared specially for you. It is all good but it is worth asking for a proper coffee rather than letting them bring you weak filter stuff. Next time I might stay elsewhere and drop in here for breakfast. It is also worth mentioning that there isn't a lift.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Harykert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Don't stay here if you're sensitive to "entertainment noise breakout". As previous reviewers have noted, this hotel is located in the so-called Bermuda Triangle - Bochum's party zone - where the street to the rear is lined with bars, nightclubs, etc, all with outdoor tables.

I had the misfortune to be allocated Room 301 at the front, which seemed fine until I realised it shared a party wall with Sam's nightclub, which stays open until 5am at weekends. Thump, thump, thump - it was actually structural noise, coming through the wall. If I didn't have ear plugs, I wouldn't have been able to sleep at all.

When I reported this in the morning, a very helpful young woman at reception (which, bizarrely, is located in the hotel's bar) kindly found another room - a much larger one, in fact -- and I moved there for my second night. In general, the staff were great. And the poached eggs I had for breakfast were as good as you'd get anywhere.

But the noise ... oh dear!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fmcd-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good room, spacious bathroom, super-friendly staff! But if you want to sleep this is the wrong place. There os noise u'ntil late, so you cannot open the windows. And if they are closed it is hot hot hot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews