We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,861)
Filter reviews
2,861 results
Traveller rating
1,574
859
288
96
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,574
859
288
96
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room canal view modern hotel perfect location city hall neuer wall nespresso machine five star hotel an upgrade great room excellent hotel junior suite comfortable beds spa area beautiful city business trip public transport
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,861 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Centrally located with easy access to the underground rail network. Friendly and helpful staff. A special welcome drink was available on arrival.
Just how a hotel should be.
The rooms are nicely designed and decorated in a modern style with thoughtful lighting and everything you expect from a hotel of this standing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianW3487, Director of Sales at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Simon F,

Thank you very much for your great review regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear, that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and could enjoy all the service and perks we offer. Most important, we thank you for your feedback regarding our staff and will forward it.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Sebastian Werner
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Brilliant hotel room was lovely and clean. Very impressive decor and furnishings. Did not eat or drink in the hotel so no review of bar/ restaurant. Best thing about this hotel is the pool and spa which is lovely. One of the nicest I have used for a city break. Also open for long hours unlike other hotels around. Staff really nice and helpful too.

This hotel is in a lovely area of the city which reminded me of Mayfair London. Shops are top brands LV, Rolex dealers etc.

Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank michaelf193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianW3487, Director of Sales at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Michael F,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are more than happy to hear, that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Moreover, it is glad to hear that you cherished our beautiful spa and all teh service and perks we offer. Most importantly, we are very happy about your feedback regarding out hotel staff. Every day we try to do our best to ensure our guests can experience the highest quality of service possible.

Best regards,
Sebastian Werner
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This hotel is in a great location to explore the city while also being quiet. The staff members provided friendly, helpful service. Our room was a generous size with all of the amenities needed. Breakfast is delicious with many options which is customary for a Sofitel hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianW3487, Director of Sales at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Claire D,

Thank you very much for your positive review.We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. We are very happyabout your feedback regarding our hotel staff. Every day we try to do our best to ensure our guests can experience the highest quality of service possible.

Best regards,
Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We were very happy with our choice of hotel. We were looking for bed and breakfast for our city break, the room was excellent and the breakfast also very good, exactly as advertised. The stay was good value compared to alternatives and ideally located for us near to the city centre.

For Brits, just be a little careful if you intend using the steam room, in Germany the norm is for this to be used without swimming gear. That took us a little by surprise.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianW3487, Director of Sales at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Bob E,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, it is glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing which was possible during your stay in Hamburg.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel and indulge you with our outstanding, individual service.

Best regards,

Sebastian Werner
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

5* Hotel offering what you expect, professional service, cosy spacious rooms, good breakfast buffet...shops,restaurants and attractions nearby, bike rent...some quiet ground floor rooms just above the canal, outdoor sitting area, next to S-Bahn public transport,direct line to airport...
Single critic (on high level): at breakfast we were directed to the main room, without windows instead of sitting in the veranda for reasons of “setting up the lunch tables”....in this hotel category i’m used to pick my sitting area on my own...everything else no special remark...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JFLA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebastianW3487, Director of Sales at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear JFLA2014,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. It's indeed one of our great perks of staying in the middle of the city and being able to enjoy a quite stay by the water at the same time.
Every day we try to do our best to ensure our guests can experience the highest quality of service possible. We are very sorry for the inconveniences regarding the breakfast and hope that you give us the chance to convince you with our outstanding service next time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sebastian Werner
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews