We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
414
77
27
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
77
27
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lime tree max liebermann austrian wines city shuttle big ships a busy main road main reception main restaurant shuttle service writing desk breakfast was delicious rooms are spacious hotel is located excellent hotel elbe luxury kleines
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed in a standard room for 5 nights while visiting family in Hamburg. The room faced the garden but was very comfortable. There was a small sitting room/closet area and a large bedroom. The bathroom was large and well-appointed. The hotel service was impeccable and we found nothing lacking. The daily breakfasts overlooking the Elbe were sumptuous and the rooms are serviced twice daily. A truly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views face the Elbe but they are considerably more expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, General Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Peter A.,
thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at the Louis C. Jacob and hope that you have the chance to visit us again soon.
Best regards
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I just had the pleasure of staying at this gorgeous hotel.

What a delightful place right on the river.

The General Manager introduced himself to everyone at breakfast and told us about the hotels history and was so welcoming and gave us a top recommendation close by for lunch.

Rooms are spacious and bathrooms enormous and have the softest bathrobes and fantastic towels.

Breakfast was delicious and you are spoilt for choice.

Drinks on the terrace a must.

Loved this hotel and it's warm welcoming staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Susie27868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, General Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Susie27868,
thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure meeting you the other day. I remember it quite well and hope that you had a delicious Wiener Schnitzel.
We all hope that your way leads you again to Hamburg in the future to give us the chance to welcome you back again.
With warm regards
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Beautiful enchanting hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I stayed for one night and wished I had been able to stay longer. Everything was superb, the service felt genuine and real, the breakfast was a treat, presented in an airy room with a wonderful view on the Elbe. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PatriciaW2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, General Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Patricia W.,
thank you very much for taking the time to write this short and wonderful review about your experience with us and also for the high rating you gave us. We are very happy that you felt welcomed and well treated and looking forward to your next visit.
Yours
Jost Deitmar
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except that it's an expensive 20-minute taxi ride from the city center. (For longer stays one would investigate the "City Shuttle" or public transportation.) Some of the hotel's many good points are the finely furnished rooms, lovely neighborhood, views of river and villas, artwork on the walls, excellent restaurant, and good breakfast. The road along the river has a certain amount of traffic noise, but I didn't find it bothersome. Jacob's is definitely a choice to consider if you don't have to stay near the center of town.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fanoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Dear Luxury Traveler:

It is with great disappointment that I write such a review on The Hotel Louis Jacob.

My partner and I have stayed at the Hotel Louis Jacob for years and have experienced a superb level of service up to 2016.

In 2016, the Hotel standards have unfortunately dropped to a level that is no longer acceptable. We experienced the following:

- Food and Beverage Dept. experience demonstrated attention in detail lacking, including the inability to book a table at the Bar without systematically reminding the Front Office of the request. Furthermore the staff show a level of arrogance which is unacceptable.

- Systematic uncleanliness of the room (dirtiness of curtains, shower rims covered with lime). Moreover, despite requests for turn down service to occur after a certain period, the Housekeeping staff does not honour the request;

- Inconsistencies in service level (ie. shoe polish service not systematically performed) despite the Hotel's policies of automatic service of dropping the shoes in the area requested

- Although the breakfast, if included, can be ordered to the room, I have experienced the moment where after a wait time of 50 min and yet another complaint, the excuse is the waiter delivered the food in the wrong room but did not inform her supervisor of this mishap.

As an international lawyer traveling in many Leading Hotels of the World, this property is the most appalling in failure to remedy to service failure. Moreover, despite onerous amounts of funds spent (on an average of Eur 375 per night) there are other properties in the downtown core which can better suit the traveler.

In terms of management oversight and despite repetitive failures of service, the General Manager does not seem to comprehend the lack of service or does not wish to give it the attention it deserves.

As there are many other properties in the City of Hamburg, the off peak room price is simply not worth the investment.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Nbanerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, General Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Mr. Banerjea-Brodeur,
obviously your last stays with us were not to your satisfaction, what I deeply regret. Please see my Email which I have sent to your personal Email account.
Best regards
Jost Deitmar
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews