We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
29
64
24
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
64
24
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator top floor central station minute walk brothel balcony kinky city furniture privacy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Unfortunately I only had a hostel room which isn't very interesting, but doing a bit of research I saw there are a lot of rooms left with the decor from the hotels kinky past (it was one of Hamburg's most popular and upscale brothels in the 70s and 80s).
The rooms are used for photo shoots for fashion and Hamburg lifestyle.
Both members of staff that I came across were friendly and forthcoming, The breakfast was outstanding. A true northern German spread.
If you ever make it here, pay the extra for a real room and not the hostel/shared bathroom one. The experience will be so much better.
Oh, and the location is amazing, too. Just a 5 minute walk from the main train station.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the real room and not the hostel/shared bathroom one
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinMaschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hello Christin, thank you for the great review. And of course thanks for your visit in the Hotel Village. Hope to see you again soon ;-)

Regards, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

A little gem of a hotel. Warm, friendly and interested staff. Cosy, funny rooms. And great value for money.

We had two great nights in this little hotel in the center of Hamburg. We had one of the top floor rooms with a balcony. A fun and kitschy room - though as the toilet doesn’t allow for much privacy, perhaps not the best room for a first date...

The hotel’s interior design is wonderfully camp and eclectic. It’s an old charming building with a lot of stairs and no elevator. So if you got a bad hip, you should probably request a room on the lower floors.

The breakfast buffet has everything you could wish for, including boiled eggs cooked to order. The staff is helpful and will gladly advice you on which sites in beautiful Hamburg you absolutely must visit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Yes, there is no elevator. The stairs are steep and it’s a trek all the way to the fifth floor if that is the room you’re assigned, so if your legs or health are poor, let them know when booking. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy (but it’s right next to the station so that is expected) and the furnishings are not to everybody’s taste.

But the staff is exceptionally friendly (we met the young man from the evening reception shift and the breakfast lady), the owner a young and enthusiastic entrepreneur, and the breakfast has every bit of attention to detail that is often lacking in other places. And what a unique opportunity to stay in a place that so richly embodies the history of the city!

The rooms are uniquely decorated and don’t hide the fact that this was a house of ill repute in former days. It adds a playfulness to the whole interior and the stay, but it’s never vulgar. Red velvet, gold colored furnishings and lots of mirrors will remind you in case you forget where you are. We thought it was a lovely tribute and a tip of the hat to the many hardworking women that crossed its threshold, and who formed such an intricate part of Hamburg’s history.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NHB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Manager at Hotel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you so much for the detailed and beautiful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I booked one night stay in this hotel to visit my uncle who lives in nursing home . I made my booking through booking.com an asked for first floor room because I was just recovering from knee surgery. When I arrived the receptionist was not interested except in my credit card and after he got the card he handed me the keys for a room in the fourth floor and said he had no other room. I was disgusted. The room is miserable, not clean. The toilette and shower is extremely small and you cannot keep you clothes in

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank makmassoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello Sir,
thank you for the Review. Sorry sir but on your booking over booking.com we never got any Information about your knee Problem. In the night when you arrived to the Hotel it was our only and last free room (which was reserved for you).
In the Hotel description is written that the Hotel do not have an Elevator.
Unfortunately we didn´t got the Information from you otherwise we definately would like to reserve aroom for you in lower floor.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

the house where the hotel is located has been a brothel - the style and furniture have been preserved so you feel like in the old times; most of the staff was very attentive - some not; rooms where tidy, small with much red - the ones in the 5th floor offer small roof terraces; but beware: the is no elevator available - the stairs are steep; located next to main station (underground, intercity trains and long distance trains reachable within 5min walking distance); to main square/inner city about 15mins walk; breakfast was on average

Room Tip: 5th floor - roof terrace
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elmar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray K, Manager at Hotel Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you Elmar W. for your Review. We hope to see you soon again. Regards, Hotel Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews