We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, typical, romantic, berliner ”
Review of Schildkroete

Schildkroete
Ranked #552 of 9,688 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Charlottenburg
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

The outside and the decoration inside gave told us to get in there.
The music of the 20th. which one can hear discretely throws you back in the past. This is what people are looking for in Paris in vain.

The food is served swiftly and tastes very good.

Service is discreet(not unfriendly)

If you want to take your beloved one somewhere, this could be the place to impress her/him.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Alexander640B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2018

I ordered Curry wurst and didnt like it the sauce was all ketchup, and the sausage was not that great, i should've ordered the duck. My friend ordered it and it was so nice
But overall the atmosphere was nice we saw many locals there

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ariukaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

What an amazing, vibe, what good food (Eisbien /schweinshaxe). This is too die for. Food is fairly priced just off Kurfustendamm road in Berlin, this is a must stop if you really want to enjoy a Traditional Schweinshaxe. I will make sure that i go there every year, it really is that good. A absolute must!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited as couple in April 2018. Found this whilst wandering past to our hotel and decided to pop in as it looked warm, friendly and inviting. We popped in to ask to book a table and although their English wasn't great they said they would manage it. We arrived and were ushered to a small table at the front of the restaurant to eat. The place itself looked much smaller than it was. The back of the restaurant was much more open, but still had the cosy feel.

We ordered a rose and German beer. I am told the beer was rather strong. The Rose was lovely. We then shared a breaded Camembert with fruit and bread which was delicious. Both then opted for the authentic Weiner schnitzel - magnificent! Really tasty with mushrooms and potatoes! Washed down with a few more drinks.

The place itself is lovely, staff attentive and friendly. We didn't wait long at all for drinks or food - the perfect time really. For 3 drinks each, a shared starter, 2 mains and the best apple strudel I have ever tasted (with custard!) it was a very reasonable €72!

Highly recommend! Don't be put off by the German feel from the outside - it adds to the atmosphere and I bet you'll have a fantastic evening!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Very cosy inside. Unfortunately, the food is no good. Dried out jägerschnitzel, the mushrooms where not well tasting. Normally I love the mushrooms, but here, very boaring stuff. So go there for a beer, athmosphere is good, and drop the food.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schildkroete also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Schildkroete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing