We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,506)
Filter reviews
3,506 results
Traveller rating
2,068
1,246
152
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,068
1,246
152
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews checkpoint charlie privilege suite family suite check point charlie great hotel quiet street separate toilet coffee machine around the corner huge room within walking distance excellent location unter den linden sitting area shower room superior room small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 3,506 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015

The room was clean, well decorated and perfect for our stay. Location was also good being close to Checkpoint Charlie as well as the underground. Evening food was disappointing but made up for by a substantial breakfast. Staff (especially the barman) were very helpful and friendly.
Would definitely stay here again but if you do stay make sure you have restaurants to eat out at night.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela B, Front Desk at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Let's start with the room - it was very spacious, however was ageing, which was especially visible in bathroom. There was also some not to prominent (yet detectable) unpleasant smell.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good - they have a very good selection of tees.

Location was quite good - walking distance to Friedrichstraße and Stadt Mitte U-Bahn station (with 2 intersecting lines) provided a solid base for exploring Berlin. It's also reasonably close to Checkpoint Charlie, but unfortunately we didn't spend too much time in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Adam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela B, Front Desk at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We booked a family room for 4. The family room was actually 2 separate bedrooms joined by a passageway with bathroom and toilet. Spacious and comfortable, with coffee facilities and in-room safe, and a small balconey in the master. We stayed in Room 723, which was next to the gym and sauna.

Restaurants and Checkpoint Charlie within a 3 to 5 minute walk, Potsdamer Platz with the Mall of Berlin a 15 minute walk.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Aloise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela B, Mercure Team at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Dear Aloise L

Thank you for taking time to rate us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and liked our spacious rooms. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay in Berlin and in our house.

With best regards
Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights mid-December for the Christmas markets. The frontage of the hotel looks a bit drab due to being located in a very ordinary looking building on a side street, but this is deceptive as the hotel is actually lovely. We had a superior room which was huge. The room was comfortable and clean with a great shower and separate toilet. It even had a balcony. Although it was December the room was a little warm if anything. The only drawback was that there was no kettle for tea-making. There was a coffee machine, but no good for making tea and a bit complicated, as we'd never used one like it before. We could have asked the staff though so really our own fault, I guess.
The location of the hotel is great. Very near many of the tourist sites and great for the Christmas markets. A lot of places we wanted to see were within walking distance, but public transport is so good, we went a little further afield to Spandau. Lovely little town and another great market.
We loved Berlin. Still many old buildings to see, but also lots of great modern architecture.
We plan to visit again, probably at a warmer time of year when the city is greener. We would definitely stay at the Mercure Checkpoint Charlie again!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was huge and lovely. Not sure about standard rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaby19612015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela B, Front Office at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear,

Reading your comment was a pleasure for us! We would like to thank you for this lovely comment about our rooms we are also proud of them especially the rooms with balcony. We are delighted that you could enjoy them. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. If you have any questions or wishes you could also call us from your room, our staff would love to help you :-)

We also wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Looking forward to see you next year!


The Mercure Hotel&Residenz Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

This hotel's website really does not do it justice. We had a Privilege Suite with two bedrooms a balcony, living area and separate toilet and bathroom. It was so spacious and clean and had every home comfort that you would expect like dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries. I agree with other reviews that the towels are a little old and not all that fluffy. The room was also incredibly hot even thought the heating did not seem to be on and we were surprised to have to open the window in December.

The hotel is in a great location with loads of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby. The nearest subway station was only a 5 minutes away and you could walk to a number of the main places of interest like Checkpoint Charlie, Potsdam Plaza and the Topography of Terror. The hotel bar was a nice place to relax in the evening and the staff were very friendly.

I would stay here again for the location and the lovely rooms. It was very quiet and comfortable and so we had a great nights sleep.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank HelenH122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela B, Front Desk at Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Your Mercure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews