We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
157
141
51
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
141
51
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room games room air hockey decent room no record of our booking tauber valley location location room was pretty small window table old town comfortable bedroom great parking would stay here again wished we had stayed longer bus tour private parking christmas market
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The person at the front desk, who was either a manager or the concierge, could not have been more awful to deal with. Rothenburg is a lovely and charming town, but this was the worst possible introduction to it. Our train was late, so we were delayed overnight. When we attempted to have a conversation with the manager she became irate--before we had five words out of our mouth---and started shouting at us. All we wanted to do was check in and get some rest. When I responded to her she grabbed the keys to the rooms, stormed into the office, and shut the door. She then attempted to charge us for the two nights anyway, even though we were denied access. We wound up staying in an AirBnB across the road. Avoid this hotel--there are too many others, and they all have similar amenities, and it's hard to NOT have a good location inside the walls because the town is small. It is packed with tourists during the days in summer, but many leave by 6. The Night Watchman tour is fun--do that for sure. We would definitely go back to Rothenburg, but will never stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

That is what you give up here for a great location - very noisy night as people walk by constantly as they come home from the bars. Staff was ok but I wouldn’t call them super friendly. We came on a tour so they seemed overwhelmed by us.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Puzzled66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Rothenburg on our way to Austria, recommended by our travel advisor. The hotel is conveniently in the old center and has (paid) parking close by. Hotel itself seems to have an old and new part. We stayed in the old overlooking the street, which without AC in the room was a horror as we stayed when it was 30+ outside and inside not much better. So open window was not by choice but a must even moved the bed close to the window to get a minimal movement of air. With the open window we where treated to loud noises from the street, including drones, police cars, and of course many a loud tourist.

Internet connection was non existent other then at the door and then still poor. Breakfast was ok, scrambled eggs dry. Interestingly enough the breakfast room was set per room so we where assigned a tiny table for 3 persons. Only preferred guests where apparently allowed to enjoy the view?

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alonso63700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

1. Common problem in many hotels - they claim to have WiFi but it does not work when you get to your room.
Just because your mobile device shows some WiFi bars - it does not mean that the WiFi actually works.

2. Extra fee for WiFi

3. No screens on windows

4. Very small bath towels

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Having read recent reviews here, we were dubious about what to expect at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. But our experience was 100% positive throughout. A very impressive foyer, a charming receptionist and a very large and comfortable bedroom with a private sitting area leading off it. And a BBC news channel on the television! Breakfast was more than adequate, served in a dining room with wonderful views over the Tauber valley. We highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews