We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
40
25
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
25
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toiletries ellmau spa facilities alps lake balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We had the Sissi room which was large and comfortable and had stunning views of the lake and the Alps. The facilities is the room were nice. The hotel has a nice spa area, with both indoor and outdoor sauna, and a lovely pool. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room tip: Best views towards the front facing the lake and mountains.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IE-StephenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas E, Marketing-Assistent at Biohotel Eggensberger, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Mr. Stephen,

Thank you very much for your stay in our Biohotel. Nice, that you were our guests and felt so comfortable.
With sunny greetings and best regards from Germany.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

After travelling the romantic road, we stayed 5 nights at this hotel, from first contact at reception we felt at ease , and things just got better, the room was large with all we needed, living area ,king size bed , shower and bath very modern and clean, meals were a delight , you could have free use of electric bikes if you wished, but we hired pedal bikes and cycled around a large lake, through lovely meadows and to Neuschwanstein castle, with the alps in the distance very scenic, all the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, we our hoping to return and make use of the spa ,sauna and pool , for us it was a very enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reginald58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas E, Marketing-Assistance at Biohotel Eggensberger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Reginald,
Thanks for the praise and "surprise at the organic kitchen" as well as the praise for the king card where you have had free use of electric bikes etc.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Biohotel.
Best regards from Germany,
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We stayed at this hotel while touring with Astrid Bauer's European Castles Tours. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a balcony with a gorgeous view of Hopfen am See lake and the alps beyond. There was no air conditioning, which really wasn't needed, as you could leave the balcony door wide open (no bugs!!) if you wanted to. The bed was extremely comfortable, with down quilts and pillows(a bit too mushy for my taste, but ok if you double up). There is NO WiFi, but our tour guide got us access via another nearby hotel's system. There is a tiny computer room if you need to get online, but the foreign keyboard setup had me hunting and pecking! Breakfast is NOT your typical American style, but hadn't we left that behind? The food buffet was more than adequate, with german lunch meats and cheeses, fruits and veggies, various grain and yogurt concoctions, and an omelet station. The staff spoke limited english, but we muddled through okay! Would stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the lake
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAVRPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I took my mother and my 3 kids to Eggensberger for a Xmas vacation to get away from the noise and hectic of quite a busy life. I should admit the stay exceeded my expectations on a number of dimensions:
1. Facilities. Hotel is beautifully located in the middle of Hopfen am See with the Hopfen lake laying in-between beautiful mountains in Allgau region in Germany. Hotel has tasteful decor in Bavarian style - lots of wood, neutral colors and many cute little details around the hotel and in the rooms. Rooms are quite simple, but have all what is needed to enjoy quiet time - high quality matrasses, nice down blankets and pillows, electricity can, in fact, be swtiched off for the night to enjoy healthy sleep. Bathroom has shower and all toiletries are organic. We had plenty of towels for our party of 5, which was nice. We also had a plate of organic apples awaiting us upon arrival and organic still water. Hotel has a cute little gift shop with lots of organic products from candles to soap to aroma pillows to liquer to books to organic clothing. Pleasure to browse.
2. Wellness center. Small, yet had many desirable features - from the welcome parlor with organic tea and organic water. Waiting area is adjustent to the relaxation room, which is decorated by untreated wood (forgot the name of the wood), which yield amazing air to breathe while waiting for treatments or resting after treatments. Sauna, UV-sauna, wet sauna are all located in the wellness center, so easily one can spend the whole day taking treatments, snoozing in the wooden room on a sheep-rugs and going in and out of sauna. They had great selection of Dr. Hauschka cosmetics at amazingly demoncratic prices (compared to Sephora's of the world) and of the local organic cosmetics producer Primavera.
3. Treatments. My mother and I were taking a Kneipp Kur with massages, Teilguss (special waterprocedure), heiwrap, organic herbs bath and nordic walking. Kids enjoyed massages and facials with Dr. Hauschka or Primavera were also a treat.
4. Food. 8 days of fully organic food sounded challenging, so I was really concerned how the spa will manage this and whether my kids will be turning their noses and asking for burgers and fries. It actually worked quite well and I felt reducing salt intake was very good for me. For breakfast you get a selection of 6 various yougurts / quarks from plain to mixes with choco-flakes; 6 varieties of granola / cereal; sliced meats and cheeses (all organic from the local argicultural businesses) and lots of vegetables - all organic again. For lunch there was usually a salad bar with selection of some light dishes, but frankly I found that wholesome food makes one feel full for a long time. Dinners were alternating buffets and a la carte dishes all beautifully prepared, light, yte wholesome. Even lemonades were organic, great variety of organic juices and organic water.
5. Activities. Do not expect crazy schedule while at the spa hotel, but the owners did an excellent job of offering relaxing activities and taking care of the guests with a warm welcome upon arrival, good band playing on one of the evenings, concert of the local orchestra, thematic walks around Fuessen and Hopfen am See. If I think, there was a lot to do, but one could pace oneself and enjoy the beautiful weather and breathtaking sorrounding. We also visited local organic cheese factory, Kempten, Fuessen and other smaller villages offering many simple pleasures.
6. Personnel. Very friendly and accomodating. Our waitress Dana was the best - fun, friendly and caring. Reception was very responsive and prompt.

Room tip: Hotel is build in a way every room has nice view, but lake views are the best
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location and the fact that it is 5km from Füssen is made easier by the free taxi transfer and bus service included in the tourist card you get. The rooms are ok, but don't ooze attention to detail, though there are some nice nooks and crannies in the hotel. The guest program can be interesting, often an excursion to somewhere nice is included and it's worth going along! The owner plays the accordion and seems an affable type.
The hotel specializes in physio and back complaints as well as offering diet and spa weeks. The in house doctor speaks decent English, as do a number of other staff (though definitely not all!).
Unfortunately the standard of food at the hotel seems to have gone downhill (2nd visit to this hotel). The salad bar served up remains that were not particularly palatable after a couple of days. The service at the restaurant is tired and and in a few cases seriously amateurish (though there were some honourable exceptions to this). Another problem at the restaurant is that no effort is made to explain how things work - for instance you have to choose your meals for the rest of the day at breakfast, and woe betide you if you don't! -The rather unpleasant and ubiquitous manageress may attempt to refuse you entry (and this is a 4 star hotel?!).
Fortunately other parts of the hotel functioned better and there are some very nice members of staff indeed who care about what they do. Mistakes were made in our individual programmes, but at least they are fairly cheerfully sorted out. The language skills of the receptionists seem to have improved and we were happy with the service provided by them. There is no doubt that the hotel could provide a wonderful experience to guests if they put their mind to it, but they need to work on a couple of areas.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews