We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
27
23
8
6
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
23
8
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next morning front door tower castle signage codes property schloss accommodations driveway beauty hill stairs
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Ultimately you are coming here to stay in a castle. The accommodations are nice. There is an onsite restaurant (we didn't try as we were looking for something different). Breakfast is available at 12E pp which is normal for the area, but expensive IMO. The atmosphere of the castle is nice especially if you are driving the castle route or romantic road. Wifi worked fine for us, but was a little slow. Outside temps were unseasonably high during our visit. There is no A/C in the hotel so we timed our arrival later after it cooled off and it was a little warm overnight in the room (~76-78F), but tolerable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dougmatt_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We needed a place to stay near Coburg and arranged for a night at the Schloss. It wasn't the easiest place to find (no signage to point the way) in a January snowfall that night. But when we finally made our way up to the castle, it was brilliant. Lovely room and a wonderful breakfast (not included in the room rate.) It was completely charming. There was no "business center" for some printing I needed done, but the staff helped me to get what I needed using the hotel's printer. We will return.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Robin5672017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Stayed here while in the area to experience a "night in a castle" which was the only reason for choosing Hohenstein. It is a cool castle and the rooms are comfortable. Be aware that there is no A/C if staying during a warm season. Outside the grounds are interesting to explore, but it is apparent that the once-manicured gardens and lawn in the front has been left to grow wild and is now overgrown. Wifi codes were provided upon request, but the wifi simply did not work at all, with none of our devices able to connect. There is a lot of character in the building, and the suite we had was modern. However, we did kill a few spiders and other bugs found crawling around the room. And the sitting area had a lot of ants all across the floor. The biggest issue, for which there was no refund or other compensation offered, was the lack of hot water. Both in the evening and the following morning it was cold water only coming from the plumbing system. This makes for a very uncomfortable shower, and at any decent hotel would simply not happen. If it did, there would be a full refund of the costs for the nights affected. There was no refund offered when the problem was mentioned. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was an American-style BBQ, which was tasty. Breakfast was also good, and plentiful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss_Ahorn, Inhaber at Schloss Hohenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Sir,

thank you for your time, to give us feedback.

We glad that you find our BBQ tasty and you also happy with our breakfast in the morning.
Unfortunately, we do not know why, the WIFI does not work with your devices.

The problem with the hot water, was only for 1 1/2 hour in the morning. And we sorry for that. But you didn´t ask for a discont. Anyway ther will be only a refund about 5 % not for the whole night. When you check out, the hot water was available. And you say to my employs, that every thing was fine and the hot water was not a problem.
We are sorry when that was missunderstud.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful castle in Ahon (Coburg). Was really impressed by the idea, that my husband booked a room in a castle - great idea! The castle is just a few km from Coburg, the landscape is beautiful, peaceful and quiet.
We had baronesee suite (large kingsize bed, bathroom with big bath tub and an extra room like a living room with tv). You can park your car for free in the area near, maybe its better if you leave your laguagge at the front door and the park your car. Staff is friendly, fluent in English. We had breakfast (10€\person) - I guess worth the money.
The room was perfectly warm (its officially spring, but we had bad luck with weather and it was really windy and cold), clean and spacy! Its a good place to rest, for individuals who want to experience something new - I have never slept in a castle before =)
Great atmosphere, great place! Loved the sculpture art.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tamaratea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schloss_Ahorn, Inhaber at Schloss Hohenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear tamaratea,

thank you for your rating. The whole team say THANK YOU. We are happy that you love our breakfast and that you enjoy our historical atmosphere.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Feste Coburg. This was the southern most fortress under Elector Frederick of Saxony's control. Luther stayed here during the Augsburg Diet June- Sept. 1530. This was as close as he could come to Augsburg and still be protected from the Emperor and the Pope. The castle has been reworked and refurbished over the years. The last residents left in 1998 and the government took over.

This castle has truly impressive walls, a nice gardens and buildings in the keep.. The wood work both inside the rooms and the fachwerk, half timbered, buildings is excellent.

Room Tip: This isn't a hotel, so I didn't answer the hotel questions, in case the publish the blank answers.
Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ogre1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews