We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, cozy restaurant”
Review of VAUN

VAUN
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opening times: Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.M. To 11 p.M.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

This restaurant is a little gem. Not very large (maybe 30 chairs) but serves some very well presented and creative dishes. The staff is very efficient and friendly. Menu selections are few but very good and prices very well. Wine and beer prices are also very reasonable. Good value and a good experience

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

In every dimension, this was the best meal we have had so far in Germany. It was also a great place for my vegetarian wife.
If it is available, get the pumpkin soup. It has a succulent flavor and velvety texture. The sweet potato and spinach leaf salad was also an excellent blending of flavors. I had the beef brisket which was very tender and flavorful, bathed in a wonderful brown gravy. It was accompanied by perfect mashed potatoes along with some colorful peppers.
The staff, in particular the young lady who attended to us, were well organized and very knowledgeable about the menu.
It’s a great place to go.
Thank you for an amazing meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jayfurlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Vaun almost by accident, and luckily so. The outdoor terrace was full, but having spent some time inside waiting, we were escorted outside to a table. Super friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent. We both had fish and risotto, and really enjoyed it. This restaurant is an excellent choice if you’ve grown tired of Schnitzel and want to experience innovative and tastycuisine in Garmisch.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

VAUN is a great little restaurant outside the Garmisch-Partenkirchen centrum. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious and thoughtful. The menu is slim, but what is on there is made well and with fresh ingredients. If you’re in the market for something other than standard German food, this is a must-visit!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bashupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Great menu; alternative to the traditional Bavarian meals around town. Some hit and miss but mostly great service and at least daring menu. I've had one of the best starter salads in my life and the salmon tataki was superbly cooked. If you want something different, this is a must try; if you are a fan of top chef you'll know what I mean.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SylNaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VAUN also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to VAUN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing