We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Well done violin museum

The craftsmanship of the violin and explanation of the development of the violin industry in... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2018
Jenny H
,
Regensburg, Germany
Violin maker of the world

The place tells us about the great violin maker that could be trace back to hundreds of year. There... read more

Reviewed 27 May 2018
wis00tj
via mobile
Read all 110 reviews
  
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
65
38
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
38
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews violin making small museum excellent museum string instruments entrance fee violin museum classical music tools video history information art german wood examples text development
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

One of the most interesting places in Mittenwald.The art of violin makers[Luthiers] has a solid,ancient tradition in this city.This noble art,are equivalent with the Italian violin creators, with the well known maestros such as Stradivarius,Guarnieri,Amati .
Visiting museum, you can remark the art of making violins, from the beginning till the final phases of construction of such a delicates instruments .

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank niki i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

What a great find! The history of violin making in the region is outlined in an interactive fashion. The gentleman at the front desk was very kind and helpful as well. I am glad we included this stop on our trip!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank sharon_travels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this museum. There were several interactive stations in German and English. Learn the types of wood used to time of year trees are cut. Many examples of old violins. Went on a rainf day and spent about an hour. Very nice

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank BarbN504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

After hiking through the gorge, we were ready to get out of the sun so we visited this little museum. My daughter plays the violin so we found it very interesting to learn about the history of the violin makers and the process of making them.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JD11125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This was so interesting, so informative, and easy to see in an hour or two. History of the violin making in this area, and lots of old, and historical tools, photos, lots of explanation, and so informative. Just a short walk around the back of the church in Mittenwald.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank MarieKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews