We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
heidel-home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
heidel-home
front 2nd floor sleeping room 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
heidel-home
front
2nd floor sleeping room 1
2nd floor sleeping room 2
2nd floor living room
2nd floor kitchen
2nd floor bathroom
view
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ardief
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were so happy with our attic apartment in Heidelberg! It was spacious, comfortable, well furnished (with cool features like exposed wood beams) and well lit. As others have noted, the floor boards can be noisy which is a worry if you are walking around in the middle of the night. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice to be able to make our own meals sometimes. The bed is comfortable and the room gets pretty dark which is good for sleeping well. The bathroom has a great deep bath (though it takes a while to fill) - the shower would be good, too, but the lack of shower curtain made us a bit worried about making a mess!

The location is great if you are comfortable with walking a bit (about 15-20 minutes to the town center) or taking the very frequent and well-organised public transport. There are various bakeries and supermarkets close by if you want to eat at home, too.

I would definitely book another stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and set up of the apartment
Liked least: Not very soundproof
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozzyandre...
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a good location”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Stayed on Family holiday with 2 teenage children and had a great time, good apartment and facilities in a good location. Shops and a bakery close by and the train to the town centre was very quick and handy for going out. Floorboards (not parquetry) are a little on the squeaky side in the foyer.

Thanks Marco

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good location being near train line, tram & buses
Liked least: Squeaky floorboards
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Apartment for Families”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family stayed in the Heidel-Home end of June 2012. I was very pleased with the accommodations and fully recommend the property. It was the best apartment we stayed in during our 3 week trip to Europe.

Advantages
- Clean
- Large - great for a family of 5.
- Nice living room / common area separate from bedrooms
- Quiet neighboorhood, which is important when you have the windows open at night
- Nice appointments (furniture, built-ins)
- Friendly owner
- Separate bath and toilet helpful for families when getting ready in the morning
- For us, the location was ideal because we were using this as a base for day trips to other towns. The apartment is located one stop from the main station to get out and away quickly. Or, go the other direction on the train and you end up at the other end of old town Heidelberg, and can be in the heart of town in just a few minutes.

Downsides (admittedly, not very important relative to the advantages)
- Due to German internet laws, the wifi service is pay-as-you-go and does not handle multiple device log-ins. The costs were not restrictive.
- The glass recycling collector comes early in the morning one day per week. Scared the heck out us when he overturned the dumpster filled with glass
- Washer available, but pay-for-usage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location - convenient, quiet
Liked least: Wifi log-in procedures
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappySnap...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable apartment in great location”
Reviewed 6 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Apartment was very comfortable, spacious, well appointed and within 10 min walk of the center of the Old Town. Excellent information provided in the apartment regarding bakeries/markets/restaurants etc. We thoroughly enjoyed Heidelberg, especially the Old Town and the Christmas market.
One word of caution - if you are a light sleeper then you may be woken if someone in your apartment is up through the night because the floor boards are squeaky. We only rated the bedding as good because we are not used to fleece quilt covers and pillow slips - would prefer linen. These did not detract from our enjoyment of the apartment but I just don't want you to be surprised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Squeaky floor
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2012
Thanks a lot for the great feedback!
Just one comment on the bed linen: during winter season we give our guests fleece bedlinen as it is warmer and cuddly. From April to October we provide lighter linen.
The wooden floor is a parquet floor which can squeak when walking, that's more or less in the nature of the material ;-)

Greetings from Heidelberg
Marco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAfamily...
Brea, California
1 review
“Great Family Vacation Home”
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We had a wonderful family trip! We really enjoyed the ability to do a little cooking for ourselves, and the space to play games etc. Much better than a hotel. We did several day trips using the train, and the home is located close to a train stop which is very convenient. We did a lot of walking to explore Heidelberg and enjoyed wandering the area. The home is only a 15 minute walk to the main area of town. Plenty of closer bakeries and grocery options too. The owners were very helpful with all of our questions before our trip, and left very detailed maps and instructions upon our arrival. Would definately recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about our trip!
Liked least: Nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing