We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute apartment with excellent location and view...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lyon, Rhone, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
FarVistas
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Watch Out For The Bathroom”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We had reserved here for 3 nights, but we left as soon as we saw the apartment. (We trundled our suitcases to the Hotel des Artistes, which turned out to be quite excellent.) Isabelle was away when we arrived, so we were met by her children, who did a fine job of showing us around. As soon as we saw the bathroom - not really the bathroom, but the toilet room - we knew we could not stay. The room where the bath was located was quite nice, but the room where the toilet was located was an unfinished closet, exposed pipes on the walls, a water heater or something like that hanging directly over the toilet. I will try to attach a photo - it is not a great photo because it was taken in haste, but it conveys the idea. Within a day, I applied to TripAdvisor for a refund, but TripAdvisor messed up this request badly. I was asked the same set of questions multiple times by several different TripAdvisor agencies, and since I am very busy running my own business, I did not have the time and had to give up. Nevertheless, the apartment is misrepresented in TripAdvisor because it does not indicate that the toilet is in an unfinished closet. This is not meant to blame TripAdvisor, which provides the best guidance for travel that the world has ever seen. This one apartment, however, should have been accurately described by the owner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Je n'ai pas eu malheureusement la possibilité de vous loger Messieurs-dames, puisque vous êtes partis avant d'avoir pu poser vos valises… la canicule ambiante (35 degrés à l'ombre cette semaine-là) ne devait certes pas être propice à un peu de contrôle de soi ! Je rappelle aux futurs visiteurs que l'appartement est doté d'une grande salle de bain avec deux éviers et une douche à l'italienne (le titre de cet avis portant à confusion). Les WC sont séparés et, comme nous sommes dans un immeuble du XVIème siècle, composés de gros murs de soutien il n'y a aucune possibilité technique d'aggrandir cet espace. Espace qui est pour tous les habitants de l'immeuble contraints aux mêmes exigences tout à fait "vivables".
J'espère que les visiteurs passent globalement plus de temps dans les 70 mètres carrés que composent l'appartement que dans les WC. Aussi, je préfère concentrer tous mes efforts sur le confort de l'ensemble de l'appartement. C'est pour cette raison d'ailleurs que la chambre est devenue appartement et que vous bénéficiez aujourd'hui d'un salon supplémentaire (avec TV, espace café, table bistrot et canapé convertible pour loger éventuellement un troisième visiteur) et d'une cuisine équipée. Les immeubles du Vieux-Lyon sont magnifiques mais certaines contraintes techniques ne permettent pas en effet de créer des WC plus grands qu'ils ne le sont… Venir chez l'habitant exige effectivement de partager ses propres contraintes !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zmijan
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute apartment with excellent location and view over the river!”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I am a girl travelling alone and staying here for one month. After 2 weeks, I couldn't be happier. Fantastic location in Old Lyon, close to many churches and cathedrals. One of the biggest bar-and restaurant areas start here too. Close to rest of the city. Secure area and the Metro is a minute walk away (but to most places you can walk).
The apartment consists of a bedroom (with a big comfy bed), a kitchen with all that includes, a livingroom, a bathroom and a big balcony overlooking La Saone! Very clean and cosy!
Isabelle who rents the apartment lives next door. A BIG thanks for her for being so guest-friendly and sweet! She has given me many good advices on excursions and activities and even a couple of books about the city! I'm lucky to have found this apartment and definitly recommend it to others!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Thank you very much Mia, for us it is also a pleasure to have a passing traveler as pleasant, smiling and happy to be with us! Excellent end of stay and perhaps soon, in Lyon or ... in Sweden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candide57
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Lyon”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment is located just over the river from the centre of Lyon. One of the many bridges is immediately outside and the centre (and surrounds) are within easy walking distance. A metro station is also very close by giving you even more options for access. The apartment itself is in a fantastic old stone building but boasts the relief of a modern lift.
Each morning fresh croissants and pains aux chocolate appeared (provided by Isabelle from the excellent boullangerie just over the road).
The apartment comprises a bedroom with tea/coffee making, access to a great balcony and a kitchen area. Isabelle and her family occupy the rooms around you but are very discrete and leave you to your own devices.
If you are really smoke sensitive then this might not be for you. However, otherwise your living areas are free of smoke and can be opened up to the outside.
Vieux Lyon is a nice location with a lot going on within it and worth exploring in its own right. Eating is a bit more problematic with a big bunch of tourist trap pseudo-bouchons north of the cathederal. Best to strike out over the river and I can recommend El Sud and L'Archange.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RalphMorg...
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room with a view and great access to Vieux Lyon.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We arrived in Lyon on a rainy night during rush hour and had difficulty navigating the traffic to the flat; Isabella waited for us in the rain, helped us up to her flat, and took us to the parking space in the garage. Nice room with great view of the Soane river and St Georges church in a classic style building in old Lyon. The room had a comfortable bed, a TV, and convenient bistro stye table and chairs for coffee and snacks in the room; it also had a nice one serving coffee maker was in the room with different type coffee, tea and hot chocolat packets. We had full access to a small kitchen with a refrigerator stocked with milk, orange juice, butter, and even eggs for breakfast. Isabella set out a fresh baguette each day in the kitchen area. Isabella publishes tour guides and was very kind to give us three different nicely illustrated tour guides of Lyon which were very interesting in their own right and also served as a very nice souvenir of our visit. She helped us find restaurants and made our two day stay in Lyon very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and Location
Liked least: Toilette was a bit tacky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$89
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing