We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first Michelin star experience....”
Review of L'Esquisse

L'Esquisse
Ranked #14 of 546 Restaurants in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$68
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We had lunch in this tiny (7 tables only) restaurant because they were fully booked for dinner while we were in Annecy. We're not usually ones for eating huge meals at lunchtime but we really wanted to try a Michelin star place. Make sure you book!

We had the '2 course' L'Inspiration menu for 42 euro each. The chef cooks what he wants to cook that day but you can tell him if there is anything you don't eat. Our meal included amuse bouche, entree, main (you choose fish or meat), cheese course, dessert and petite fours with coffee....so not really 2 courses! You can also get an option to have an extra course for a bit more. Wine etc is extra but they had good choice (including by the glass) and will make recommendations for you. There is also a small a la carte selection.

The food was modern, tasty and beautifully presented. We enjoyed every course we had but the dessert was undoubtedly the best. Excellent quality at a pretty reasonable price. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. One speaks good English which was a bonus as sadly our French is not great and the menu is in French.

It's very close to the centre of town but not in the pedestrian part.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Billym33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

My wife and I decided that while we were in Annecy we would go to a Michelin starred restaurant and were lucky enough to decide on L'Esquisse. We managed to make a reservation for lunch on our last day. We looked at their menu on their website and immediately decided on the L'Inspiration menu. It was amazing start to finish. They asked us beforehand if we had any dietary restrictions or any foods we did not like so the chef could accommodate. From the amuse to the dessert, each course was exquisite in both presentation and flavour. The staff were all excellent as well.
If you want an amazing culinary experience, L'Esquisse and the L'Inspiration menu are a must try.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SWARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Outstanding lunch at a very competitive price - slick service to boot .
Highly recommended . Do book because the restaurant is small .

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Meander41414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We shared a wonderful evening of fine food recently for a 60th birthday. The restaurant is small and personal. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank HeatherHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

L'Esquisse is the first Michelin star restaurant I have visited. The restaurant is small so I would reccommend to order a table some weeks in advance. Both my girlfriend and myself ordered the surprise menu including fish and meat. The salad we got looked like a piece of art. I was a bit surprised that we were served pig as meat, but it tasted well. My favourite dish was the dessert. A small lemon cupcake with crispy sides. Very friendly staff. I would not reccommend having fondue four hours before going to this restaurant...

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Morten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Esquisse also viewed

 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'Esquisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing