We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
613
443
116
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
443
116
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free movies apple tv cours julien other cities residential area rooms are small old port comfortable bed mini bar buffet breakfast hotel is located imac tanks playful microwave metro bedding
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Fab stay at Mama Shelter, really really good. Can't recommend enough.

Let me start by saying the online booking/contact was great. Our flight got cancelled due to air traffic control strikes, but we were able to transfer stay with ease and easy communication. Every email was answered promptly and therefore made us feel reassured.

Staff on reception are exceptional, in particular Patricia, so very helpful, nothing too much hassle. Hotel is located in a residential area, but 5min walk from Cours Julien, which is hip and trendy. Very much enjoyed the area and the restaurants, as well as the atmosphere.

Back to the hotel, clean room, comfy beds, a/c, good sized twin room. TV choice was amazing, even free movies in a variety of languages!
Mini bar in the room which we didn't use, nor could you use the fridge to put other things in. There is however an electric kettle and bizzarely a microwave!
Bathroom was slightly at an odd angle and therefore made it hard to open the door and try and stand out of the way to close it, however, fluffy towels, toiletries and 2 types of shower to use; over head or hand held, was even a heated towel radiator.

We had lunch upon our arrival and although restaurant area was lovely, breezy, quirky. Staff in restaurant all lovely, friendly and helpful. Although food was good, we found it rather over priced, in particular a cafe latte for €5, especially as 5mins up the road there are a variety of restaurants, half the price. However, atmosphere was nice and we did have evening drinks here once or twice.

All in all, fab stay and will certainly be looking out for Mama Shelter in other cities.

Room tip: 4th floor rooms were good
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Storm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Well located, short walk to cour Julien. Friendly young staff and very good breakfast, only had dinner from the the restaurant on one occasion during our 5 night stay but this was also good. The set backs were our room being above the bar/restaurant area which was very noisy on Friday and Saturday night. This meant we had to close the window and use the air con instead which is also very noisy.
Also our mini bar was not working and was never fixed despite us flagging it to the staff multiple times.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyDearlove1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

A modern and versatile place in the heart of Marseille. Parking was an issue and we waited more than half an hour to park in the garage after a laundry truck has done it’s business. It’s so Marseille, no big deal. The vibe is young and fun. We stayed for two nights. No car was needed to tour around the harbor and city. The food was good and the room was clean with windows to peek on the neighborhood. Definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Giggiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our home away from home. Friendly staff helps make this a welcome place in a rather busy city. Good restaurant on-site further makes the stay convenient and easy.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 840erikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I stayed at Mama Shelter Marseille for ten days, including Christmas. I also stayed there last year, and as I enjoyed it so much, returned. The staff is bilingual, friendly and helpful. I booked a Large Mama room, and it had a wonderful soaking tub and extra area for a pull out sofa bed for my daughter. We also had her kitty there, which was special for both of us. The breakfasts are not to be missed, and dinners nice and convenient. The staff also recommended excellent restaurants outside of the hotel. My daughter lives in Marseille, so when I visit again, I'll stay at Mama Shelter.

Room tip: I've only stayed on the sixth floor in a large room facing away from the street. Both visits were quiet and roomy.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank upjohn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews