We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
86
207
123
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
207
123
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt metro station nice hotel accor hotels walking distance clean bathroom convenient location stayed one night rooms are small public transport minute walk vieux port stade reception shutters cafes fridge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Marielle from reception was really nice and put a lot of effort to understand an issue with a charge I had in my card, which later we discovered was associated to online check in guarantee deposit of 20 euros.

The rest of experience was way below expectations, this Ibis Styles is below the standards and I felt worse than in many Ibis Budget I’ve been before, the old furnitures and poor maintained rooms, not good shower and very poor internet connection.

I was negatively surprised with the breakfast, only bread and ham available, few yogurt and coffee. There was an orange juice machine without orange, no cheese (cmon how come a breakfast in France has no cheese?) and nobody from hotel taking care to fulfill missing items of the breakfast.

I got only one night in this Ibis and breakfast was included in price, if I had paid extra for breakfast my disappointment would’ve been even higher.

In summary thanks to Marielle for being helpful and nice but this hotel needs a lot of improvement.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ivolucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christelle b, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

sir,

We thank you for having taken time to write us following your stay with ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane.

We are sorry that the service(department) and the service(performance) were not up to your expectations(waits).
Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights and we felt we had good value for money.
Well located for the metro and trams with easy access to the port by foot or transport.
Simple continental breakfast which was more than adequate.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Clean but tired hotel in good location

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank catherineh477881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christelle b, Responsable réception at Ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017
Google Translation

Vous avez pris le temps de répondre à notre enquête pour nous transmettre vos félicitations, et je vous en remercie.

J’ai fait part à mon équipe de vos encouragements, pour qu’elle soit consciente que leurs efforts quotidiens contribuent à répondre à vos attentes et à votre satisfaction.

Des témoignages chaleureux comme les vôtres sont nos meilleures récompenses : un grand merci à vous
A très bientôt chez ibis Styles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The positives: this hotel is well located and the staff is nice and polite.
However....
The hotel is nothing like in the photos and needs some major works. I know it's an IBIS styles and not a 5* hotel but for the price (almost 100Eur) I was expecting at least a clean hotel. The carpets were very stained and there was a moldy smell in the corridors.
The first room I have been given was supposedly better than most. However, the window was facing a backstreet - street level!- and all dirty with bird excrements. The second room was on a top floor, facing again a back street (photos included). Window was dirty and the view depressing. The bed was single and extra narrow. The bathroom looked old and the bathtub and tiles were stained. Not a reasonable standard for this hotel and price (not that cheap!). To end on a positive note: the breakfast was ok and the fresh orange juice saved the day. But not enough to compensate for the rest... I will not be booking again at this hotel. For an extra 20-30EUR you have much better options in Marseille.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Irrequieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christelle b, Responsable réception at Ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Madame,Monsieur ,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire à la suite de votre séjour à ibis Styles Marseille Castellane.

Nous sommes désolés que le service et la prestation n’aient pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes.
Nous vous prions de croire, Madame,Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights while I took day trips around the region, so I have enough experience to provide a fair and balanced review. The front desk staff are friendly and the afternoon/evening shift staff speak excellent English.

The main benefit of the hotel is it's location. Some unworldly reviewers claim it is a rough neighbourhood. On the contrary; Castellane is a middle-class neighbourhood not dissimilar to Parisian left-bank neighbourhoods like Montparnasse. In other words, a mix of 19th century sandstone apartments and modern concrete blocks. It neighbours the upscale Prado district of the city.

The hotel is located in a side street off the main boulevard, which has a large street market everyday (good for cheap local artisan soaps and fruit). A particular benefit of the location is its proximity to city transport hubs. The Castellane metro station is just 5 minutes walk, as it the tram stop. St Charles Train station is just 10 minutes on the metro and the Marseilles harbour front is the same by the tram. For 5 Euros you can buy day tickets that are valid on all forms of public transport. The bus stop for Cassis is less than five minutes walk from the hotel (ask at the front desk for directions; 2 Euros single fare).

I had a nice double room with a large double window overlooking the street, which you can open to let in the sunlight. The facilities were fine for a budget hotel, though I would have liked a fridge to keep cool drinks. Included in the room rate is a continental buffet breakfast. As a vegetarian, I particularly liked this with its freshly squeezed orange juice, a range of fruits, yogurts and French pastries, as well as espresso or cappuccino from a machine. The hotel provides free coffee and tea 24 hours a day, but no milk and without a room fridge you cannot store your own supply.

The main boulevard has a fantastic range of restaurants, cafes, and wonderful bakers and patisseries. There are four supermarkets within five minutes walk of the hotel.

I would recommend the hotel without reservations and would happily stop there again. Though I did have a few minor gripes. The WiFi is somewhat clunky. You access it via an Accor Hotels cloud and it makes you sign-in every time you switch on your device. Moreover, while the room was generally clean and satisfactory. I did notice that the toilet bowl hadn't seen bleach or disinfectant for a while (Maybe this an Anglo-Saxon preoccupation!).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CelestiaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christelle b, Responsable réception at Ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Vous avez pris le temps de répondre à notre enquête pour nous transmettre vos félicitations, et je vous en remercie.

J’ai fait part à mon équipe de vos encouragements, pour qu’elle soit consciente que leurs efforts quotidiens contribuent à répondre à vos attentes et à votre satisfaction.

Des témoignages chaleureux comme les vôtres sont nos meilleures récompenses : un grand merci à vous
A très bientôt chez ibis Styles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

This was my first time staying at an Ibis Styles or Ibis property and the functionality and stylings of the hotel is what I imagined and expected. The staff on reception were also very courteous and welcoming. I did have two things that I did not like during my stay and I don't like to complain but I do believe in saying it how it was. I found it odd that the reception desk would bully you into leaving your key access with them every time you left the hotel and ask for it off them when you return. I suppose I did noticed Marseille to be unsafe so it was a security measure however I think it should be at the guests discretion and not directed by the hotel. I also had my room entered on two occasions while the do not disturb sign was on, I did not want my room serviced but it was even though the door sign was on. I think this is a major breach of trust in a hotel (maybe this is the difference between a 3 and 5 star hotel and I'm not used to it?). The breakfast was marvellous; freshly squeezed OJ machine, fresh croissants, yogurt and black coffee. Exactly what I would normally have even if the buffet is big. Bed was comfortable and the area was a tad rough after dark although many eating options close by.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank boew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christelle b, Responsable réception at Ibis Styles Marseille Centre Prado Castellane, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017
Google Translation

 L’équipe vous remercie de votre témoignage chaleureux.

Vos encouragements permettent à l’équipe de prendre conscience que leurs efforts quotidiens contribuent à répondre à vos attentes.

Votre satisfaction est notre meilleure récompense : un grand merci à vous.

A bientôt chez Ibis Styles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews