We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
78
141
74
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
141
74
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel garden breakfast attendant short walk to old town village view free wifi minute walk quiet street train station beautiful french cold meats per hour rooms are basic small balcony yogurt buffet breakfast lovely garden nice room
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

OK - its not The Ritz - but for the money you pay for this little hotel the position could not be better, the rooms are lovely and clean, and bathrooms all work! Its worth paying for a sea view as the view really is stunning. Air conditioning works - always a bonus. Clean, tidy, incredibly helpful staff, and very French! What more could you want. 5 minutes walk from the harbour, 10 mins walk to the beach, or 5 minutes walk to the bus stop to take you everywhere along the coast. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Get a sea room on the top ish floors - light airy rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Responsable réception at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Dear Hoare,
Thank you very much for your review, It is very important for us to have your feedback !
We were very happy to welcome you in our hotel and hope to have the pleasure to see you maybe this month of october !
Kind Regards
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Great hotel, good location - 3 min walk to waterfront - bit of a hill on the way back but this is expected in this area. Hotel staff are so lovely and friendly - went out of their way to help us and answer any questions. Rooms are basic but extremely clean - I would recommend spending a little extra and upgrading to a room with sea view as they are a bit bigger and flooded with natural light. There is free Wifi in the hotel lobby, but lucky for us we were on the 2nd floor above the lobby room and we could get the free wifi in our room :) Hotel is very quiet and peaceful, I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Defo pay extra for room with sea view
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayleybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Responsable commercial at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Yes this year we decided to offer Free Wifi Connection in the lobby and the bar to our guest. And you are very lucky if you had it also in your bedroom !
We hope to welcome you and your family soon in Villefranche,
Kind Regards
Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Not wanting to drive from Cap Ferrat to Antibes at night, we decided to make a last minute booking in one of the hotels in Villefranche and every single one we tried was fully booked , so we settled on Provencal.

The lady who took care of the booking was very friendly , the room although tiny, was very clean , though need to work on noise isolation.

We slept as soon as we arrived and in the morning , it was pouring rain , non stop. We went for breakfast before check out , for 12 extra euros , breakfast was fair , with freshly baked delicious croissants.

The background music of the restaurant was from a local radio stations, so there was a non stop 15 minutes of ads , so my husband went to speak to the staff to change it , as it is not nice to have ads while having breakfast and should opt for a cd instead. The answer was "that's the weirdest comment anyone did ever, fine , we will turn it completely off" . So not the type of answer you would expect .

Plus staff need to be more smiling and accommodating,rather than seeing sad faces around.
A bottle of water would be a nice touch in the room.

Otherwise, it was a quick stay and for the price we paid (120 euros) it was fair enough.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Travig00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Directeur général at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Dear Travig,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
All our staff in general is very friendly and maybe there was a little misunderstanding about the music.
We are very happy that you had a nice overnight in our hotel and hope to have the chance to welcome you soon for maybe a longer stay ! You will be able to choose your radio station, I promess.
Kind Regards
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Could not fault this hotel. Great location in a beautiful town. Staff were very helpful and friendly ( unlike some of the staff in the local restaurants!). Rooms were clean, I would definitely recommend paying the extra couple of euro to get a room with a sea view, as the other rooms were not as bright and spacious.
Hope to return here one day :)

Room Tip: sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzaSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Directeur général at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Dear Cazza,
Thank you very much for such a nice review. We were very happy to welcome you in Villefranche.
And we hope you will be back from Dublin too, maybe next summer ?
Kind Regards
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Rooms were clean but not high standard. Staff was really friendly. Breakfast was good but not something extraordinary. Worst thing is lack of parking space in the hotel and rules in the city. We had luck that we have been there during public holiday so we could leave our car for one day not thinking about changing parking place otherwise rule is you can park car for only 3 hours and then you have to find new parking. Second - we had windows in direction to main street so it was really noisy ( windows not suppress from noise).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drozdov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Responsable réception at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank your for your review in Tripadvisor, the feedback from our guests is very important to us.
Concerning the noise problem you have had, I am really surprised because our hotel bedrooms are not on the main streets, so other guests, find the place really quiet.
For the car parking, you can buy a weekly tickets that allows you to parc all week, it is a shame you didn't ask us.
Reading your review,I am really happy that you found the hotel clean, you also enjoyed the breakfast and that the staff was really nice and friendly with you.
We are a 2 stars hotel on the french Riviera and we have a good price value from the point of view of many guests.
We would be very happy to welcome you in Villefranche next year.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews