We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A totally delightful spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Large Penthouse / Loft -  luxury apartment by the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Penthouse / Loft -  luxury apartment by the beach
Vast terrace overlooking the entire bay of Villefranche Vast, light open plan dining / kitchen / living area. All fully air-conditioned.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Large Penthouse / Loft -  luxury apartment by the beach
Vast terrace overlooking the entire bay of Villefranche
Vast, light open plan dining / kitchen / living area. All fully air-conditioned.
Lounge with sliding glass doors opening onto the terrace
An art-filled tranquil space
Sliding glass doors also lead from the dining area onto the terrace
Italian Kitchen - cooking with a view of the Med
Main en-suite bedroom with king sized bed and sliding doors to terrace
Fall asleep to the sound of the sea
Luxury En suite bath and shower room - with sea view
En Suite bath/shower room - with sea view
The penthouse / loft can easily accommodate 4, but can sleep up to 6.
Second bedroom, with 2 double beds (Z bed and cot also available)
A screen divider can partition the 2 beds if required.
The Penthouse Loft occupies almost the entire top level of this former palace.
Luxury yachts ply to and fro
In the heart of the Old Town
A unique hideaway to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Set amidst one of the world's most stunning bays
Many of our guests regularly return.
In the heart of the old town, with the beach, restaurants and shops on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzie H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A totally delightful spot”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our second year staying in this wonderful apartment. Not only is it spacious and filled with light,an excellent kitchen, good bath and showers, electric shutters so you aren't woken by the early morning sunshine BUT it is uniquely positioned in charming Villefranche with views over to Cap Ferrat . A quiet sunny terrace that is large enough to sit ,sunbathe, dine on and little extras that we have not had in other apartments we have rented over the years - lovely French soap,candles for the terrace and the apartment, duck feather filled pillows are all much appreciated. We found the owner Kate very helpful and Molly ,the manager who met us there has so much local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. She recommends everything from where to buy your croissants in the morning,restaurants, ( we worked our way through her list,excellent and varied) places of interest,walks,shopping etc she is a gem. Villefranche is like somewhere out of a picture book,tiny passages,sweet smelling orange blossom, a bustling bay, it is charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous terrace and an English speaking manager who was extremely helpful and professional
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesR2
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with friends for a couple of special birthdays. Chose the loft as the photo's were impressive and the location looked perfect. On arrival it was great to see the photo's did the apartment justice and we weren't disappointed. The location had great views out over the bay and has easy access to the numerous restaurants in Villefranche and the train station where it is simple to travel to nearby towns, Monaco, Eze, Nice etc. Molly gave us some good recommendations of where to eat and we worked our way through them, we all really liked Le Mekong and Le Cosmos. Was great to be left alone but to also have the back up of Molly to call if we had any problems or questions. The whole thing from booking to having the deposit returned went very smoothly , Kate the owner responding very quickly to any e-mails etc. Would love to go back every month if we could!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail L
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Villefranche and this rental was the perfect place to stay. Although there are two bedrooms it was only my husband and me but the size was great - and definitely comfortable if we had 2 -3 additional people with us. Kate the owner was very accommodating in arranging the reservation and Molly the manager provided a warm welcome and full orientation. The kitchen has everything you need to cook in from french press coffee to a full meal. The kitchen is well appointed and appliances are top shelf. The balcony is the best with beautiful views of the sea, comfortable deck furniture and sun umbrellas. There is everything you need for a day at the beach - large beach towels and beach umbrellas. The master bathroom is large and the shower pressure is great. The air conditioning works well in the bedroom which we found we needed at night. The location of the apartment is perfect whether you are walking or getting on the trains or busses. We did not have a car during our stay and Molly and Kate arranged transportation for us from the train station and to the airport which was appreciated.
All in all we felt like our stay was a "home away from home". Everything you need is provided from guidebooks, helpful information about the area, thoughtful amenities and a perfect location.
Just a couple things to plan for: the hair dryer provided is low quality. If you are dependent on a good hair dryer bring your own.
The railing on the balcony is low in areas so if you are travelling with children be very aware.
The lift does not go all the way to the top floor- you will have to walk up one short flight of stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. With regards to the terrace, we have had many families with young children staying with us over the years, and there has never been a problem. For the large part the wall is high, except where there are stairs up to the sun deck. The terrace is completely safe unless you climb up onto the wall and children would have to be a substantial height to do this. We always advise parents not to leave their children unattended when outside. For the rest we have fabulous all day sunshine on the terrace, and we are so perfectly located for families with children as we are a stone's throw from the beach and all the shops and restaurants. In the meantime we have also upgraded the hairdryer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expansive waterfront penthouse apartment with magnificent panoramic terrasse”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A seasoned traveller to the french riviera - I have long been enchanted by the pretty fishing village of villefranche sur mer with its particular unspoilt charm and character, quietly nestled as it is between the popular resorts of nice and Monte Carlo - and having just spent two weeks chez Kate at #502 le palais de la marine, I am certain that at last I have discovered the best location in villefranche. The apartment itself is spacious, uncluttered and airy with wood strip flooring throughout and an excellent air conditioning system which catered for the cooler late spring evenings and the intense heat of the midday Mediterranean sun. The panoramic views from the 40ft terrasse taking in the vsm waterfront and beach and across the harbour to neighbouring beaulieu sur mer and cap ferrat are simply breathtaking. Molly and Kate took care of us from the moment we arrived to the morning we departed for the drive back towards the Caen ferry! Don't hesitate - we hope to return in the autumn!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesRo...
Solana Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The loft was everything we expected and more. We were lucky the weather was great for March and the views from the terrace are breathtaking. If you like to stay in VSM, this is your place. The loft was very comfortable for 4 adults especially if you wanted some private time as the bedrooms are on opposite sides of the loft. The owners and manager were awesome and made for a very smooth transaction relative to the rental. The manager gave us great advice on sites around the surrounding area and was a pleasure to meet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing