We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious suprises”

Le Clos Saint Basile
Reserve with
Le Clos Saint Basile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 94 Restaurants in Mougins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$67
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 March 2018

A lovely intimate restaurant with tasty amuse bouche served between courses - the mushroom soup was superb. We booked on a whim and had a very tasty meal. We had originally gone as there was an advertised pre-fix menu for Euro27.00 but this wasn't available. There was a pricer version but the quality was excellent and tasty. Bit steep on the wine prices but again great selection. Nice for a romantic meal or family celebration.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le-clos-st-basile, Gérant at Le Clos Saint Basile, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Michelle G,
Thank you that you took the time to write this comment on trip advisor.
We hope to see you soon in our restaurant again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Le Clos de San Basile

I had been to this restaurant about six years ago. Since then it closed for a couple of years and about 3 years ago reopened under new management with a new chef. I was hesitant to try it out, but I am certainly glad I did. It turned out to be a wonderful culinary experience!
First of all, the interior has been given a fresh, new look, using the warm, subtle colors you often find in the south of France. The effect is warm and tasteful, rending the restaurant cosy and inviting. The exterior has remained the same.
The restaurant offers three fixed menus as well as a la carte. I opted for the 3 course menu of 44€. I started with the Lyon sausages with red cabbage and brioche bread, followed by duck confit and mashed parsnip. Both dishes were exceptional and cooked to perfection. To finish off the meal, I had their Vanilla Madagascar, a base of millefoglie or multiple thin layers of pastry with Carmel, whipped creme and hazelnuts. It was superb! At the end of the meal, the chef/owner came out and acknowledged the patrons to assure everything was satisfactory. This is a nice touch and always appreciated. Compliments to the owners and all the best. They deserve it.

Thank Luvtotravel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le-clos-st-basile, Gérant at Le Clos Saint Basile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018
Google Translation

Dear Luvtotravel J,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We were lucky enough to visit this restaurant during the first week it opened and have been regular if infrequent visitors since. In fact its a year since we last visited and Im delighted to say that its even better than when we have previously visited. I've written previously but the experience was so good it needs another write-up.

Even the positioning seems much nicer than previously. The owners have cleaned up the approach and entrance area so that it looks fresher then previously. Its also quite clear that they have spruced up and renovated the external eating area into a pleasant garden. Congratulations.

Service remains impeccable and its always good to note that staff have stayed with the proprietors -- although the newer staff were superbly accommodating and multi-lingual as well.

You do however go to restaurants for the food ! The proprietor appears to have lifted the standard of preparation and cooking to new and better levels levels for what was already an excellent cuisine -- yes, he still does his signature dishes but the innovation and 'lightness' of all his course this time would shame many Michelin-starred restaurants and sets this restaurant with the very best (Paloma) in Mougins but at half the price or less.

Rarely can any of us say we enjoyed every course but in this case, I did. We had the Menu Gastronomie on a whim -- probably because of my perception of the ingredients but it was absolutely stunning to my taste.

I still find their opening hours/days inconsistent but the answer to that is simple. BOOK before you go.

Note to Self --Visit more frequently

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B0ater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le-clos-st-basile, Gérant at Le Clos Saint Basile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear B0ater1,

It's a real pleasure to read your very friendly comment.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon in our restaurant.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We found this restaurant on passing so it was late and we didn't have a reservation so we had to sit inside. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere/ambiance and the service was very good and professional. The food was good but limited and I was a little disappointed with my choices as it wasn't what I was expecting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HillsSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le-clos-st-basile, Gérant at Le Clos Saint Basile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear HillsSpain,

thank you for taking the time to write your comment on tripadvisor.
We hope to see you soon in our restaurant for an other experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We love this restaurant. Elien Lestrade (restaurant), her husband Matthieu Lestrade (chef de cuisine) and their staff make your dinner or lunch a great experience. We had delicious dinners, in a lovely secret garden court (a real "clos" indeed) and were surprised how quiet this garden was. No traffic sounds at all (don't forget the busy Avenue St Basile is just in front), just the cicadas sing their songs and this is a typical for Provence provence / Alpes Maritimes and not considered as noise (at least we don't). Take your time and go for the five course Menu Degustation (current €65) or choose three courses (current €42). Value for money, also wines are reasonably priced. Matthieu Lestrade's exquisite, original and inspiring cuisine will surprise your palate and enthuse you. For us this restaurant is a must when you are around Cannes and Mougins. Parking available.

Thank Gamine299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le-clos-st-basile, Gérant at Le Clos Saint Basile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Gamine299,

It is a pleasure to read your message on tripadvisor.
Thank you so much.
We hope to see you soon in our restaurant.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Clos Saint Basile also viewed

Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Clos Saint Basile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing